We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Square Independencia
Ranked #10 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a really good location, just off the main plaza. Pancakes for breakfast plus free wine from 7-8 make this an excellent friendly hostel, the free wine hour is really good for meeting people. Good kitchen facilities & the woman who makes the pancakes is so nice! Helpful English speaking staff too!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
45
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hostel is a few meters close to the main square so you can easily get to the center by walking. They serve a very good breakfast. I booked a double room at ground floor. It was small and old. The bed was comfortable although I could not had a good sleep due to the noise coming from the living room. I was aware there was a time limit for noise, so I woke up and asked the receptionist why guests were allowed not to respect it. She did not give me any answer. Anyway, an average option to spend a couple of nights in Mendoza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidemariaferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Absolutely loved this hostel. The pancakes for breakfast rock, and also the free wine hour every night is a great way to meet other travelers (I traveled alone and made friends my first night! I am studying abroad in Buenos Aires and I met lots of other young people who are also students/travelers, but there was definitely a good age range.) It was clean, staff went above and beyond with making sure tours/transportation were arranged, and made calls to tours to make sure it was all set. I had a kind of complicated tour booked that didn't include transportation, and they made sure I was taken care of. LOVED this hostel. I stayed in another Mendoza hostel after a weekend here; Hostel Independencia is uniquely great, beautiful, friendly and feels like home. As a solo traveler, I had a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time here, superb breakfast and very friendly free wine. Lovely hot showers and the reception extremely helpful! Would benefit from offering towels and free tea and coffee. But that's our only criticism-amazing hostel! Great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lt252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Staff were friendly and one of them came out with us and showed us the local clubs. There is free wine every night from 7pm till 8pm which is a good way to kick off the night too.

Breakfast was good, they make you a pancake or eggs and there is a few other options too. Kitchen ladies are lovely. Eating area inside is small.

Showers were terrible!! Was either cold or boiling water and the showers are only seperated with plastic board that comes up to your shoulder so you could see everyone next to you.

Great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not enough can be said about this hostel! The rooms were basic but just right for what you use it for, the hostel itself was amazing; great common rooms, kitchen was nice, outdoor patio was brilliant in the evening (perfect for the free wine hour). But aside from the location, the service, the building, the food, the biggest value to this hostel is the staff. Laura was such a sweetheart. She helped us out so much every day and made us feel at home, Jarek was fantastic and so kind and professional as well. They always answered the questions and problems we had. And of course the hostel owner Manuela, her stories and experiences really added life and atmosphere to the hostel. And bottle after bottle of wine helped too ;) thank you all so much. I'll never forget my mendoza experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, awesome breakfast, free wine hour, couldn't be located in a better or more central place, hot showers.

The hostel is a work in progress, not only was it not taken care of by the previous owners, but the building is old. But the time, energy and money put into running it is beyond belief.
It does shut off lights and encourage people to go o bed or out at midnight.

But it's worth every penny, it really is a little gem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kegurii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.1 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#19 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Lagares
Hostel Lagares
#2 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Square Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Square Independencia

Property: Hostel Square Independencia
Address: Avenida B Mitre 1237, Mendoza M5500EHH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Owner has over 30 years of travel experience and really understands what nowadays travelers are looking for.Hostel Independencia is located in the heart of downtown Mendoza, few steps from the Independencia Square, the center of concerts, recreational and cultural activities. This restored old mansion was built in 1910, giving the hostel an incomparable atmosphere and ample spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Square Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing