We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic tourist hotel in a great location in nueva cordoba”
Review of Hotel Viena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Viena
Ranked #14 of 50 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel reminded me of basic tourist-class hotels where I have stayed in Germany: extremely clean, generous complimentary breakfast buffet, good front desk staff, fairly low prices, and a good shower + bath tub. The decor is out of date and there is nothing particularly exciting, luxurious, or trendy about the hotel, but it offers every basic service that a low to mid range tourist would need, including free wifi and an inroom safe, as well as air conditioning and other comforts. Our towels were old but bright white and changed daily. Our linens were spotless and fresh, and our bed was very firm and comfortable.

The room was dark and didn't have any kind of view, and without the ac on it could be noisy. The furnishings are very basic, circa 1987 but functional, and again, clean.

I particularly liked this hotel because when we arrived at 9am after an over night bus ride from buenos aires, the clerk let us check in early with no charge. We fell right to sleep and felt so grateful not to have had to wait. Similarly, they let us check out an hour late when we left, so that we could have some extra time to get ready for another long journey to Mendoza. The clerk made sure to let us know that they could store our luggage and we were welcome to use their bathrooms and wifi during the day before our departure.

Also: the coffe at breakfast was REAL and it was strong!!

All in all a great choice for indie travelers on a budget. Cordoba is a great city with not a lot of exciting hotels, this one seems like a great bet if in doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 65 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were two couples travelling from Iguazu Falls to Mendoza and stopped in Cordoba for two nights. This hotel is very clean, comfortable rooms and centrally located in Nueva Cordoba (like the art district of the city). We stayed from 08 until 10 March.

We found the staff to be very helpful, friendly and with an English speaking front desk.

We called the same day for two double rooms using the Lonely Planet. They reserved the rooms for us. When we arrived, we asked first to see the rooms and they graciously took us to the rooms. One room had a musty and smoky smell to it and the A/C was controlled by the reception desk. The other room had no smell and an individually controlled A/C. We asked for a room that didn't smell and they found us a different room. They were very polite and did not mind at all. They were very willing to accomodate us. We were able to get two, triple rooms (one queen size bed and one twin bed in each room), for the same price as the double. They were very helpful in accomodating our requests and were pleased to have us as their guests.

We asked for some restaurant recommendations and were given a few suggestions that even the hotel staff said they eat there sometimes.

The hotel has no parking, but a parking center around the corner. We left the car there for 2 days and did not need a car in the city. We needed to do laundry and the hotel sends it to a laundry service around the corner. The surprising thing is that the hotel didn't mark-up the laundry service at all. Our friends took their laundry to the same place (around the corner) and they paid the same price, so that is how we know the hotel doesn't mark up the laundry. It was same day service.

The bathroom is very small, as others have commented, but clean and got the job done. I don't need a big bathroom and would rather a more comfortable bed than a big bathroom.

The bed was pristine, quite comfortable, and the bed sheets were of surprisingly high quality. The bed itself felt like one of those Heavenly Beds at a Westin resort. The pillows were great as well.

The room itself is slightly worn, but very quiet (Rooms 153 & 253). These rooms had their own A/C you could control on your own and recommend you ask for a room like that. There was a TV in the room and free wi-fi (quite fast). We didn't use the TV at all and that isn't important to us.

The breakfast was crossaints, breads, cereal and coffee, which is a typical, Argentine breakfast. Coffee was good.

If you are used to fancy, 4 or 5 star hotels, I suggest you find someplace fancier. We did not need fancy and provided all of the basics and meet the requirements of clean, comfortable and centrally located!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and get a room with individually controlled A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MolSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Reasonably modern hotel with rooms on ground and 2 floors. Lift on one side of hotel and new one being installed for remainder. Some rooms a bit stuffy as the 'no smoking' policy in hotels does not apply in Cordoba - only for other public places. Air conditioning works very well and is essential in this city. Rooms average size and bathrooms bit small. In house restaurant is surprisingly good. Breakfast includes real juice and good coffee. All staff very helpful and reception staff speak good English.,

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very nloisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed one night as a stopover to somewhere else. The rooms are tiny but clean with flat screen cable TV and a/c albeit the stale cigarette smell (hallways are non smoking but rooms allow for smoking, I was informed by the cleaning staff when I asked about their smoking policy, go figure...). Bathroom was tiny but complete. Breakfast was satisfactory. Overall, ok and good place for the price --just a few blocks away from Cathedral. Good for passing though. They take credit cards which is also a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocamdour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Delicious argentinian buffet breakfast, 5 blocks away from downtown, very easy to walk arround. the staff uis very gentle. short single beds . take an inside bedroom

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juandiego15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Be sure to check out the rooms first if you want to stay here. The first room they showed us was very dark and dingy, others we looked into were worse, but the one we finally got was brighter and better, though still well-worn with a somewhat dirty carpet. It had a clean tiled bathroom with a good shower. It had AC, but we had to ask at the front desk each time we wanted it turned on. The breakfast was a basic continental buffet. There was a computer available with free internet, but it was very old and slow. The best part of the hotel was the location, within walking distance of all the places worth seeing.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Viena for 2 nights. It was a great value hotel, a little dated decor, but our room was very comfortable and spacious. It was in a brilliant area of town and had good facilities, such a free internet access. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.7 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#29 of 81 in Cordoba
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
On Aparts Hotel Design
On Aparts Hotel Design
#20 of 81 in Cordoba
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol de Piedra
Hotel Sol de Piedra
#8 of 81 in Cordoba
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Urbano
NH Urbano
#6 of 81 in Cordoba
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amerian Cordoba Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kube Apartments Express
Kube Apartments Express
#4 of 81 in Cordoba
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viena

Address: Laprida 235, Cordoba, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range: $54 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Viena 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Viena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing