We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be renamed The Grim Hostel”
Review of Le Grand Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Grand Hostel
Ranked #57 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Cordoba
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We thought this place was just awful & the only nice thing about this place is the exterior of the building - step inside and it all slides downhill.

OK, so it's pretty clean (but shabby) and in a semi-decent location if you wanna be near to a few bars but the double room with private bathroom we had was UNBELIEVABLY hot... too hot to sleep in and MUCH hotter than outside. (Think there must be pipes under the room or something, altho when we mentioned it to the receptionist she just said in a vague , not-in-the-least-apologetic way: "yeah... the rooms are really hot...".
I got sick on the second day in Cordoba from eating in a local veggie restaurant & had to sweat it out in the room all day & that was a hideous experience, given that there's a city-wide powercut every day for at least 3 hours (or so the staff say) so all the fans and internet etc cut out.

The breakfast was dire & def not worth getting up for, unless you like coffee that looks and tastes like sewage. Staff were OK - perfunctory & not that friendly - and altho they charged us each 10 pesos less for paying with cash, they got it back pretty swiftly by charging us 20 to keep our bags in their store cupboard till our bus. Not impressed - one of the worst we've stayed in in all of south america.

Our advice to those thinking of staying here? Find somewhere better and don't be deceived by the pix on the website.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fin_in_southamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2009

The hostel is new, with nice rooms, comfy beds, great bathrooms, internet, etc. The breakfast was not great. The price was great and the location was good. But, this was the loudest hostel on earth. It was a combo of the running of the bulls, Formula 1, and the floor of the NY stock exchange rolled into one. I would not recommend it for anyone over 22 or anyone wanting to sleep more than 1 hour a night. The music plays 24 hours day, as does the party in the center courtyard. The noise travels through the closed windows, the walls, and under the door. We heard every noise in the hall, in the kitchen and the courtyard. the party ended at 5am and noises started again at 7am with construction workers, housekeeping and guests. Could not sleep at night, late in the am, and even for siesta. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithHusbandInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

This hostel is the closest thing to a great hotel as you´re going to find. It´s brand new, sparkling clean, loads of room, great friendly staff, funky lounge areas, loads of internet availability, superb rooms, towels, clean and comfy beds, great new kitchen space, massive BBQ area in the most amazing grand building. Forget all other hostels in Cordoba, this has to be your choice for value for money and comfort. Cordoba is a great city to hang out in for a few days and this hostel is perfect for it.

Don´t miss it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank LAURA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izabela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Brunomza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.6 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#29 of 81 in Cordoba
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
531 Hostel
531 Hostel
#4 of 197 in Cordoba
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Rupestre
Hostel Rupestre
#63 of 197 in Cordoba
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Link Cordoba Hostel
Link Cordoba Hostel
#5 of 197 in Cordoba
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lacandona Hostel
Lacandona Hostel
#87 of 197 in Cordoba
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivera Hostel Cordoba
Rivera Hostel Cordoba
#1 of 50 in Cordoba
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hostel

Address: Calle Buenos Aires 547, Cordoba X5000IMK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Cordoba
Price Range: $13 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grand hostel is the biggest Hostel in Córdoba, Argentina. It is located in the residential area of Nueva Cordoba, one of the safest neighborhood in Town. Nueva Córdoba is a student`s area with young people from different cities of Argentina. Are you looking for a Hostel in Cordoba? Then let us give you a warm welcome to LeGrand Hostel, within 31 rooms (20 of them with private room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Le Grand Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing