We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So happy to leave” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Damajuana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Damajuana Hostel
Ranked #39 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So happy to leave”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

After hearing good things about this hostel from friends that had stayed here previously and from reading the mostly positive reviews I was expecting good things from Damajuana but it didn't live up to expectations. The dorm was like a cell in the basement with windows that looked on to the street which meant it was very noisey...the locals also used the window as a toilet in the early hours...The toilet broke on the first day and the staff never tried to fix it. The other toilets in the basement also didn't work very often. The cold water stopped working so could only have scalding showers...again staff never fixed it or offered a discount. The mattresses were ripped, the sheets dirty and the pillows harder than a plank of wood. We tried the bbq one day but despite being told it would start at 9.30 - it was after 11 before we got our first piece of meat. Only good think about the hostel is the green space at the back - stay somewhere else!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldweary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamajuanaHostel, Booking Manager at Damajuana Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Really sorry to hear your experience at Damajuana didn't meet your expectacions.
Fortunately, we are going through a lot of mantenaince work to improve our service quality. I offer you my apologies for not being treated as what you (all our guests) deserve.
In addition, argentines are never on time specially for asados. So, we gather together around 9.30 and chat a little bit before starting to eat - but again, my apologies if this wasn't mentioned before you bought the asado.
Really hope you can come back some other time and give us the opportunity to make you change your mind about the hostel!
Best regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    28
    14
    21
See reviews for
4
15
60
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

One if the best hostels we have stayed in to date. After checking into a not so nice hostel, we scoured the streets of Mendoza before coming across this gem.

Great location in the area of Mendoza where all the bars and restaurants are located.

Fab swimming pool and gardens as well as chill out lounge.

Staff very helpful too.

Dorm bedrooms a little too cramped and not enough bathrooms for the hostel. Bathrooms also are outdated in comparison to the rest of the hostel and need to be cleaned more regularly. Wifi is also needs to be improved.

Decent kitchen and fab asado area. A good place to meet people and have a good time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamajuanaHostel, Booking Manager at Damajuana Hostel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback!
Glad to hear your stay was so enjoyable.
Hope you can visit us again!
Regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

The amazing swimming pool is the standout feature here, and the gorgeous gardens have lots of grass to lay about and soak up the sun (and let's be honest, when you're so close to the vineyards and amongst the bars, it's nice to have a hostel you can hang out at while you recover from the inevitable hangovers). Lots of loungy space inside with a TV too. The rooms are lovely, mattresses are a bit soft but I guess that depends on what you like! The rooms all have balconies and ceiling fans, and large private bathrooms with full size baths. They also have large lockers (bring your own padlock), however the one I got was super humid and I had to wash all my clothes after I left as they got a bit moldy and smelly. Seriously gross! Don't bother asking the staff about the tours, they only want to push their own and can't even tell you how to make your way to the vineyards without being on an organized tour. Surely not a difficult question? Instead, head to the main street next to the plaza as there are heaps of tour operators there. There is one computer which is free to use, and free wifi which works near reception only. The kitchen is tiny and badly equipped so there is no cooking that can be done, but the attached restaurant/bar has the best salads ever so there's no real need to cook! The location really can't be beat. So even though this hostel is a bit of a mixed bag, we stayed here a week and would have no hesitations staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachesandcream81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamajuanaHostel, Booking Manager at Damajuana Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments.

Sorry our staff didn't provide the information you were looking for. However, I'm quite sure it was just a misunderstanding since -as you could see from other reviews- they are always trying to going out of their ways to assist our guests.

Glad to hear you enjoyed our common areas, swimming pool and meals!

Kind regards,

Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

best hostel i´ve ever been,more like living in a villa with a nice garden area and a pool...very clean rooms and a very helpful staff + great breakfast...really central in a nice area with lots of good pubs and restaurants

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tino2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamajuanaHostel, Booking Manager at Damajuana Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback!
Hope you can visit us some other time.
Regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Brilliantly brilliant with a touch of brilliance! If you want to have fun, eat good food and enjoy life, you got to stay here. I nay managed one night as I was on business, so happy I stayed here rather than some sterile hotel.
You'll love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamajuanaHostel, Booking Manager at Damajuana Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback!
Hope you can visit us some other time.
Regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Overall I would say this is a great hostel to stay at in Mendoza.
- The common areas are fantastic..there is a spacious living room with a decent sized TV, a swimming pool, 2 computers with decent internet connection and every week Damajuana host their famous 'ASADOS' which are to die for!
- Staff are friendly and if you ask will even take you out to the night life hotspots of Mendoza
- The dorms are standard but clean with lockers available (bring your own Padlock) and if you're a fan of hot showers then this is definitely the place for you!
- In terms of location, they are based on a street full of restaurants, bars and clubs with a variety of themes to fit your mood set
- There are also a variety of trips offered from the hostel (I would recommend doing the biked wine tour - It's a must do in Mendoza)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamajuanaHostel, Booking Manager at Damajuana Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback!
Hope you can visit us some other time.
Regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

thanks to all in Damajuana!!!! we had a great stay in this hostel! great common areas, great pool, and great ASADOS!!!! BBQ are the best there, every monday and friday, and then a party in differents bars or discos!!!
Highlights are the conection with itaka hostel, cause they have pool table, and FREE wine yes, free wine every other day for us!!!!

Defenitvley Ill be back soon guys, keep my bed reserved for me!!! hahaha

see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabooos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamajuanaHostel, Booking Manager at Damajuana Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback!
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can visit us again soon!
Regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.0 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#14 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Itaka Hostel
Itaka Hostel
#111 of 178 in Mendoza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savigliano International Hostel Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#5 of 178 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Pueblo Hostel
Casa Pueblo Hostel
#25 of 178 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel International Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damajuana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damajuana Hostel

Property: Damajuana Hostel
Address: Avenida Aristides Villanueva 282, Mendoza M5502ITP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Damajuana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Damajuana Hostel is located in the middle of Arístides Villanueva Street, one of the main avenues of Mendoza. This avenue is crowded of bars and restaurants what it makes it the chosen one every day by young people who likes to go out with friends and have fun. Stay in Damajuana means sleep in a paradise in the middle of the city. The big backyard and an extraordinary swimming pool will make you enjoy your staying along the four seasons. The hostel has all the facilities that you need to make your staying unforgettable. Every Monday and Friday you will enjoy barbecues and parties... And if you want more you can continue the party and fun at the PH restaurant bar. Also you will get benefits in many different stores in Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Damajuana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing