We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable & Great Value”
Review of Alex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alex Hotel
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Cordoba
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed to nights in Alex Hotel at 180 Peso per night for a single room. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Alex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

This place doesn't look so great on the outside, but inside it is newly renovated and very clean. We had a room on the inside so it was quiet despite the hotel's location on a major road. The room was clean and had A/C; the bathroom was kind of tiny but still fine. We had wifi in the room, although it was spotty at times. Breakfast was simple but adequate--two medialunas, coffee, and orange juice.

The location across from the bus station was super convenient for us (and saved us taxi fare!); the downside to this is that it's a bit of a walk to the center of town, but that was fine for us since we enjoy walking. Overall, we were happy with what we got for $50/night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

the place is good.
even if it looks a bit shabby from outside with a big street on one side and a construction on the other, it's quiet because the rooms have windows towards inside.
it's quite a walk to the city center.
and don't expect to meet people here or anything..

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

When we reached Cordoba two things happened, first, there was a heatwave with over 100f / 40c temp, and second, the hostal where we had a confirmed booking refused to honour our reservation. This meant we had to find a double room with air-con in the middle of a heatwave -- not easy doing in Cordoba. This town does get hot every summer (usually 80f / 30c) but the locals don't think this is hot enough for air-con so pretty much no place offers it. We definitely did not find any availability in the budget range. As such we had too look higher, and that is what lead us to the Alex Hotel.

The Alex is a small botique hotel across from the bus terminal in Cordoba. It is on a busy street so the rooms up front are a bit noisy, but if you get one off the street they are perfectly quiet. The hotel is modern and has been decorated with taste and style -- not the norm for Argentina.

Our room was small but fine. We had a double (matrimonial) bed, two nightstands, a shelving system, TV with loads of channels in English, a shower room and of course, the all important, air-conditioning. Our window looked out on the back courtyard where there is normally a wee water fall feature thing and a jacuzzi, but due to contruction of a building next door all of that was closed when we were there. Bummer as I don't think they gave us a discount.

The lobby was alright and breakfast was served there. It was included in the price and was the basic -- coffee, juice & media lunas. The lobby was air-conditioned and you could get a good free wifi connection there. We could sometimes get the wifi in our room, but it would fade out.

We slept very well here in our quiet, cool and comfortable room. It was slightly over our budget (at 190 pesos / US$ 50 for a double - we are backpacking around the world) so we do wish it had been cheaper or perhaps had a little more perks to warrent the price. Still when you arrive during a heatwave you are lucky to find anything with air-conditioning so we were happy.

The location was also great as we could walk to all the sites, plus being across from the bus station there was always a line of taxis waiting to serve us. The staff did not speak any English, but we got by on our limited Spanish. They were helpful and friendly always greeting us with a smile and making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The hotel is hard to find but it is worth giving it a try. Very clean, wifi, correct breakfast for a very low rate. You have to pay twice as much to get a better hotel in this city. Location is right in front of bus station, so not a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pibarreche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Maria Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cintia Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
121.1 mi away
Savannah Cordoba Hotel
Savannah Cordoba Hotel
#19 of 81 in Cordoba
359 reviews
121.4 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#29 of 81 in Cordoba
175 reviews
120.8 mi away
Casa Urbana Hotel
Casa Urbana Hotel
#26 of 81 in Cordoba
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.1 mi away
On Aparts Hotel Design
On Aparts Hotel Design
#21 of 81 in Cordoba
160 reviews
121.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Dora
Gran Hotel Dora
#65 of 81 in Cordoba
181 reviews
121.7 mi away
Kube Apartments Express
Kube Apartments Express
#4 of 81 in Cordoba
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Hotel

Address: bv. illia 742, Cordoba 5000, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range: $58 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Alex Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex hotel is located in front of cordoba´s main bus station. Just few blocks away from downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing