We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing positive about this hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punto Urbano Hostel
Ranked #57 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We had to stay here for 2 nights as Mendoza was incredibly busy due to a holiday in Chile.

The staff were not friendly, almost to the point of rude to us because we didn't speak Spanish. They didn't have the room we booked. No towels. The room and bathrooms were dirty. There were cigarette butts in the shower.

Location was quite far out of the centre. Wifi was slow.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caiti82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Punto Urbano Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in the hostel for 1 night in May 2012, and wished we had stayed longer.

The hostel was in a good location, very close to the center and supermarkets. The staff were extremely helpful, showed us a couple of rooms and let us have a four bed dorm to ourselves. They also gave us safety tips.

The room we had was quiet, as was the whole hostel. There wasn't much of an atmosphere at the time, probably because it was low season. Saying that, this was the best night's sleep we had for a long time in a hostel in Argentina.

The kitchen was huge, and there was a nice garden at the back of the hostel. WiFi worked fine.

The rooms and showers were clean.

Although the hostel was pretty basic and plain (which is what youth hostels are traditionally like) and perhaps a little dated, it had all we needed and was great value for us as backpackers (especially in Mendoza). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We went for a room facing away from the street and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed a few nights because our room was nice and clean and the hostel is centrally located. The place it self is not that up to date, old kitchen, wifi not working every were and to bad that they don't do more with the big garden. Staff was helpful and friendly all in all we had a good stay at Punto Urbano.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAKPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Run down hostel. Room dim and smelling of cigarettes and ashtrays. Breakfast was stale bread and bad coffee. The hotel locstion was pretty far from the main area of town,But the desk was helpful and there was wifi we used.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamKathS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We found the hostel to be quiet and clean, with nice spacious dining area, lounge and kitchen as well as computer roon. It is located close to the major attractions in downtown Mendoza. Neighbourhood is safe and provides all amenities. Staff speak English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I visited Punto Urbano in August 2010 and was planning to stay for 3 days but only stayed for one day. The hostel has a good location but the same cannot be said of the rooms. The rooms are very small with bathrooms down the corridor. The first room offered to us was right at the entrance of the corridor and the host insisted we wouldn't be troubled by the noise but I couldn't sleep a wink. We then changed rooms but the second room had no TV and the bathroom was not connected which I don't mind. However, the corridor lights did not work and the hotel was very dark so I had to walk to the bathroom in complete darkness and grope in the dark to find the keyhole to the bathroom door. The breakfast was very bad with stale croissants and coffee. Also, there is no wi-fi in the rooms despite what the host says.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed in this hostel for 3 nights in october 2009. The room was clean and comfortable and the hostel is centrally located and close to many bars and restaurants. There was a garden at the back of the building that guests could use and a communal kitchen although we did not use this as there are so many good restaurants in Mendoza. There was free internet available 24hrs and breaskfast of pastries and tea/coffee was included in the cost of the room. What really made this place stand out for us was the hospitality of the owners who were really friendly and helpful (and Lucky, the dog). We also booked the Alta Montana trip through the hostel which was great. We had delicious meals in La Barra, Anna Bistro, Tasca la plaza, and the excellent Azafran.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.1 mi away
Hostel Mendoza Inn
Hostel Mendoza Inn
#31 of 170 in Mendoza
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jaquemate Hostel
Jaquemate Hostel
#17 of 170 in Mendoza
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#7 of 170 in Mendoza
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Estacion Mendoza
Hostel Estacion Mendoza
#22 of 170 in Mendoza
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#2 of 170 in Mendoza
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#1 of 170 in Mendoza
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punto Urbano Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punto Urbano Hostel

Address: Avenida Dr Tomas Godoy Cruz 326, Mendoza M5500GOQ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: $12 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we have been offering our guests the very best out of our existing services: generous breakfast (includes pancakes, scrambled eggs, cereals, fruits, bakeries, tortitas mendocinas, drinks.), free Malbec wine happy hour every night, washing machine and laundry services, several bathrooms, internet wifi, outdoor facilities (ping pong table , BBQ grill). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Punto Urbano Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing