We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to Mendoza is not complete without going to this vineyard”
Review of Domaine St Diego

Domaine St Diego
Book In Advance
More Info
$260.00*
and up
Full-Day Wine Tasting in Mendoza
Ranked #5 of 34 Shopping in Mendoza
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
1 review
“A visit to Mendoza is not complete without going to this vineyard”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were in Mendoza for 6 days and this was undoubtedly one of the hire highlights of our trip. You could feel the passion for the wine making process coming from the moment you were welcomed at the gate by Laura. Everything was picture perfect. It was hard to even consider leaving without trying to buy the whole vineyard. Everything part of the tour feels like you are being welcomed into a family's business without ever feeling too intrusive. Next time I am in Mendoza (please say that is going to be soon!), I am adding this place to my itinerary...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrantChanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and personal vineyard”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

By far the best vineyard we visited in the Mendoza region, with an excellent personal tour by the owners daughter. Very informative and amusing tour in a charming setting, where I learned much about grapes, the harvest and how to produce excellent wine. Far better than the larger vineyards which are more industrial. Their wines can only be purchased on site and are excellent, so bring plenty $$$!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boudination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Must visit winery in Mendoza”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We really enjoyed the visit to this family owned winery! We came to Mendoza for the wine festival because we enjoy Malbec...during this tour not only did we get a great tour and tastings of fine Argentinian wines, but we also learned so much about the history of winemaking in Argentina. Laura was fantastic....such a unique winery run by a small family. The love the put into the winemaking is evident in the taste. We spent 2 days viaiting wineries on a tour and this by far was our favorite. (Walking tour through the vineyard...best to wear comfy shoes).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mvanessa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Wine Tour”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the second time we have visited Domaine St Diego and I was equally impressed the second time. Laura does an outstanding job of explaining how the winery works and of informing you on the types of grapes and how to tell them apart when there are no grapes to be seen. The tour is also informative on olive oil processing. The setting for the wine tasting couldn't be more beautiful. We sat under the shade of an olive tree and tasted three wines and olive oil. We knew this time to buy a lot more bottles to take home since this wine is not sold outside of the winery,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kayinmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, and our favorite vineyard in all of Mendoza!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Domaine St. Diego was such a wonderful experience and by far our favorite vineyard we visited when in Mendoza. My sister and her husband had visited this vineyard and highly recommended it to us. I could not get through for a reservation and my travel agents mother who lives in Argentina made it for us. Thought it was frustrating to not be able to get through to the vineyard myself I understood once we visited it's all part of the charm. We were greeted upon arrival by Laura, the daughter of the winemaker. This is a family run vineyard that first farmed grapes to only sell to other winemakers. Eventually they started to produce their own wine and decided to keep it small and intimate and not a conflict of interest with their clients. That being said all of the wines we tried were all truly special and probably some of the best wines we had in Argentina. What makes them special is the family effort and how each person in the family plays a different role in making their wonderful wines. The tasting was so intimate and arranged under a tree for shade and we were served olives and almonds from their trees. We were also the only 2 pp at the tasting making it even more special. The only way to drink their wine off their property is if it was purchased at their vineyard, they have zero distribution. Also all their wines are the same price as they believe they are all equally special no matter how different they may be. One of our favorites was their sparkling wine which is made of 70% Chardonnay. We left the vineyard with a case of their wine and a few bottles of their olive oil. The price point for the wine was such a great deal it was hard to not buy!! Domaine St. Diego helps remind us no matter how state of the art of wine making is, it can also be so simple and delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeillyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine St Diego also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Domaine St Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing