We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best affordable steak ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Reviewed April 6, 2014

a great steak for the buck! 7 days a week, a 16 oz t-bone steak ,beans, coleslaw a biscuit (and add a baked potatoe for $2 more) .very tasty and only $11.95. yup pardner,i hate to fill the dining room,but it is true. ten miles west of i 17 on hwy 69.

Room Tip: sorry ,we didnt stay the night,but it did look inviting.if the rooms were as good as the food i woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times before.
THEN: The first two times it had a screened in porch, the fireplace was nice with a stone chimney. The continental breakfast had lots to offer with coffee, juice, pastries and microwave sandwiches. the restaurant had more to offer on the menu.

NOW: There was construction, we were notified before hand which was good. The room was ok. No screens on the porch, looked to be freshly painted. The fireplace was not as beautiful ad befoe, no decorative stones. The cabinets need to be refinished. The cracked tile by the jacuzzi was repaired with clear packing tape. Cobwebbs in the corners, ceiling fan was filthy dirty with a thick layer of dirt. The doors had sun light showing thru the cracks. The restaurant had a good deal on t bone steaks. French dup was loaded with meat. Good value there but wait staff was a bit aloof. I would like to see a better beer selection. The continental breakfast was a joke. Packaged muffins, sweet rolls and bagels. A bowl of apples, a few tea bags but no hot water. Coffee was made in a tiny coffee pot like the ones they had in the rooms...it was empty and no one came to service it duting the time we were there. So no coffee or juice. There was a pitcher of ice water. No napkins.

I did have a nice time and will probably vome back. They are pet friendly, bring your horse (s). There is a hiking trail that takes you to a vortex.. rooms have a microwave and small fridge so bring your own beer. A nice RUSTIC get away.
Online coupons are available for during the week.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Made reservations but had to cancel due to my 91 year old father being put in the hospital. They didn't care charged my credit card anyway. Will definitely not be going there ever. After reading the reviews really makes my mind up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank KRiegel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVenturist, Manager at Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2015

The reviewer admits that he never stayed at the Creekside. He agreed to the 72 hour no cancellation policy when he made his reservation, and then he demanded to cancel after the cancellation deadline had passed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were looking for a little rustic getaway..we entered our room and at first glance looked ok. Short version..we were killing roaches and spiders all night, a/c was rattling so loud we could not
sleep, light from cabin next door lit up our whole room, jacuzzi tub had cracks all around tile and smelled moldy, bottom of bed held up by bricks..I could keep going..we got NO sleep. We went to check out as soon as they opened. We had paid for 3 nights. Owner would not refund our night's stay, no apology, nothing! Stay away people! We left and stayed at the Jerome Grand Hotel and it was fabulous so trip was not a total loss!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SquishyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When arrived on the 4th we had to carry our entire car full of things down a steep hill from a parking lot. The path to the room is dark and we had already seen a snake. We had a flashlight that helped. The food was horrible they use packaged roast beef lunch meat for roast beef sand which. The staff in the restaurant was excellent and very helpful. When the chef was told about the meal she offered free breakfast. A gentleman in his 50's was great he had a great sense of humor as did the chef working during the day. The location sucks 30 miles from town no water in the creek NO WIFI in rooms. Breakfast that is complimentary is juice coffee bagel or cinnamon roll
You do get 2.00 of coupon each day. I would NOT stay here again the restaurant staff was the positive...oh yes as for pets the porch is screened in which is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I love this little place! I moved out of super 8 motel and found this gem.
Let me begin by saying that in past reviews the place was marked down as dirty. This isn't a 5 star hotel, but a southwest style cabin. Yes, the water here is hard, full of minerals, that is why the wonderful heart shaped tub is covered in white dust when drained. But that is explained when you check in.
I have heard it said that the owner can be hard on his cleaning staff. When he hires and maintains good staff the place is clean, but when not, the place gets dirty.
I love the huge pine bed. The back porch is lovely and semi private. The staff is friendly and eager to help. Food is good.
All that said, the place is a little funky, as in quirky. They have plastic deer outside, and large painted horses. It's unusual which I like.
I asked for the coupon rate and got my king room marked down from $109 to $99. Comes with continental breakfast and a 10% discount on dinner in the lodge restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bryates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Two night stay at a hideaway while the kids are at the nearby Chauncy Ranch Y. The cabins are separated from each-other just below the view of the nearby highway in Mayer. Even with the close proximity to the road, we enjoyed a peaceful night stay.

The rooms have the "Unique" red heart tub next to the bed over looking a stone fireplace and is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and a large CRT television (who would expect a high end TV at a creekside lodge anyways?).

The rooms also had A/C and a separate bathroom with a shower if you did'nt want to use the Heart tub.

Back porch overlooking the dry creek was screened to keep whatever may buzz around out.

Breakfast a decent and service was great at the small restaurant, downstairs in the main building.

We also took a side trip to Smitty Big Barn Antiques, just up the highway from the Creekside, neat place!

Room Tip: Room 13 is under-used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vegas411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayer
16.3 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
74 reviews
19 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
553 reviews
19 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#7 of 22 in Prescott
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Prescott Valley
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
842 reviews
18.3 mi away
Best Western Prescottonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins

Address: 11255 South Highway 69, Mayer, AZ 86333-5923
Location: United States > Arizona > Mayer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Price Range: $88 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins on the creek with in-room red, heart-shaped Jacuzzi hot tubs and fireplaces. The Old West Steakhouse is the onsite restaurant & saloon for dinner. Secluded feel but highway access. Cabin back porches back up to Big Bug Creek area. Watch wild animals from your back porch. Bring you dog or horse. Close to Prescott, Sedona, Jerome and Crown King, casinos, forest, high desert, golf courses, & more! Cabins start at $99 a night midweek, $139 a night on weekends & holiday periods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Preserve Lodge And Guest Cabins Hotel Mayer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing