We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place, decent staff, decent experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Itaka Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Itaka Hostel
Ranked #106 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent place, decent staff, decent experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mendoza es linda! But this hostel is just OK. The staff was nice at first, but annoyed with any requests after check-in. They didn't tell us that there was a party of 30+ teenage Argentines staying with them when a friend and I checked into the last available beds, and that didn't make our first few nights very hospitable, but there are so many travelers in Mendoza that it's easy to branch out - and they did allow me to bring some friends to their free wine night, so that was a bonus.

Room Tip: Avoid the big room if you can - it's like military barracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfunkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience here.
We've made some changes in the hostel rules regarding "quite hours" policy but please, keep in mind we're located right in the heart of Mendoza's nightilfe so this hostel sometimes might turn into a "party hostel" specially in peek season.
But again, is our responsability to make sure our guests can rest properly. Therefore, we offer our apologies.
Hope you can come back to Mendoza sometime so you could give us the opportunity to make you change your mind.
Regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    26
    27
    25
See reviews for
8
49
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I am currently traveling back home, thinking that the only thing that could have improved about my entire vacation in Mendoza, was the place where I stayed.

The managers, cleaning staff, and breakfast workers were all very friendly, and we especially want to thank their waiters at their bar. However, three out of four receptionists were very rude, lazy, and seemed as if youtube was more important than the clients. Nico was the only helpful person there, the rest of the receptionists were all there as if someone was forcing them to work. Other than that, they have a weird way of giving prices, where the shared rooms cost the same as the private ones.


And yes, don't plan on sleeping... the music goes on for hours.

I wish they would have had rooms at Damajuana.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlRamirezChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We're sorry to hear some of the recepcionists were not polite during your stay.
As we're always trying to improve our quality service, we would like to tell you some important changes had been made and those workers who didn't meet the hostel requierements are longer part of the staff.
Hopefully, you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to treat you with the hospitality you deserve.
Kind regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We took a week to do remote working from Mendoza and the hostel was great for that, we booked a room for us with a shared bathroom that was allways clean and the internet connection was great, the common area is not the best for working but it was good enough (wifi didn't reach the backyard). Staff is nice and they can organize many activities for you.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krusty_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por dejarnos tu opinión!
Nos alegra saber que disfrutaste tu estadía en el hostel.
Ojalá puedas volver pronto!
Saludos,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a nice stay at this fine hostel! especially the friendly and helpfull people of the hostel made the stay very enjoyable i had a great time thank you all!! I stayed for five days and i could easily stayed longer..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sa_d_KVoorburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Hope you can visit us again!
Regards,
Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Starting with the good. Clean. Staff are very friendly. Occasionally a little forgetful. Lovely cafe attached to hostel, good coffee. Nice warm reception. Decent common area. Apparently free wine, we weren't there for. Now for the let down. Our private room for the 1st night, the heating was out of order (no apology or even warning about this at check in) & we were freezing! We extended our stay & had to move rooms. The gas heater in the 2nd room stank of fumes. Overwhelming when door & windows were shut so we had to leave the window open all night, as a result all the heat escaped! Kitchen is outside beside the pool, not ideal when cold. Unlimited pizza night was not worth the money. We didn't even eat half a pizza as it was disgusting. Overall ok place to stay in Mendoza. But I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzgelo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

I'm really sorry to hear you had a bad time in our hostel, but we appreciate your comments since we're always looking forward to improving.

All our heaters are currently working and we keep hearing good things about our pizzas!

Hope you can visit us some other time so you could change your mind about the hostel.

Regards,

Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Our room was all right and the ensuite bathroom as well. The mattresse was saggy and uncomfortable. The staff was nice, we enjoyed the horsebackriding-trip, they recommended very much.
But it really was the worst breakfast ever. The bread was old, hard and dry, from the day before and the coffee was horrible.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We're really sorry to hear you had a bad experience in our hostel.

However, we've recently improved our breakfast quality and got new matresses!

We hope you can visit us some other time and we can make you change your mind about Itaka.

Regards,

Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendoza hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for three days recently, and left more exhausted than when we got here. Unfortunately we were there over Easter weekend, so every hostel in town was booked and we couldn't relocate. It's also quite possible that another weekend when there are less guests this place has a completely different vibe.

The staff downstairs is very friendly, and they were very organized about our reservation and explaining all the services. They all spoke at least some English. The common areas were clean, there was a working pool table. Outside was a large patio area with a pool, though it was too cold to swim. The kitchen past the pool was very large and clean (make sure to bring your own matches as they didn't have any for the stove).

We stayed in the matrimonial room and it had a temporary door (they seem to be doing construction on an upstairs patio). The window shutter wouldn't open, which made the room very hot during the day and gave it a bit of a prison feeling. The bed was ok but the bathroom was clean and had all the amenities including full shower and lots of hot water.

The problem was during the evening, when we tried to sleep. Outside there are very large speakers that blasted music, and the other hostelers sang along to loudly. Inside the noise from the pool table and guests yelling echoed up the stairs. Finally, the restaurant attached to the hostel would blast loud rock music every morning staring around 6:30 or 7.

The breakfast was of poor quality, though larger than other hostels. It included cereal with yogurt/milk, coffee, juice (which was super bitter) and bread (which was super salty). Still it was free breakfast.

If you're planning to stay up late and party, this is a great hostel that it is well located on the main street of bars and night spots. However, if you're looking for a "laid back hostel" like a previous review mentioned, this is not for you (nor was it for us).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voland2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

I'm really sorry to hear you didn't have a good time trying to rest in our hostel.

We've new and stronger policies in what concerns to the use pool table and common areas in general: Guests can remain in the common areas until 1 AM and the pool table is available from 10 AM til 1 AM.

Although we reckon it's our responsiblity to keep the noise down, please keep in mind we're located right in the heart of Mendoza's nightlife - so at least a little bit of noise (specially having oour own bar attached) is expectable.

Hope you have enjoyed Mendoza and do not hesitate to write us back if there's anything we could do for you.

Kind regards,

Natalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Damajuana Hostel
Damajuana Hostel
#43 of 177 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Savigliano International Hostel Mendoza
2.0 mi away
Casa Pueblo Hostel
Casa Pueblo Hostel
#34 of 177 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#6 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostel Lagares
Hostel Lagares
#2 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mi Casa
Mi Casa
#14 of 97 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itaka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaka Hostel

Property: Itaka Hostel
Address: Avenida Aristides Villanueva 480, Mendoza M5502ITR, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaka Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Itaka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing