We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merit Gran Hotel Victoria
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Cordoba
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Rooms are small and odd shaped. No proper shower. No parking space nor breakfast room in the building. The bed cover is unclean. Shame because the building looks lovely from outside

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariucha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 270 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Not very good , not very bad. We first got a very small and not attractive room. After some pressure they changed it for a better one. Avoid the breakfast, and take the option to enjoy brakfast in next door Malafide coffeeshop if offered by the reception of the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han188613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Located in a busy pedestrian mall half a block from the nearest road available to taxis, this hotel is a convenient place to stay close to the city centre. The hotel lobby is impressive.
Our room was described as an "executive suite" but anything less like an executive suite we have yet to experience.We would assume that the basic rooms must be very small and sparcely furnished and equipped. There was not even a comfortable chair in the room and the bathroom was so small that it was difficult to get in the door past the shower screen.
The included buffet breakfast was fairly basic. Hotel reception staff were quite helpful but often inattentive (eg often entering the hotel past reception without them noticing you).
Overall we would not recommend this hotel unless you need to be close to the city centre.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by being offered an executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The hotel is located on a quiet pedestrian street within a short walking distance to Plaza San Martin, Iglesia Cathedral and Cordoba's mini-bus terminal. Also, a short taxi ride from the City's main bus terminal costing between 10 and 12 peso. Most front desk receptionists speak English. They are all professional, friendly and very helpful. Besides, free W-fi Internet access in the entire hotel, there are few other amenities. No room service - no ice provided. The beds in the rooms are smaller than twin size and two of them together do not equal a double. There are 4 hangers per room. No writing pad nor pen provided. No enclosed closet nor draws for your clothes. Just a few open shelves. One shelf the housekeeper insists on - is for clean towels. There is not a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries. No extra roll of toilet paper is automatically provided after your room is cleaned - you'll have to ask for it. Some rooms have a safe. If you have a room on any of the 4 floors facing the atrium lobby, it can get noisy, especially in the morning. There is not much choice for breakfast. Don't expect eggs, ham, cheese. The coffee is more on the style of American. Loud music is played in the small breakfast area which can be annoying when it's opened between 7 and 10 a.m. The hotel is a 1-Star, not 3-Stars. Maybe 2-days at this hotel is okay. Michael Z. New York City, USA

Room Tip: Request a room with a safe for valuables that does not face the atrium lobby, it can get noisy, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Of all the hotels we stayed at in Argentina, this one stands out for having a nice, large bathroom (most hotels seem to favor cramped bathrooms that flood when you shower). The hotel is situated in a splendid building with a beautiful atrium lobby. The free WiFi works well and, for breakfast, they offer you vouchers for either the on-site café or the adjoining Subway. As the hotel is located on a pedestrianized street, it can be a bit deserted at night and taxi/remis drivers seem to grumble about having to wait in a nearby street to retrieve guests (but we did not find the location to be a problem at all). We paid US$87/night, which seemed reasonable for Córdoba and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed here for one night in January. The place is pretty decent, the old building is quite charming and the lobby has been newly redone.

Like many hotels is Argentina, it seems that a lot of effort has gone into making the lobby look very appealing (it feels like walking into a four star), while the upper stories containing the rooms have not been as recently renovated. Still, the room was pretty decent. The big downside that I found to this place was the washroom. With just a shower curtain and no partition along the floor, the entire washroom tends to get wet when you shower.

The hotel could benefit from one or two more computers in the business centre.

Staff were friendly, and there was always one around who spoke English. Breakfast at the Bonafide next door (it is complimentary with the room) is quite good. The Bonafide makes a very good medialuna.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

I recently visit argentina, its a beautiful country, people are friendly except in Buenos Aires.
But the best stage of my travel was Córdoba, the sights are amazing. And if you are planing travel to Cordoba you probably need to stay in the victoria hotel.
I write this words cause I felt very comfortable over there (it was cheap), the staff was very friendly and the help me to find great places to visit.
I rent a single room per U$S 35 a day. It was Ok and the sight was wonderful. The building is traditional, like an spanish old hotel, the porter told that Carlos Gardel, the famous tangos singer, used to stay there when he visited the town.
Also please visit the churchs (specially "compania de jesus", is the oldest church in cordoba) and the university.
If you want to eat "asado" you can find a lot of restaurants, I love this typical argentian meal.
So friends, have a good trip.
Best wishes,

Ema.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ema_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Urbana Hotel
Casa Urbana Hotel
#26 of 81 in Cordoba
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#29 of 81 in Cordoba
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savannah Cordoba Hotel
Savannah Cordoba Hotel
#19 of 81 in Cordoba
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
On Aparts Hotel Design
On Aparts Hotel Design
#20 of 81 in Cordoba
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sussex Cordoba
Hotel Sussex Cordoba
#60 of 81 in Cordoba
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Felipe II
Hotel Felipe II
#23 of 81 in Cordoba
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Gran Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Gran Hotel Victoria

Address: 25 de Mayo 240, Cordoba 5000, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range: $55 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merit Gran Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merit Gran Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing