We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Rioja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pircas Negras
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Rioja
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ok hotel”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Good hotel for the area. Very well attended. Will return if I visit the region again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caicapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    47
    44
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
48
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

On our way from the Agua Negra Pass towards the San Francisco Pass, we found the hotel Pircas Negras pleasant enough to spend three nights there. The bedrooms have ample space and airconditioning, the bathrooms are comfortable and some rooms have large balconies overlooking the pool, which, however is not very clean. Wifi worked very well and breakfast offered a good selection by South American standards. We didn’t have dinner at the restaurant and preferred to go to the Talampaya Hotel (which belongs to the same owner) for a romantic dinner under the stars. We also tried the Palmera which reminded me of Route 66 in Arizona, pleasant, good service and atmosphere. I found it rather unique that beer is served in one litre bottles placed in an ice bucket.
Villa Union is ideal for visits to Talampaya National Park were we did a 4 hour guided walking tour through the canyons and even saw condors in their nests. What an awesome experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Pircas Negras Hotel, in Villa Union, is simple but have some style. Rooms are clean, with air coinditioning and also a fan in the roof that can make the job. As it is very hot and dry in the neigbourhood, you can refresh yourself in the pool. There is also a good restaurant with great food,
"chorizo" for the meat lovers and nice pasta for the others.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a window, other rooms have a door tho the patio or to a balcony (if it is on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
349 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Not a bad place but our room was a bit worn. Staff was friendly and breakfast OK (for argentine standards).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

On the up side the hotel is adequate and the only other major hotel in the area is under the same management, the hotel also boasts a swimming pool .
Comfy beds, decent air conditioning, plenty of hot water and adequate restaurant make the stay bearable,
The shame of it is that if the worn out elements of the furnishings where replaced (torn curtains, rotting garden chairs......) and the place was given a thorough clean (clean to shoulder height and not quite so clean above that line) and maybe a little more enthusiasm from some of the staff, then maybe this hotel would feel a bit more like its star rating.
Note no wifi or internet access on offer to guests.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullach im Isartal, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

The surroundings of Pircas Negras are marvelous. Mountains all over and a very quite small town of Villa Union made our experience unique.
The hotel itself is very nice and clean. Simple rooms, no luxury but a fantastic attention !
It is worth to mention the restaurant La Ramada (inside the hotel): Great food, great service and very good wine

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Carlos_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My mother, sister, husband and I stayed here on our trip to San Juan and Talampaya Canyon. We were pleasantly surprised when we got to the hotel, located on the road near Villa Unión. The architecture is reminiscent of ancient dwellings, the colour of the red Talampaya soil, and it is surrounded by old vineyards. We got two rooms on the first floor (no elevator), which shared a huge terrace looking on to the mountains and the vineyards. We enjoyed the sunset sitting on the bench in the terrace.
The rooms were unusually large, the central heating in winter was excellent and the bathroom had all the modern conveniences. We were not expecting to find this degree of comfort in the middle of nowhere, so we enjoyed the wide corridors with large windows, the lounge, the surroundings. Unfortunately, it was winter so we couldn't enjoy the swimming pool.
We had dinner at the hotel and found the food reasonably good and the waiters young and professional. However, they must be having supply difficulties, since they had run out of all desserts except some local peaches in syrup.
Breakfast was adequate, but could be improved
If you are touring the Talampaya area, you should make it a point to spend at least a night at this hotel.

  • Liked — Setting and comfortable bedrooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argentine-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rioja hotels
1.9 mi away
Naindo Park Hotel
Naindo Park Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Rioja
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pucara
Hotel Pucara
#4 of 7 in La Rioja
53 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel del Sol
Hostel del Sol
#10 of 19 in La Rioja
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Avenida
Avenida
#7 of 14 in La Rioja
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gute Nacht Hostel
Gute Nacht Hostel
#7 of 19 in La Rioja
4 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vincent Apart Hotel
Vincent Apart Hotel
#6 of 14 in La Rioja
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pircas Negras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pircas Negras

Property: Hotel Pircas Negras
Address: Villa Union, La Rioja, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of La Rioja > La Rioja
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Rioja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing