We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel”
Review of Lagares Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lagares Hostel
Ranked #3 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in early December and walked in without a reservation on a day when most buses to Buenos Aires had been cancelled due to flooding. The hostel was completely full but luckily I got a bed. Everyone that works there is extremely helpful. The breakfast is amazing and I slept very well there.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4t4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 394 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hostel is well located, about a 15 minute walk from the bus station. We shared a private room for two people, with shared bathroom, which was incredibly good value for money. By far the best aspect of this hostel is the friendly and helpful staff, especially Javier, who works on reception during the day. He knows everything about all of the various excursions in Mendoza and even lent us a bus card to charge up when we went out to the vineyards to save us having to buy one!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hostel can a be a little noisy as they face the road, so if you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kura_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our first room was large and warm and we didnt hear any noise from anyone, the shared bathroom was right outside the room and always had hot water. The kitchen was quite large and had lots of cooking equipment and was clean. Breakfast was included, there was cake and the usual bread and jams and tea and coffee. The hostel was 15-20 minute walk to the plaza but was only 5 minutes to main shopping street and supermarkets. The staff were really helpful, booking us tours and ordering us taxis and giving us ideas of things to see, we decided to stay for longer so we had to change room as the one we were in was booked, it was in the basement and was a little colder and we could hear people coming in as it was near the front door but it was still ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a pleasant stay but given the lofty status this place has on tripadvisor i must say i expected better. The positives - the dorms were well organised and lockers had their own key so no problemo if you don´t have a lock. Common area was nice and simple and no annoying ´bringing your own alcohol is prohibited´signs adorned the place meant that the mood was festive without being out of control. However, downsides - the bathrooms were some of the more average I´ve encountered in south america, awkward kitchen if more than one is cooking at a time, the location is pretty poor - very long walks into town or heaven forbid to the main going out strip. Breakfast was on the average side. The big bonus for us was scoring a deal through hostelbookers where if you stayed 3 nights you got a Mr Hugo winery bike hire for free - which basically meant your 3rd night was free. I suspect that deal is what´s elevated this place up the listing, but I wouldn´t write home about it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

First off, the night staff guy (can't remember his name now) was so incredibly sweet. We had a crazy early morning bus and he got up and gave us breakfast and called a cab for us to the bus station. The rooms were pretty standard dorms, although the one facing the street is incredibly noisy...not sure why there's SO many buses, cars, etc. going up and down that street all night, but you'll definitely hear them. As I'm a heavy sleeper, it didn't bother me too much...my friend is a really light sleeper though and had a tough time with the noise.

Breakfast was awesome. Staples of bread and coffee/tea, but they also had homemade jams, cereal, and this delicious homemade pastry that you could smell from your dorm room in the morning (think they bake it fresh every morning or at least heat it up b/c it smells fantastic) calling you down for breakfast. They also have free wifi, they can help book tours - although we did it as cheaply as possible and they were helpful telling us exactly where to get off the bus for Mr. Hugo's bikes to hit up all the Mendoza wineries. There's a tv and they lend out dvds which is nice as our last day there was a sunday and there was NOTHING open after 3 pm so we watched a movie.

Ok, the negative's : was a pretty far walk to the central area of Mendoza. Perhaps b/c we were shocked at how big mendoza was (we thought it was going to be a quaint, small town), we didn't expect such a long walk - although it's definitely manageable as we did it at least once (usually twice) a day. The other negative was the showers weren't very warm at all...you'd get about 2 minutes of warm water then it'd get cold.

Overall pretty cheap place to stay and all of the staff were just really excellent to us. That goes a lot further in my book than location or warm showers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellagares, Propietario at Lagares Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you guys for your opinion!! Was a pleasure hosted you here!! If the shower wasnt warm sure was because the heather was low, sometimes happens that people with your bags put the buttom down and we didnt realize, so for the next time if you feel the water cold it will be really nice if you tell us and we can give you a solution!! Safe travels!! Javier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I recently stayed here in a 6 bed dorm for a couple of nights whilst on a quick weekend in Mendoza. Location is good, near main avenue san martin, lots of shops and restaurants not far, its a fair walk to Parque San Martin though. First impression was good, modern, colourful, very helpful and patient staff nice common room. However bedsheets I am guessing were not clean as bed was full of hair and pillows did not smell fresh. Also the noise in the dorm at night was horrendous, it sounds like the traffic is in the room, i was woken up at least 5 times a night... i would highly suggest double glazing for the hostel.... Lockers on the other hand were big and secure. bathrooms were clean enough, could be better though. Breakfast is a big plus for the hostel, plenty to eat and homemade jams were delicious. Kitchen is good size aswell.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The staff were very helpful in every way at this hostel. All the rooms had air conditioning, and were kept fairly clean, although the floors weren't swept everyday. Also the toilets were cleaned every day but the showers and sinks and bathroom floors weren't cleaned every day. The biggest problem I had was that there were only three bathrooms and about fifteen guests, leading to long waits in the morning sometimes. The kitchen was well stocked, and the location of the hostel was very good, close to the centre and a large supermarket.

Room Tip: All rooms face the street and so can be noisy. The four bed dorm in the basement does not, but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellagares, Propietario at Lagares Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Darby, first of all, thank you very much for having stayed in our hostel! The entire hostel is cleaned completely every day, and especially the bathrooms which are cleaned several times a day. The problem is that they, being of sharing, are used by all guests of the hostel, some clean and some not so many. Unfortunately there are a lot of people that after using the bathrooms do not have the slightest cooperation and leave everything very dirty no matter who leave others to use. Honestly it is impossible to have a person 24 hours next to the bathrooms so that each time a passenger comes to be constantly cleaning. We try to have it 100% clean all the time but sometimes it's impossible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.4 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#22 of 84 in Mendoza
603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#1 of 176 in Mendoza
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#4 of 176 in Mendoza
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Casa Pueblo Hostel
Casa Pueblo Hostel
#30 of 176 in Mendoza
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Alamo
Hostel Alamo
#9 of 176 in Mendoza
362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel de los Artistas
Hostel de los Artistas
#11 of 176 in Mendoza
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagares Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagares Hostel

Address: Calle Provincia de Corrientes 213, Mendoza M5500CQE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $18 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hostel hosted by owners and an outstanding staff that gives the best to help you achieve an excellent stay in Mendoza, with the maximum quality of possible attention , a comfortable stay, safe and clean experience. If you are looking a chill and relaxing place to rest, to get to know travelers like you, Hostel Lagares is your best option in Mendoza. You can enjoy the city to the maximum and be surprised with many tours and adventure activities, including the wineries and mountains. Our property is a charming place where you can chat comfortably, enjoy a movie with friends in the living room, or prepare a typical argentinian bbq on the terrace with a glass of wine. We are located in the historic centre of the city, two blocks from the main avenue San Martin. There you can find the wide path Alameda surrounded by large trees , flower sellers , little bars and restaurants that give it a special atmosphere. In our neighbourhood you can find many shops close by such as supermarkets, banks , and money exchange, all in your hands. We are a few blocks from the Sarmiento pedestrian street , the Plaza Independencia, and the citys historical museum also known as the area fundacional Our services includes: Homemade buffet breakfast with coffee, milk , juice , tea , homemade bread ,scrambled eggs, cereals, two differents flavors of delicious homemade jam , dulce de leche, butter and homemade cake. We provide maid service , air conditioning and heaters in all the rooms, terrace with tables, chairs, and a grill to bbq when you want . We have a dvd collection with more than 1000 movies available, Free internet and wi fi ultra speed. We have wines , beers , and cold drinks for sale . We have of course the best attention and touristic recommendations . TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR SPECIAL DEAL!!! If you stay 4 or more nights in any room (dorms or private) we give you one full day bike at the wineries area for FREE!!! * Any rooms that have been pre-booked must be cancelled before 12 noon the day before otherwise you have to pay the full balance. * Check in at 12pm / Check out at 10am . * The Double Bed private consists of together twin beds. * WE ACCEPT CREDIT AND DEBIT CARDS . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Lagares Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing