We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, good location”
Review of Diplomatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diplomatic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice hotel with large rooms and good breakfast. Pool area not up to 5 star standards, only 5 or 6 sun loungers for a hotel with circa 20 floors! Small gym but was fine. Reception staff not the most customer focused, requested payment for booking before we even checked in. Considering the booking was made via internet and credit card details were submitted, I thought that this was a little pushy. When I explained that I needed to go to the bank to withdraw cash to pay I was instructed that a note would be put on my file about this....felt like I had committed an offence and was especially noteworthy as we were on honeymoon (about which the hotel had been informed).
Requested an iron and ironing board to which I was told that my shirt would be ironed for me....to which there was a charge upon check out (not advised when requesting the iron). Overall nice hotel, decent breakfast and good location within Mendoza but staff need customer service training.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkHanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr. MarkHanbury

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected specifically with some aspects of your stay. kindly be assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly.

Best Regards,

Santiago Alsina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 2,440 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel. Martin at the front desk was very hrlpful as were all the other staff. Great value!
Great location, surrounded by heaps of great restueants and bars.
Good size poo lhowever could have been a little cleaner.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr. Carlo G

Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards,

Santiago Alsina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We are from Buenos Aires and always we go on holidays I check in Trip Advisor...in this particular case, I read some negative comments and I analyzed them carefully, anyway we decided to stay in the Diplomatic hotel...such a bad decision! Service is awful, they took over an hour to bring a towel. Also, our bathroom was out of order and we had to call them three times to show up, a total disaster. The pool is very small and has almost no water (not joking), there are around ten chairs to sit and relax but the hotel has min 200 guests, so no sense at all to stay there. Please do not go to the Diplomatic!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomasGRuegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr. TomasGRuegg

Greetings from Mendoza.

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Mendoza

Best Regards,

Santiago Alsina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Diplomatic for four nights. The hotel is beautiful, well located and clean.

ROOMS: The rooms are very spacious and very well decorated. The bathroom is huge with a tub and a separate shower. The view from our room was fantastic.

STAFF: The staff is very helpful and unlike some reviews, every tips I called the front desk someone answered promptly. The staff member that brought our bags gave us all the information about the hotel.

BREAKFAST/ WINE TASTING: The breakfast was included and very good with a lot of great options that included some typical Argentine dishes such us torta frita, dulce de leche pastries and pastafrola. The hotel hosts a wine tasting every night between 7 and 8. That was fun to attend.

WIFI: included in the room price and very good signal everywhere in the hotel.

SPA: We booked massages in the spa. This was the weak point of our stay but I think it does not belong to the hotel even when it is located there. One of the girls doing our massages had her cell phone on and it rang not one but TWICE during our appointment. Also, the typical spa music was not working. Very hard to relax when the cell phone is ringing!! You need to fix this.

GYM/POOL: very nice everything you need in a hotel gym. The pool is small but never crowded and beautiful.

We were very happy with the hotel and would definitely go back. We would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Book the mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs. AVGW

I thank you for taking time to share your experience here. It’s fabulous to hear that your time spent with us was “WONDERFUL”

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you, again one day soon.

Best Regards,

Santiago Alsina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

For Argentina, this is a great business-like hotel. We stayed three nights, in December, and we had a good stay. The rooms are very modern, big bathrooms, toiletries, everything standard for an upscale hotel. Breakfast was GREAT, with hot foods, juices, pastries, etc. The pool area is nice, with a small but modern gym. They do have a nice-looking spa, though I didn't use the services. Very good location near all the good restaurants. Parking is covered. We ordered ice a couple of time, and though they took a while, it did finally arrive. Price was very reasonable (we got a good deal on despegar.com.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albermaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mrs. albermaria

Greetings from Mendoza!

Thank you very much for your response! It is a pleasure to receive guests like yourself.

Hope you can visit us again.

Kind regards

Santiago Alsina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We really enjoyed the hotel as we thought the decor and the room was very nice. We were slightly disappointed by the service (no one answered the phone...ever), but overall a nice place to stay. Good gym and pool and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mrs. jmhcktt

Greetings from Mendoza!

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest.

Kind regards

Santiago Alsina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is quite lovely looking, they have all the right finishing's to qualify for a 4 star ...no debate. The problems we had (2 day stay ending tomorrow) reflect the service in a few key areas.

It's quite difficult to get someone to answer the phone (from your room at the front desk) - it just rings and rings (you will see it when you are at the front desk - they just don't answer it or when you try to dial you get a busy signal), and generally when you do what you request isn't followed up on (for us it was a broken toilet that we called a few times about and nobody came). There is no concierge - so you just wait in line to ask a question (cause they generally don't answer the phone - as the front desk seems a bit understaffed).

We couldn't get laundry service or eat at the hotel - everything closes for the 31 and 1 of the new year - including the hotel restaurants (on the 31st). The breakfast is included but there is nothing hot - a lot of cakes and pastries - toast - there is bacon but it's boiled and there is scrambled egg but it's porridge style). The pool is really small (not for swimming) and has only about 12 or so chairs around it - so getting a spot is generally not possible.

The staff at the desk is borderline friendly, it really depends on who you get. I had a lady today that was borderline rude then later in the day a man who actually gave me a streetcar pass - it's a little unpredictable. They are not forthcoming with tourist information at all - you have to know what you want to know (very specific questions). Only a few of the staff speak English just FYI.

It's an expensive hotel and you do get a nice room - no doubt - but that's about where the 4 star ends. As I said, you can ask for things (maintenance on a room) and they will say they are sending someone - but we didn't experience that they ever did.

We would not recommend this hotel - just based on the price in comparison to other places around (the international is around the corner and 1/2 the price).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltaylor96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs. Itaylor96

We appreciate your time to write your experience in the hotel, and we also appreciate your comments because this help us to improve our service. You mention some things about our front desk, and I must tell you that we train they very hard, because the costumer service it's our goal. We do have a Concierge, he is a member of Les Clef D'or International, and he can help everybody with any request.

We have a breakfast based in the opinion of our guests, and as you can see in many comments, our guests said that is a wonderfull breakfast

Our job is to make everyone feel comfortable at the hotel, we regret if this was not the case.

Kind regards

Santiago Alsina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
3,101 reviews
3 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#13 of 84 in Mendoza
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
1,116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
1,240 reviews
1 mi away
Mod Hotel Mendoza
Mod Hotel Mendoza
#19 of 84 in Mendoza
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomatic Hotel

Address: Avenida Belgrano 1041, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mendoza
#5 Family Hotel in Mendoza
#9 Business Hotel in Mendoza
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range: $113 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Diplomatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Park Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing