We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisey, intimidating and badly maintained- do not believe everything on the internet!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Che Salguero / Hostel Cultural
Ranked #7 of 47 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisey, intimidating and badly maintained- do not believe everything on the internet!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We satyed here for 3 nigjts which was 2 nights too many in my opinion! When we arrived rhimgs looled very good, the plaxe was chilles and relaxed with a few guests tucking into what looked like a good breakfast (the only highlight). We were showed tonour room, which was freezing because the balcony door doesnt shut and therefore the cold and the constant traffic noise gets in...at night is worse with loud music ( and i mean loud) blasting frim downstairs, this was a nightly theme! Dont get me wrong im a mid 20 yr old who's always up for fun but at that time we were looking for somewhere to just chill out for a few days and just relax after a hectic week in BA, and we thought this would be a good place, i ended up being annoued the whole time i spent in the hostel! The kitxhen is way too small for the amount of guests....cooking dinner was a nightmare with10 ppl all gunning for pots and pans and more waiting over your shoulder for you to be finished....absolute joke! The guests were quite annoying tonthe point where we didnt bother trying to socialise...some seemed very rude as there was an obvious clique aming some of the more "long term" guests! I know for a fact that i was not aline in feeling this! Overall out of our month of travelling both brazil and argentina, this was my least favourite experience, which was a real shame cos cordoba is lovely!!! Sucj a shame! Just beware before you book....i am speaking from experience...sorry if this sounds bitter but it really soured our time in cordoba!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drunkneph86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
7
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Having seen a variety of complete dives had low expectations but this place was wonderful. Really great atmosphere, small and close knit, really brilliant facilities and the staff were brilliant and willing to help in any way possible. The room was clean and presentable and the sheets were clean and fresh- sounds basic but a very rare find in a hostel, especially in a dorm room. Kitchen facilities to cook your own meals and a quaint outside area. Really would reccommend to anyone going through Cordoba for any length of time. And the breakfast is good, unlike anywhere else I have ever stayed!

Room Tip: stay in the smaller dorm rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank android1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was a great hostel. My favorite in my month long trip. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about Cordoba. There is an abundance of bathrooms (someting you begin to notice when visiting hostels), there was an optional- delicious- meal prepared every night, and it is located in a very convenient location. The set up of the hostel made i easy to meet other travelers. I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

The service provided was very good, it was clean and the mattress was very comfortable, but if you get the lower bed, you won't be able to sit up/down, since the top bed is too low. Under the lower bed, however, you have 2 large lockers that you can use for free (one for each backpacker), but you must have your own padlock. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. I would say the backyard needs a bit of cleaning/tidying, but it wasn't really bad. The hostel is located in one of the nicest areas in the city, with shops, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, parks, museums, means of transport, etc within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanesaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Very comfortable place, nice staff and comfy beds with duvets. Rooms are also equipped with appropriate heat/air cond so you won't have to suffer on account of weather. Nice place to stay.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Matias_Coelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

This is great place to stay. It's located in central Cordoba near Hipolyto Irigoyen and the university district. They have 5 dorm style rooms with about 35 or so beds so don't expect anything elaborate. The common areas are clean and furnished simply. The rooms have bunk beds which are on the small side, lockers underneath and chairs. They serve a breakfast of small croissants and scones, coffee and cereal. Also, the kitchen is available for guests to cook. They have a computer for guests to use and wireless internet.
This place is happening! The hostel is run by a few handsome locals and they know how to cater to their target clients. They are very friendly with their guests. It is kind of a party atmosphere - they play techno, dance snd heavy rock from the reception area. Also one of the employees plays the guitar very well. Fortunately we were upstairs and we did not hear the music when we were trying to sleep.
There is one downside - there is only one bathroom upstairs, and the hot water in that bathroom isn't so good, so you have to take showers downstairs, but that's not such a big deal. I really liked staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

This hostel is a really great place to be. It opened 4 months ago and the three guys who run it are really doing a great job. We felt like home from the first moment and even went to an Argentinian party with them.
A bit of a problem could be that there is only one bathroom upstairs, so you might need to go downstairs, but for us, that was ok. All rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. AND: they have really very good beds, but: it´s sometimes loud because of the traffic.
The hostel is not a party hostel, but the people staying there love to go out for party.... I fully recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#29 of 81 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Y111
Y111
#2 of 81 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
On Aparts Hotel Design
On Aparts Hotel Design
#20 of 81 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kube Apartments Express
Kube Apartments Express
#3 of 81 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol de Piedra
Hotel Sol de Piedra
#6 of 81 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rivera Hostel Cordoba
Rivera Hostel Cordoba
#1 of 47 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Salguero / Hostel Cultural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Salguero / Hostel Cultural

Property: Che Salguero / Hostel Cultural
Address: Balcarce 576- Nueva Cordoba, Cordoba 5016, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated by local artists, Che Salguero provides a warm and social environment, with young, trustworthy, and knowledgeable staff to help you with all of your needs. We plan cultural activities, Argentinean dinners for you and the other guests, touristic information and excursions, as well as nightlife activities. At Che Salguero, you will meet new friends, create unforgettable memories, and get to know an incredible city. Thank you for visiting us. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Che Salguero / Hostel Cultural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing