We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel we stayed in in SA”
Review of Hostel Lao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Lao
Ranked #7 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hostel we stayed in in SA”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great Hostel, very close to the bus station and within walking distance to the main squares and park! Great suggestions board and very helpful staff to answer any questions, we booked paragliding and the obligatory vineyards bike tour - Both were excellent and well recommended! Also the pool is an awesome perk... Its sooooo hot wandering around the town and vineyards and perfect for a quick dip when you arrive back!

Room Tip: The rooms out the back, there are two with a shared bathroom, are great and very quiet. Unfortunatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    72
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
161
68
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spend 3 nights at this hostel with my gf and a friend in a dorm for 4 persons. In one sentence: It was a delight to be at this hostel, it is definitely the best hostel I have been in Argentina. The people of the hostel (owners, workers and the 2 dogs!) here were so helpful and nice with us. You can notice that the owners do not run it only for money, but also because they love to run a hostel. The hostel s extremely clean, the dorms, the common room but also the bathrooms. The drinks they sell are practically at supermarket prices. The only bad thing I can say is that the dorms have no closet to use with a padlock, at least not a good one. They have also on well working PC with fast internet. The swimming pool is rather small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parana, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for a Holy Week break and there's absolutely nothing to complain about Lao.
To begin with, Mike, Celeste, and the bilingual speaking staff make you feel very comfie, just like home or even better. They can arrange tours and activities for you and they also recommend bars and restaurants that aren't necessarily touristy, so you can count on honest information which is a big plus.
The facilities were clean, not overdone with the typical hostel imagery, thus giving it an original touch, and there was a friendly atmosphere among all the travellers staying. In particular, our room also included air conditioning.

In summer you can swim in the pool, conveniently placed in the beautiful backyard where you can have well priced beer or free wine from 8pm.
Another plus is self service breakfast included in the price, with coffee, tea, croissants, fruits, jam, etc.

If you ever go to Mendoza, our recommendation is definitely Hostel Lao.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantiagoM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We immediately felt very comfortable when we arrived at Hostel Lao. It's got a lovely, relaxed vibe and (when we were there for four nights) it was very sociable. It's quite small so you get to know most people staying there over the free wine given out in the evenings and in the homely living areas. Subsequently you feel very safe and this is also helped by all visitors being buzzed in and out and lockers. The staff were very helpful and the hostel was very clean. Last, but definitely not least, the breakfast was both served ALL morning (great for us tired travelers!) and delicious: such a treat to include home-made/home-grown produce when in season!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footsteps196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucon, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I need not say anymore...but I will, because Hostel Lao deserves all the praise it's getting. From the minute we arrived, we encountered a friendly and sociable atmosphere and people really use the lovely communal spaces. We had an amazing asado one evening, which, with the great guests, staff and free wine, helped to make the atmosphere really special.

When it comes to staff, nothing was too much trouble. We were given all the information and recommendations we needed to make our stay in Mendoza incredible and they were happy to book everything from tours to taxis.

The hostel is extremely clean and the beds very comfy. We stayed in the dorm rooms until the double pool room became available and both are great. Travelling as a couple the pool room with shared bathroom is perfect, but I would book early here as it was always full.

Can't thank Mike, Celeste, Francisco and the team here enough for a great stay in Mendoza.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

... Say the certificates on the wall. And you can see why. You really don't need to go any further. We stayed in 'tango' private room which was beyond expectations. The staff really are the best. There is an extraordinarily friendly and sociable atmos, the brekkie is good, the adopted street dogs are lovable, the outdoor bbq courtyard area is just perfect and the sensible and knowledgable advice you get about trips, activities and eateries is spot on. the English/Arg couple that run it have created a really special space and I feel privileged to have spent a few days there. I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairb3ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have virtually no experience with hostels, I tend to B&B or hotel, but traveling with my backpacking niece - what the heck. Well, did I get a lesson!

My niece and I stayed at Lao for our few days in Mendoza in early March 2013, it was a lovely space, and relaxed but completely focused on the keeping things moving smoothly and the guests satisfied. Pretty well all of the people/guests there were lovely.

On arrival we asked for the big single bed in our room be switched to two twin beds and boom, happened like a flash.
While we were waiting (it didn't take long), Mike gave us a rapid fire appreciation for just how fantastic Mendoza could be - and was for him, tuned us up for doing a bodega tour by bike and gave us the low down on the highlighted to-do suggestions they had posted, including The Vines, an amazing tasting place.

Everything they suggested turned out well - the recommendation for Mendoza Winecamp's tour to Uco, the trip up to the Andes, the bike company to use, everything, they even helped us out with a local bus pass (and directions) so we didn't have to look for change (hard to come by small coins).

When we were back at the hostel we tended to see and draw on the considerable expertise (and enthusiasm) of Francesco. He was terrific, quick to grasp what we were asking for, pragmatic, focused and down right friendly. One evening I was just sitting around the pool while he was cleaning it and he chatted away so easily and nicely. Another time as a number of people were sitting around, relaxing with a glass of wine - a professional magician staying there did wondrous card tricks - Francesco, eating his dinner, offered me some of his mother's empanada - so relaxed and natural.

One morning there was a bunch of very rowdy guys who had stumbled in from a hard night of drinking and starting to cause trouble and not be respectful. The gal on shift put up with none of their guff and was really impressive quietly and firmly kicking them out - a real testimonial to how focused they are on the comfort of their guests.

Our room was a good size, had a nice en suite washroom and the added touch of a clothes line/open cupboard line with hangers. This line was fantastic, place to hang clothes, dry them and towels - kept things tidy. The beds were comfortable, the towels were clean and fresh, we also got a hand towel, there was liquid soap at the sink - very welcome and garbage cleared daily. The whole place was very well cared for. I got some laundry done, it was done well and at a reasonable price.
The breakfast spoiled me for other hostels because it had a bit more range than others - including different bread & rolls, nice jams, and hurrah - fruit! And as for the community fridge, a nice touch is they have a magic marker available to tag the bag - smart!

The people keeping Lao going take their jobs seriously, they were always involved and aware, and even on the late night/early morning shift Maurizio was available, alert and getting things done. I asked him to get us a taxi for 6.35am and it arrived on the dot!

I feel the people at Lao really do want their guests to feel at home, to have the best possible time and experience. My time there makes me think completely differently about what I thought hostels were all about; I really enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Just tell the people what you are looking for and they'll do their very best to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary_479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.8 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#1 of 167 in Mendoza
380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#2 of 167 in Mendoza
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#4 of 167 in Mendoza
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Alamo
Hostel Alamo
#8 of 167 in Mendoza
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Estacion Mendoza
Hostel Estacion Mendoza
#32 of 167 in Mendoza
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Pueblo Hostel
Casa Pueblo Hostel
#31 of 167 in Mendoza
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lao

Property: Hostel Lao
Address: Calle Provincia de La Rioja 771, Mendoza M5500ALO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Lao is like a good friend's house where you can relax and meet people. Owned and run in a different style by English-Argentine travelers. For 5 years we have been welcoming travelers to stay with us, enjoy our home and see a more Mendozan side to the city. With just 24 beds to keep things friendly, chilled and clean; Lao is a traveler's oasis in the middle of a great city. A social, lively home, NOT a party hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing