We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice garden, Spartan room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Mora

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hostel Mora
Ranked #13 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
252 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice garden, Spartan room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is good, just between the city center and the bus station (a short walking distance). The premises are behind a steel gate that is opended only for guests, so the facilities feel very safe. The garden is comfy and the breakfast is quite good for a hostel, including also some pancakes.

However, the room itself was like prison cell, small and Spartan. Wifi connection wasn't working properly in the room (in the garden it worked ok) and it was lacking air condition as well. Toilets were clean, but one of the floor drains was plugged in one of the showers.

Later on I noticed that the hostel advertises free wine tastings and free glass of wine every night on their website. However, they only told us about expensive wine tours around the city and not a single word about free wine...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    65
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
58
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for two nights. And loved it. As being my first stay at a hostel I was very nervous, but it by far exceeded my expectations. The kitchen door was always kept open, so there were a bunch of flies. The room we had, would be the only one I would recommend. It was upstairs in the backyard, it had ac! It had a double bed and bunk beds. It was quiet and away from the Street. The public bathroom was always free, and the courtyard was a fun area to hang out in. The activities were great fun that was offered at the hostel. Very nice and safe feeling. I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickelback76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hostel Mora in Mendoza is in a great location and the staff go out of their way to help you plan your activities and to make you feel at home. The hostel is an old home that is very cozy with a great rear garden with tables, chairs and hammocks for eating or relaxing. The dorm rooms are not crowed and the mattresses are new and firm. Plenty of hot water for showering and in the sink as well for shaving. They also allow free use of their washing machine. And the free breakfast with homemade pancakes is very nice. The hostel is very safe and secure and on a great street near most everything you need. It is also a short walk from the main bus terminal.

The reason I say this hostel could easily be so much better is that I found the property to be in disrepair. There is a lot of deferred maintenance at this hostel. The ceilings have peeling paint and water stains from leaks. There are broken hand railings, broken plugs, cracked tiles, rotted wood trim, broken light fixtures and broken lockers. All basic maintenance items that if repaired would make this a wonderful hostel. The second thing that needs attention is the rooms and the bathrooms need to be cleaned daily. I found the floors in the dorms, common areas and bathrooms to be quite dirty all day. So more attention by the cleaning crew would make a big difference here.

So in general I recommend this hostel in the hopes they address these issues.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 days at Mora. The hostel offered a bunch of activities and had a nice set up. Awesome breakfast, for spith American standards
I got robbed on the way to the bus station one night and my passport, camera, iPod etc was stolen and the staff at Mora went out of their way to help me out. Found a police officer who spoke English, gave me a free night as I was stuck there now, rang bus companies and generally helped out as much as they could. They were nice, friendly and helpful, I honestly couldn't thank them enough for all their help!
I really appreciated it all. Thanks hostel Mora!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My booking confirmation shows "Superior Double Room", and booking through Hostel Bookers, I clicked on double with ensuite. What I got was a scummy "Four bed room" which comprised of a double bed and two bunks crammed into an airless, poorly furnished, poorly maintaned dog box. Positives and negatives of this Hostel are:

Positives:
Excellent location
Excellent security
One of the three or so staff was happy

Negatives:
Disgusting box box room see above
Toilets always had floors flooded
Over priced extras eg tours and food eg new years feast clearly a money making venture
No adequate lounge and common room space
Breakfast bar running out of food

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenaciousteenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

we stayed there for one night and were very pleased. Room is quite basic (as expected for hostel) but clean, all bathrooms were clean, location is very convenient: half-way between bus station and central square. Complementary glass of wine, BBQ for sale, hammocks, reasonable breakfast - very good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexei s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Large communial areas both inside and out. Good breakfast selection with eggs, pastries, pancakes and cereals. Helpful staff and strong wi-fi. Comfortable beds and strong showers. A free cookery class was run with all the guests welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller03061985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.1 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#13 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#15 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#14 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#6 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#4 of 178 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mora

Property: Hostel Mora
Address: San Juan 955 Ciudad de Mendoza, Mendoza 5513, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Mora is a Hostel that prides itself on a as the building itself consists of a large spanish house with plenty of common areas and a lovely outdoor.We offer many activities in Spanish and English. Naturally we maintain a high standart of service so that you can enjoy your days (weeks) in Mendoza and get to know the fabulous wines it offers.Mora Hostel has 2 dorm types availabe (6 beds and 4 beds) and can sleep a total of 16 people and there are plenty of showers and toiletsPrivate rooms are:Twin rooms with shared bathroomsDouble rooms with shared bathroomsHostel Mora is run by an Argentinian Family and therefore offers you a warm and friendly welcome.Amongst our speciality is :An incredibly large breakfast ready at 7.00 am andif you check-in before 10.00 am you can enjoy that breakfast upon arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing