We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Suites Mendoza
Ranked #83 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Prices were cheaper on-line than as a walk-in. But you could use the hostel computers to book anyway. There was no problem with early check-in. We were allocated a triple room which was spacious enough. The bathroom was tiny! Wifi was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 323 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Basically this is an old 2 star budget hotel that has been converted to a hostel, in a decent
location & it's clean but it has lots of downsides. It's fine for a quick overnighter but you would not want to spent any time here if you are staying in Mendoza a few days.

Tiny rooms (old small twin rooms) that now sleep 4 in bunks, literally no room to swing anything. Bathrooms of less than 1sqm but fine if you want to shower / use the loo at the same time!!

Non existant kitchen so don't plan on cooking & the central area is designed for you not to hang about too long.

The real shame is that it had a brilliant roof top space that could have made a great socialising area but it was poorly furnished, dull & boring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDMVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a double room with bathroom for 3 nights in Sept 2012. We arrived early off the night bus from BA and were very pleased to be allowed to check in when we arrived. Unfortunately the first room we got the key for was dirty with unemptied bins and wet towels on the floor, but they moved us quickly elsewhere. The room was tiny, but the bathroom was microscopic- we couldn't leave towels or toiletries in there because the whole place got wet during a shower.
The worst thing about the place was the staff, though. They were only interested in their Facebook pages and in their favourite music (shakira, sadly). We were woken up on Sunday morning at 7.30am by them playing horrendous music at full blast from the stereo at reception, just for their own amusement. When we went through for breakfast (very basic but similar to what you'll get everywhere in S America -bread and jam) we mentioned to them that it was very loud in our room (on ground floor) and they turned it down for the few seconds I was at the reception desk, then back up again by the time we got to the kitchen!
On our second day the cistern on the toilet broke and we reported it needed fixing, they told us it was too late (mid-afternoon) to get someone out to fix so gave us the key to another room to use that bathroom. It would have been ok except the toilet just kept filling and we had to rig up a makeshift lever ourselves overnight or the bathroom would have flooded.
The common area downstairs in very badly arranged for meeting people- just trestle tables staring at the tv and one small sofa. The roof terrace is large and nice but not enough chairs or shades.
We left and found a much nicer place in Mendoza. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms get all the noise from reception- we were a long way down the corridor but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hostel was the worst place I had in a 3,5 months trip around Argentina, Chile and Bolivia. It wasn't too bad but the room was really small with 2 bunk beds and the bathroom was chicita. You could take a shower while brushing your teeth and going to toilet, all in one... so small.

Anyway, we had a free choripan night on the thursday when I arrived. It was free and when it's free, it tastes always better :-)

I wouldn't recommend this place if you plan to visit the Mendoza Area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThaCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had booked a triple room several days in advance. On arrival, no triple room was available and we had to accept one single and one double room (at a total price higher than the price of the triple room). Rooms are very basic and small, and so are the bathrooms. Both rooms and common areas are well cleaned and equipped with towels (changed every day). No noise during the night outside our room (facing away from the street).

The location is good, just a few blocks away from the main park and pedestrian street in Mendoza. Some members of staff were friendly whereas others did not really pay any attention to their guests. The hostel offers a laundry service which is quick and cheap. Common areas are small compared to the size of the hostel, so maybe not the best place to meet other travellers. Four computers available, and there is free wifi (but no wifi network coverage in our 3rd floor room).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hostel is really big and in comparism, the common areas are small and the number uf computers for internet use are very limited.. We furthermore were in a room which was really smelly and never lost the bad smell during our stay. The bathroom is very small, but the room otherwise actually had everything which one needs. In my opinion, the hostel is not worth it's money!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

After staying at hostel suites in Buenos Aires, we felt comfortable booking ourselves into this hostel. We were disappointed, however. We ere first booked into a very small double room where the toilet and shower were almost one. As well as that, the room was smelly. They gave us another room without any problem. This one, however, overlooked the courtyard which was the smoking area. The noise at all hours coming from the courtyard resulted in three nights of very interrupted sleep. It was certainly noy the best part of our stay in Mendoza.

Room Tip: If you stay there, ask for a room away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spencer-D-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.9 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#2 of 172 in Mendoza
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punto Urbano Hostel
Punto Urbano Hostel
#55 of 172 in Mendoza
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#6 of 172 in Mendoza
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#1 of 172 in Mendoza
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaquemate Hostel
Jaquemate Hostel
#18 of 172 in Mendoza
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#5 of 172 in Mendoza
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suites Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites Mendoza

Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1532, Mendoza M5500EAV, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $12 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Suites Mendoza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Suites Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing