We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review - long time coming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Lao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Lao
Ranked #4 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Review - long time coming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

It has been 3 years since I visited the hostel but I really can't say enough about the staff and owners. There is hardly a month that goes by that I don't think of this place and the people I met here.

This is NOT a party hostel, but it is a very SOCIAL hostel with plenty of good people, good food, and lots of wine. Good things will happen here on a regular basis. Thankfully, the owners don't put up with BS and if you have a good attitude the treatment goes well beyond excellent customer service.

There are dogs on the premises but they were so well behaved and everybody loved them!

Mike & Celeste, we love you guys! Cheers, from Bruce, Vicky & Jack!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    72
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
159
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This place has a beautiful inner courtyard garden - with a palo borracho tree that hummingbirds love. Lovely outdoor beds/hammocks to lie about in, very nice breakfast, and tiny but beautifully decorated rooms.  They also helped us with bike hire to the wineries and have free wine at 8pm - mmm. Only complaint was that one night people were talking and drinking in the courtyard til 5am, but I just put some earplugs in. Lovely place and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HesterPlumridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Such a wonderful place to stay. Rooms and clean and comfortable, the garden is lovely and includes a pool and everyone there is lovely - staff and guests. It's right round the corner from the bus station too. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you for everything Celeste and Mike!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EloAbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 2011 (it won't let me put that far back on the review) while we were travelling the world. We knew we wanted to spend a few days in Mendoza and this hostel was recommended to us by a friend who was there over Xmas 2010.

We initially booked for 4 nights, but ended up staying for 9. The staff are great - Mike especially loved it if you get an Oasis sing-song going..., the place is immaculate, and they have twice weekly BBQ's and free wine every night (apart from one or 2 i think...)

It was my birthday while we were there and I got happy birthday sang to me in 8 different languages from the 20+ people staying there at the time and we ate, drank and sang into the early hours.

They also help arrange the best wine tours in mendoza, so make sure you ask them about it when you get there.

We stayed in 20+ hostels in South America and this was the best. If you're thinking of going to mendoza, you must stay here.

Room Tip: We had the private room at the front of the property as we were a couple. It comes with an en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heggers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

One of the best hostels we stayed it! The owners are so nice and they have a board which they write on that tells you whats on everyday and gives suggestions! This would scope our day perfectly! The rooms are amazing and the vibe is great! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtrip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in Dec during our month in South America. One of the best places we stayed on our trip!

We were warmly welcomed (after an 18 hour overnight bus ride) with coffee, cake and fruit, and a thorough run down on what to do in the area.

The hostel was always clean, felt secure and homely and we loved the outdoor area with plunge pool, hammocks and asado. Mike and Celeste (and all the other staff) were super helpful with suggestions of what to do and where to eat around Mendoza. We genuinely felt like we were staying with friends.

Each evening a large bottle of wine was put out for guests to enjoy and we spent the warm evenings outside, drinking wine, listening to good music and having a laugh.

This isn't a party hostel but has a lovely, relaxing vibe. The breakfast was simple but good, the communal kitchen was well equipped (and the bonus of having the BBQ to use!)

I wish we could have stayed for Christmas, as they were putting on a traditional celebration. Maybe next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

So excellent we stayed here three times in the space of 10 days. Mike & Celeste and the rest of the team are great.

It's hard to sing the praises of this hostel without repeating all of the previous posts.

The highlights are:

It's very clean and the room gets made up each day.
Wifi is good.
There is a lovely garden with seating and lounging areas as well as a small pool.
Free red wine in the evening.
Free (and more importantly good) advice from whichever member of the team is on reception.
Lots of like minded travellers staying here which made for great conversation and information sharing about our respective trips.
Basic tasty breakfast
Only a 5-10 minute walk to the bus terminal

The lowlights:
None

Highly recommend this hostel, definitely one of if not the best hostel we've stayed in on our travels through South America.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is a double or twin on request and has a private bathroom and AC. Do not be put off by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.9 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#14 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#1 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lao

Property: Hostel Lao
Address: Calle Provincia de La Rioja 771, Mendoza M5500ALO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Lao is like a good friend's house where you can relax and meet people. Owned and run in a different style by English-Argentine travelers. For 5 years we have been welcoming travelers to stay with us, enjoy our home and see a more Mendozan side to the city. With just 24 beds to keep things friendly, chilled and clean; Lao is a traveler's oasis in the middle of a great city. A social, lively home, NOT a party hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing