We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”
Review of Garbo Resto

Garbo Resto
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

We went there for dinner based on the reviews. I really don’t understand why this place would receive anything higher than three stars. Our experience was terrible. We were the first guests to arrive for dinner. We were welcomed warmly and found the place elegant and appealing. It all went down hill from there. It took 50 minutes for our food to arrive. That is unacceptable. More so if there are small children and you order their food first. My daughter ordered milanesa. I’m no chef and I can have it done in a few minutes. We didn’t even get an apology for the ridiculous delay. They were out of chicken, spinach and quite a few other ingredients. I understand it was right after Christmas but that left us with few options to choose from so you’d imagine that they would’ve made an extra effort not only to bring out the food in a timely manner but to cook it with more zeal. The food was bland at best. The gnocchi al pesto had no sauce and the fettuccini al estofado not only was insipid but had big chunks of onion and undercooked carrots. A real shame as the decoration was lovely.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sancurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 245 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018

Seafood casuela: mostly consisted of a certain type of shell fish that was not cleaned propely (or at all) and was full of sand and debris, and so was the entire plate. Simply they don't know how to handle seafood.
Tried also the sorrentinos with salmon, luckily didn't order (the extra charged) sauce as judging by the rest would have been...
pasta was bland and inside there was nothing but dry salmon. accompanying cheese was an unidentified cheap supermarket grade cheese.
child's milanesa+fries was the first time kid said he didn't like the milanesa (so at least we had something to eat) and the fries were of the kind that is raw inside and leaking yellowish oil outside. we asked for paper towels to soak it.
waiter didn't seem to care that we left the seafood plate practically untouched.
NOT recommended.

oh, and very expensive.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank cashewfenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

We came for dinner on a Wednesday. The decor is subdued and the high back chairs show class. The whole place is clean and the food is well presented. We had sirloin that we shared. This is one of the few restaurants in Argentina where they bother to heat the plates. The toilets were incredibly clean and they even had sanitised gel to clean your hands.
Clearly a gem for Villa General BELGRANO.
Hopefully we'll visit again soon..

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Rattie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

On a hot summer day in Villa General Belgrano my wife and I stopped at Garbo for lunch. The menu was interesting and well priced but we decided to order the special of the day, which included a main, a drink and a coffee. My wife had ñoquis which were very tasty, served in a creamy white sauce topped with a bit of tomato sauce, what they call a mixed sauce. I had a chop suey that had some tasty grilled vegetables and some pieces of well grilled meat. The portions were reasonable and sufficient for us. The white wine that came with the food was good too, so was the coffee. The waitress was pleasant, and we had a relaxing time enjoying our lunch on the patio. The dining room looked very nice and inviting for a romantic dinner! Garbo is a worthwhile stop for either lunch or dinner in Villa General Belgrano.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philippe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbo Resto also viewed

Villa General Belgrano, Province of Cordoba
Villa General Belgrano, Province of Cordoba
 
Villa General Belgrano, Province of Cordoba
Villa General Belgrano, Province of Cordoba
 
Villa General Belgrano, Province of Cordoba
Villa General Belgrano, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Garbo Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing