We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, Mendoza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Rufino Bed&Breakfast
Ranked #64 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everyone was beyond helpful here! The house cat, Rufina, was adorable. The roof was the perfect place to sip beer (which you can purchase there!) and it is walking distance from lots of parks, shops and great dining. The whole city was without water for 36 hours, which made the bathroom situation frighteneing for a spell. Our room never had a working light in the bathroom, which didn't totally help either. The pluses were fresh towels and turn down daily for a great price, and the sweetest staff (even those on graveyard shifts).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Quinta Rufino Bed&Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in Quinta Rufino a couple of days and enjoyed our stay very much. It's a pity to read the bad reviews here because most of all Quinta Rufino is to be enjoyed for the marvelous laid-back atmosphere. On a great location on a stone throw of the plaza de independencia and the nightlife district a like, the b&b is in a quiet green street. They have lots of cosy common areas to enjoy a coffee, a book or a movie and the roof terrace is gigantic and sunny and if you're just lucky enough you will certainly enjoy a great Argentinian style asado here with lots of first class meat to eat and fernet and local wines to drink. The owners are very friendly and know all the touristic possibilities in the great Mendoza area and are happy to help you book any tour.

Room Tip: The room with the fireplace is equally romantic as it is confortable!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Originally booked this through a site listing this as a three-star B&B. Once inside, we could see that this was a hostel. No A/C. No cold water in the bathroom and thus the toilet tank would not fill. We were given one hand towel for two people. No bath towels. Dirty. Tiny shower which drained via a drain in the bathroom floor. Wife very upset. Even though we had prepaid, we decided not to stay. Never have refused to stay in an accommodation before.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

People of good wood. A quiet place with good care. Spacious and beautiful rooms. I like being in this hostel. Centrally located with a good group of people. I recommend it. Ahy always people at the reception with very good attitude in whatever you need help. I liked the place and the attention thanks to the hostel...............................................

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anibalito I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Other than the location - it wasn't great. The sleep quality was poor. No air conditioning and the room became unbearably hot in the middle of summer. The voices of people chatting in the common room came straight through to our room. The bathroom floods after each shower. The breakfast bread was stale. The location compensates for these weaknesses.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked this via an online website which lists it as a B&B. It's actually a hostel, and very basic. In theory, had our expections of it being a hostel been correct, it's got potential, however it is very tired, with cracks in the walls, is not clean. Our main concern was that the room was really dirty, there was mould on one of the walls, the tiled floor was filthy, the bedding did not seem clean (we were both bitten and slept in our own sheet sleeping bags the second night) and there were severals hair in the bathroom including the plughole.

We did mention that our room was not very clean - after getting out of the shower the dirty floor had more marks where our clean feet had been, and the floor was wiped, but there were still hairs, and the bedding was not changed. The breakfast is, as others reviews say, very basic - medialuna and a hard roll each. I had to get plates from the communal kitchen, and had to ask for butter and was given a used large tub, some jam, and one knife.

Good points are a good location, not too far into the main centre, round the corner from the street with lots of restaurants on, and the staff were friendly with varying degrees of English.

We were glad to leave. I would only recommend this if you set your expectations very low and want a hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zestfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few days and occupied the room at front by the drive, which was ok and we slept well. Staff very helpful. Breakfast quite the worst excuse for a meal in all South America! We gave up and bought our own locally.
Cooking facilities were in a scruffy kithchenarea and were poor.
Local shops and restaurants within easy reach but centre of town a good walk. This hostel is a bit run down but it could be so much better with a modicum of expenditure. Though accommodation in Argentina is more expensive than anywhere bar Brazil, we didn't find this cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Championo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.1 mi away
Damajuana Hostel
Damajuana Hostel
#60 of 170 in Mendoza
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#4 of 170 in Mendoza
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Pueblo Hostel
Casa Pueblo Hostel
#26 of 170 in Mendoza
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Alamo
Hostel Alamo
#8 of 170 in Mendoza
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#2 of 170 in Mendoza
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaquemate Hostel
Jaquemate Hostel
#18 of 170 in Mendoza
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Rufino Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Rufino Bed&Breakfast

Address: Calle Gral Rufino Ortega 142 | Mendoza, Mendoza M5502GQD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $30 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Rufino Bed&Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Rufino is a Bed and Breakfast situated in a beautiful residential area in the city of Mendoza. Run by three owners with a young and entrepreneurial spirit Quinta Rufino provides a welcoming, peaceful environment for a pleasant and memorable stay. The unique architecture, which dates back to 1920, is a proud part of the history of Mendoza and we are always working to maintain and preserve the original structure. Quinta Rufino has both private and shared rooms, providing comfort and security. We are able to accommodate between 1 and 5 people per room which all enjoy their original colonial design, including beautiful hardwood floors, yet with modern decor, inspired by the many artists who have stayed and worked at this Bed and Breakfast during its eight year existence. We are committed to developing and improving national and international tourism in the Province of Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Rufino Bed&Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing