We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful Which Double You Choose”
Review of Hostel Alamo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Alamo
Ranked #9 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Recommend this place if you stay in Double Premium room. Would not stay in Double Standard as bed & room are way too small. Staff was very kind to move us & we were very lucky to have big room available. Can't speak to dorms/singles.

Place had good vibe and is nicely located within walking distance of everything. I would stay here again in double premium room...very nice.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, only stay in big rooms out back. Upstairs doubles are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 362 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here two nights in two different rooms. The first night we stayed in the double premium room and the second night we stayed in double private room with a shared bathroom. We had to switch rooms as they did not have availability.

The premium room itself was very nice for the price and we thought was a good value. it was very spacious and the bathroom was also large.

The double shared room was not great for us as a couple as it had not windows and felt like a dungeon. We got lucky and the shared bathroom which is tight outside the room did not have anyone else using it.

Overall, the splurge to the premium room s totally worth it. The rooms are all clean and the beds are comfortable.

In terms of the hotel itself the staff is very nice in helping plan excusions. Beware that they push their bike wine tour and discourage going on your own to Maipu saying its too hard. It is fairly easy to take a bus to Maipu and rent a bike there and probably preferred as you can go at your own pace.

The breakfast here was a standard hostel breakfast with a continental feast. Nothing special but a good way to start your day.

The hotel is across the street from a large grocery story which is great and you are about a 10 minute walk from the two main areas for food and bars. It was a great way to be close to everything without being in the middle of the noise.

Overall, not the best hostel we stayed at but a decent value for the area. We would recommend staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We loved Mendoza and also loved Hostel Alamo. We stayed in room #4 which was small but quiet (even though just off the kitchen). The hostel is very well organized (one of the best we've stayed in thus far!) and if there are any suggestions it might be to add another stove as many of the hostel clientele tend to cook in for dinner.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Store some food in containers - or the fridge - so you can supplement the breakfast provided and/or make your own lunch and dinner. There are rooms for couples; singles; boys; girls and other mixes. Very clean and most guests abide by the courtesy for each other rules. Half a block from one of the 4 smaller squares around plaza independencia but well within reach of everything you may need for a wonderful stay in the fabulous wine region of Mendoza.

Room Tip: Not advisable to be too close to the stair well - the sound travels up it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingermegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I highly recommend Hostel Alamo. Great prices, location, super helpful staff, good breakfast and well-equipped kitchen.

The rooms are charming with fans, a/c, cable television and wifi in the rooms (a tad weak though, and not available in some).

Rooms are a tad dry, but this is Mendoza afterall.

Yes, stay at Hostel Alamo.

Room Tip: A room on the street can be a bit noisy, but it doesnẗ stay that way all night long. The Garden View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank china99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Spacious accommodations moderately priced from large garden ensuite rooms to those in main building, including dormitories with baths adjacent. Large double common room and dining/breakfast room over looking the garden with small pool and terrace seating adjacent garden rooms. Good kitchen facilities. Excellent Wifi connection with three servers available. The door is gated, controlled from reception, and can be accessed only by a bell. The manager Max is friendly, very helpful and speaks excellent English, the same being true of the other, female manager in attendance in reception. Both will happily arrange tours and answer all questions about Mendoza and Cuyo. The house cat "Mosca" charms everyone. There is an ATM on the near corner, a Carrefour supermercado in the same block, and the Italian Embassy is at the other corner across from Plaza Chile. Mendoza is a lovely cool oasis of parks, plazas and shade trees in the desert. this is my second trip to Mendoza in four years and my second stay at The Alamo. I would stay nowhere else in Mendoza. Easy booking available through usual hostel sites. You will enjoy your stay here, remembering fondly The Alamo

Room Tip: My choice is one of the garden rooms in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This hostel has it all.
Our room (private double with ensuite bathroom) was *huge*, with a very confortable bed, beautiful tiled bathroom, A/C, high ceilings, lots of natural light, lots of storage space, etc.

The common areas are inviting and practical, the kitchen is well equipped, the breakfast is very nice, there is free wifi everywhere and the staff is incredibly friendly.

The beautiful garden and the small pool add a special touch that makes this place perfect.
I highly recommand it.

Tip: Ask the staff about the tours they can book for you. They know the best companies and will arrange the whole thing, with pick-up and drop-off at the hostel. They booked a wine tour for us and a trip to the thermal waters in the Andes. We paid directly to the front desk and everything went according to plan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotteuseMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.9 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#3 of 176 in Mendoza
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Estacion Mendoza
Hostel Estacion Mendoza
#17 of 176 in Mendoza
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#4 of 176 in Mendoza
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#1 of 176 in Mendoza
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jaquemate Hostel
Jaquemate Hostel
#18 of 176 in Mendoza
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel de los Artistas
Hostel de los Artistas
#11 of 176 in Mendoza
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Alamo

Address: Calle Gral Mariano Necochea 740, Mendoza M5500GLP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $12 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Hostel...Bienvenidos! Hostel Alamo is among the most recent additions to Mendoza's hostel circuit. Once a family residence, we have renovated this beautiful and spacious home into a modern 14-bedroom hostel, while maintaining the integrity and charm of its original colonial style.The house was built in 1944 by the late architect Daniel Ramos Correa, who has made many significant architectural contributions to Mendoza, including participation in the city's main square, Plaza Independencia, and the Frank Romero Day Ampitheater, where the National Grape Harvest (Vendimia) Celebration is held annually. The lovely enclosed garden, terraces, fireplaces, and numerous windows throughout help to create the positive and cozy environment that is Hostel Alamo. Ideal Location...Hostel Alamo is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Mendoza, just a few blocks away from the main shopping and dining district. Literally just around the corner you’ll find one of the city’s newest and finest supermarkets, a bank, an internet and telephone cafe, a laundry facility, souvenir shops, kiosks, and a gas station, just to name a few.By car, we are merely 10 minutes from el Parque San Martín, 15 minutes from the bus terminal and 25 minutes from Mendoza’s Francisco Gabrielli Airport (better known as El Plumerillo).Our Mission...Hostel Alamo is owner-operated and together with our bilingual team, we strive to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer service with a personal touch.We make every effort to maintain a clean, comfortable, and relaxing atmosphere where our guests will always feel welcome and safe. Join us!...We hope you'll stay with us as you discover the natural wonders of Mendoza, Argentina and the rich culture of her people. Whether you wish to taste a typical Mendocinian Malbec during a tour of one of the city’s numerous bodegas, or spend the day in the mountains skiing or hiking, it would be our pleasure to arrange any excursion for you right here at Hostel Alamo.Or if you prefer, relax in our garden while you read a book and soak in some Argentinean sun, prepare an elaborate meal in our kitchen, or just stretch out on our sofa and enjoy a movie from our international DVD collection. However you plan to enjoy yourself in Mendoza, we hope you’ll allow Hostel Alamo to be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing