We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel ”
Review of Hostel Mora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Mora
Ranked #11 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic breakfast served - the kitchen lady is so sweet and she'll cook up for you any type of eggs you'd like and delicious crepes! You also have pastries and oranges.
Rooms are comfortable. Our heater was not working but we got a new one by the time we returned from our day out.
The staff are fantastic! Daniella helped me for about 45 mintues to find an appropriate medical center with a specialist.
Great day trips and daily activities are put up on a big board for you to choose from. Activities are also conducted at the hostel so it's a great way to meet people.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Xtina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Rally nice hostel. Met some great people there, which always makes a difference, but the staff are really friendly, I was offered brekkie on the morning I arrived, without having booked for the night before and a bed was made for me really quickly. It is cold (it's winter in Mendoza, so you know, that is expected ) but extra blankets are on offer and some fires are put in the common areas. The free wine didnt happen every night, but when asked for it was provided and perfectly drinkable. When asked, the staff (and some guests!) organised a mass BBQ for everyone with wine, steak etc. which was good fun. Lots of tour info. Some of the activities didnt happen, but the hostel was about half full with it being low season so don't blame them for that. Overall, friendly, great breakfast, helpful staff, really pleasant stay! Recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wipp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hostel was in a great location, and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was fantastic (definitely get the dulce de leche crepes - they're delicious). The free nightly wine didn't come out every night, but when it was there it was not the wine you'll get in the region, though very drinkable. The hostel was very cold (we were there in mid-May), but they had heaters throughout which made it much better (but our heater stopped working mid-stay). I found it very difficult to open and close doors in the hostel (especially our bedroom door and nearest bathroom). It is a hostel from an old house, so I guess it's one of the risks with old places. We also joined the free mate class, which was great fun and very interesting. I also had a little trouble using the free washing machine, but the staff helped fix it for me. Just a word of warning - the clothes come out very wet, so leave a lot of time to let them dry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teleejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent security with locks on doors, big lockers and a security camera and buzzer for front gate! It was my friends birthday and they gave us an extra free bottle of wine of our choosing, in addition to the usual free wine! No-weekly asados and the free wine help people interact. Bathrooms cleaned everyday but this is done around 9/10 am when most people are getting up so can be a hinderance. Staff really nice but a few of them need to gain better knowledge of the area eg. Local buses and supermarkets. Good choice of breakfast food. Overall great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hostel mora for 6 nights and got to "sample" 3 different rooms - 4 bed & two privates. All were clean (cleaning staff is there practically all day) and beds were ok except for the tiny pillow. Heaters provided to keep you warm on cold nights too. There are 4 showers with hot water & 5 toilets so that made it easy for all the guests to use these facilities. Kitchen was in high demand which meant waiting your turn to cook but it's stocked w cooking supplies so that was nice.
The best parts - Gonzalo is a great host!, free wine daily, asado BBQ 2 times a week, lots of info on tours/activities to do in the area and nice outdoor courtyard to enjoy the fresh air.
Only area for improvement would be to do a deep clean of the showers & bedrooms here and there.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonsnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice hostel to spend your time at in Mendoza. In good location, near all the main plazas. Great breakfast with pastries, eggs, good coffee etc, probably one of the best breakfasts I had during my time in South America. Staff all really friendly and even allowed me have the breakfast before I checked in on the first day. Comfy rooms with huge lockers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjheale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The staff at this place are the bomb. It feels more like a bed and breakfast than it does a hostel. They even cook whatever you want (within reason) for breakfast while you get ready for the day's events. I give it two fat thumbs up.

-Teddy

Room Tip: If you can avoid room 4 I think it is the only room that has spotty internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.7 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#2 of 176 in Mendoza
395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Alamo
Hostel Alamo
#9 of 176 in Mendoza
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#1 of 176 in Mendoza
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#4 of 176 in Mendoza
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel de los Artistas
Hostel de los Artistas
#10 of 176 in Mendoza
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#6 of 176 in Mendoza
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mora

Address: San Juan 955 Ciudad de Mendoza, Mendoza 5513, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $14 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel Mora 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Mora is a Hostel that prides itself on a as the building itself consists of a large spanish house with plenty of common areas and a lovely outdoor.We offer many activities in Spanish and English. Naturally we maintain a high standart of service so that you can enjoy your days (weeks) in Mendoza and get to know the fabulous wines it offers.Mora Hostel has 2 dorm types availabe (6 beds and 4 beds) and can sleep a total of 16 people and there are plenty of showers and toiletsPrivate rooms are:Twin rooms with shared bathroomsDouble rooms with shared bathroomsHostel Mora is run by an Argentinian Family and therefore offers you a warm and friendly welcome.Amongst our speciality is :An incredibly large breakfast ready at 7.00 am andif you check-in before 10.00 am you can enjoy that breakfast upon arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Hostel Mora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing