We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice swimming pool, helpful staff”
Review of Mod Hotel Mendoza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mod Hotel Mendoza
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Everything is in the title. It is a great value for money. Rooms are very spacious, very clean.
We could access the jacuzzi and swimming pool even after checking out, which was pleasant.
Staff is super helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClementNowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Mod Hotel Mendoza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 639 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

As we arrived to Mendoza after a 13 hour drive on the bus from Buenos Aires, the hotel's location, just a few minutes drive by a cheap local taxi, seemed great. And it was. Even the fact we arrived a few hours before the check-in, the friendly staff got us our room key immediately. The center of Mendoza is just around the corner (few minutes walk or around 2 dollars taxi fare) and it is really pleasant walk. They offer free underground parking that is very useful if you rent a car, and you should if going around different bodegas is your thing. Sauna, gym, swimming pool, great breakfast, spacious rooms, nice view (on only one side of the hotel unfortunately) and so on makes it worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our experience at the Modern couldn't have been better. We were returning to Mendoza after several days staying in the surrounding countryside and couldn't get into a B&B in the city over the holidays.

The Modern offers modern accommodations, many of the services of a full-service hotel (no room service), and helpful staff at a very reasonable rate. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning (the choices were wide). Although we didn't use the pool, it was nice knowing it was there and watching others enjoy it.

The hotel is about eight blocks from the Plaza Independencia and on the other side of the Plaza from many of Mendoza's hotels. While this is a minor inconvenience, we routinely walked to the more touristy areas. As this is Mendoza, that included after dinner walks at 1 am. Cabs are cheap, if not always easily available if the walk is too much.

Others have commented that the Modern is near the bus station. I would add that it is also near Route 40 -- the main road to Maipu, Lujan de Cujo, and the Uca Valley, so for people thinking about staying in Mendoza and driving daily to the bodegas, the Modern is a good option. Distances are not that great. Our rate included free parking in the hotel's underground garage.

We asked for a high floor and had a room on the 4th floor, so the traffic noise was minimal. We had a West-facing room, so we had a view of the Andes.

We paid a few dollars extra a night for an upgrade to the Executive Level room. The cost was small and the room was about 50% bigger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing West.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

With our arrival in Mendoza and at the Mod Hotel, I can’t say that we were particularly impressed by the exterior- it’s not really modern or hip or anything beyond generic faux Spanish. And it is actually located away from the main city center, nearer to the bus station in a less active part of town. The real surprise started beyond the front doors; entering into a large and bright lobby with a view to the pool, outfitted with tasteful art and casual furnishings –it was a relaxed, sunny and inviting environment. That impression continued as we made our way to our room which was modern and nicely decorated with windows facing west toward the Andes providing abundant light (altho nothing special in terms of view). The beds too were very comfortable- on the firmer side which we prefer. The bathroom was well equipped, with sumptuous finishes, even nicer than the room itself. WIFI was a joy- quick and reliable- apparently there is one router per 4 rooms.

The front desk was very accommodating, even with our feeble attempts at Spanish (Tip: come here for pool towels). Breakfast was a highlight with an elaborate buffet, exceeding most Argentine hotels- and who doesn’t love prosciutto and champagne with breakfast? Just have patience with the toasters which seem to take an eternity. The pool, altho not enormous, provided a nice respite from the heat of the city. Its setting, during our visit in winter late afternoon, didn’t allow for the pool itself to be in the sun altho the deck area was, albeit short on chairs. A small equipped gym is located in the basement- just adequate for a hotel of this size, it fit our needs for our 1.5 day stay. We didn’t realize that we needed to pre-book the Jacuzzi and sauna which are located behind a glass wall and door adjacent to the workout room- a disappointment as we needed to leave after only a couple of minutes. One bonus-the hotel will provide a rate for a very late check-out at 18:00, which worked well for our scheduled overnight bus to Buenos Aires. The desk called for a cab which came quickly and was inexpensive altho the bus station, without much luggage, could be managed in about a 10-15 minute walk.

Except for Mod’s location, which for us was not an issue, the hotel exceeded our expectation on almost every level. If you don’t have to be in the center of the action, this is definitely a worthwhile find, especially if you score a great rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great value - fantastic service, room, and amenities. It's a 10 minute walk to the near side of Plaza Independencia, but a 15-20 minute walk to the far side where all of the restaurants are on Avenida Sarmiento (and even the less touristy restaurants away from the Plaza are on the western side of the square). With the walk, the hotel was located in a nice, quiet area of town (but not so quiet that we were ever concerned for our safety walking back, even after a late dinner close to midnight). Modern decor, beautiful lobby. We got a good value on the hotel room itself, so we'd probably stay again, but we did get tired of making the walk after a long day. There are a number of markets and cheap lunch spots closer by. One night we were exhausted and the hotel restaurant was actually a decent option. Decimo nearby (corner San Martin and Garibaldi) is a cool wine bar/restaurant on the 10th floor of one of the few tall buildings in town.

We had fantastic service at the front desk by Cristian, who helped us coordinate a complex tour (half day rafting, half day paragliding) and helped us sort things out when unexpectedly the weather did not cooperate for paragliding. If you have a free day - I'd highly recommend trying this itinerary as, weather cooperating, it would have been a quick way to do a couple of Mendoza's best out door activities (aside from the wineries, of course).

We enjoyed the hotel pool (so refreshing after a hot day bicycling around the vineyards), but wished the jacuzzi next to it were instead a hot tub (hot water instead of regular cool water).

Breakfast selections were great - three types of ham, many pastries, yogurt, cereals, champagne and juice.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel experience, but the walk might be the one reason we'd consider a closer option if we ever return to Mendoza. Hotel can't do a lot about its location... but could consider running a short shuttle to/from the town square in order to alleviate the concern about length of the walk?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a nice hotel, located in a quiet area of Mendoza, still walking distance from Plaza Independencia, about a 10 minute walk. We didn't have much of a view but the room was very spacious, clean and modern. We didn't use the pool but it looked inviting, and the lobby is very pleasant and has two free computers for those without laptops. The WiFi connection was fast in the room. We didn't eat at the restaurant except for breakfast, which was included in the price. The breakfast offerings didn't change in the three days we spent there but there was plenty to choose from, including excellent quality champagne! In all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This a nice, very modern hotel in a less touristy area in Mendoza, very close to the bus station and central hospital. I would say that it is about at the level of a marriott in terms of style, though not as luxurious in terms of services offered. It doesn't have room service or anything like that, but it does have a pool, a good restaurant/bar, a gym, and the rooms are spotless and stylishly decorated. There are little fridges and microwaves in the standard rooms, as well as an extra bar sink. We stayed here for 6 nights and had a nice time. The rate we ended up getting was approx $125/night, not bad for how comfortable our surroundings were. A group of four people could have easily fit in our room. The bathrooms were big and if you get a room on the west side of the building you can see the Andes mountains and a view over the whole city, which was cool.

A couple complaints: the hotel has gotten rid of the pool loungers and replaced them with clubby furniture that isn't very comfortable. It discourages people from lying by the pool, and there are only three groupings of the chairs. This makes the pool scene a tiny bit awkward. They should have loungers.

The breakfast buffet is incredible!! They offer croissants, fresh fruit, cereal, ham, cheese, smoked salmon, toast, spreads, yogurt, nuts, raisins, juice, good coffee, tea, hot milk, and lots of sweets. Plus.... Champagne!!! The thing I liked the most was the scrambled eggs. Then, three days into our stay they took the eggs away and never brought them back!! Why??

Our bathroom in room 609 had a decidedly funky smell coming from the pipes. After 2 days we asked to change rooms because it was getting worse and worse, usually intensifying right after one of us took a shower. The hotel accommodated the change within a few hours, so it was no big deal, but it was kind of a nasty thing for such a nice hotel.

Mendoza is worth a visit, and at this price, you feel like you are getting a great deal on a really nice vacation. With a few tweaks this place would be close to perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.0 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,279 reviews
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
0.5 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#13 of 84 in Mendoza
1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mod Hotel Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mod Hotel Mendoza

Address: Calle Jose Federico Moreno 1230, Mendoza M5500AWJ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mod Hotel Mendoza 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mod Hotels features luxurious accommodations with modern facilities in central Mendoza, 5 miles from El Plumerillo Airport. Facilities include a spa, a hydro-massage tub and an outdoor swimming pool. The tasteful rooms at Mod Hotels Mendoza have stylish fabric and wood decor, and contemporary furniture. All feature free Wi-Fi, an LCD cable TV, and queen size beds. Large bedroom windows offer scenic views of Mendoza. Guests at the Mod Hotels Mendoza can dine at the Magma Restaurant and bar. A daily breakfast buffet with fresh croissants, jams and fruits is served. The hotel is 4 blocks from the central San Martin Avenue, and 325 ft from Sarmiento Square. An airport shuttle service as well a business center and gym are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mod Hotel Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing