We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhaus Gasthaus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alpenhaus Gasthaus
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tigre
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

I'll mirror the previous reviewers and say this is a wonderful spot to spend a couple of days after being in Buenos Aires for a while. Surrounded by water and accessed by the public launch from Tigre, this trip feels like a big adventure but is so easy. As a matter of fact, I would rate my two days and nights at Alpenhaus as the highlight of a very excellent Buenos Aires experience.

We stayed in one of three cabanas, enjoyed the pool and lounging, took a good walk, and ate like King and Queen. The hostess is a gourmet chef! Service - unbelievable. Ice cold beer by the canal. Paradise. Total cost, lodging and eating and drinking about $210 a day for two. An excellent value and one that I hope to repeat.

Also a good destination from Tigre just for lunch!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vashon98070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    39
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
98
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lonodn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We spent two nights on the delta at Alpenhaus and we were looked after superbly. The owners were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The accomodation is excellent, rooms were beautifully presented and very clean. This would be an ideal place to stay for anyone who wanted to escape the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires for a few days, the delta is a beautiful part of Argentina.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaty_lay_low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

I spent three incredible days in AlpenHaus. The quality of service is excellent. The owners themselves perfom de service and they take care of all the details in order that every guest feels confortable.
The infrastructure, the location, the place, the cleanliness and the amenities are first level.
The food is amazing, you cant taste several different kind of dishes all very tasty.
You can`t miss the opportunity of testing Austrian desserts !
I Higly recommend this place,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEFBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I set out on the local commuter boat just wanting to see the area. They ended up dropping me off here and I stayed for a bit. The food was excellent and I got great attention.

This is definitely off the beaten path and that is part of the fun.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 56003Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

It took a couple of hours and we were already stresss free once we got to Aspenhaus. Awesome german styly facilities, super clean rooms and great shower. The food is all homemade and delicious! Service is great too. Super friendly owner who also operates the place.
A little over the average price of other places, but well worth it once you made it all the way there. To get there, the owner will hook you up with a private boat that will give you a minitour of the delta or you can take the "bus boat".
Really good place to stay, was the crowing jewel of our trip. We really felt we were on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

We found a quiet nice Place in the Middle of the Tigre Delta, where you can eat lovely German & Austrian Food, relax in the Garden or swim in the pool. If you miss the last boat back to Tigre you easily can stay overnight in a very nice surrounding. The friendly Owners speak Spanish, English & German. It´s really worth a trip to the "Alpenhaus".

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwall_devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Never did my wife and I think a day trip from Buenos Aires to Tigre and the Paraná Delta would result in us having a lovely Alpine experience more akin to a ski holiday!!

After a pleasant half hour on a river boat with a mixture of lovely locals and a couple of backpackers we arrived and were warmly met by Suzanne, Willie and their family. With a mixture of Swiss and German heritage the family built their Alpine lodge in this fantastic tropical Delta a little over 15 years ago. It's really not the kind of thing you expect to find in these surroundings but we had a great time!

I spent a year studying in Germany, my wife and I also got engaged there so we've got a close connection to the country and speak a bit of the language....so rather ironically I did manage to use some of my linguistic skills making up for what I lack in Spanish!!

If you are taking a trip in to the Parana Delta you should stop here for lunch, or even better make a night of it and enjoy Suzanna's authentic Alpine cooking washed down with good local/import beers and wines. There's a pool and the lodges offer individual buildings for guests.

It was a fun experience and the lovely family really made this place one to remember!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v0lc0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigre
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Nordelta Tigre Buenos Aires
3.4 mi away
Delta Eco Spa
Delta Eco Spa
#1 of 9 in Tigre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Jacaranda
Hotel Jacaranda
#1 of 1 in San Fernando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Sonada
La Sonada
#4 of 9 in Tigre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pindo Guazu Hostel
Pindo Guazu Hostel
#25 of 39 in Tigre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
4.4 mi away
Puerto Delta Apart
Puerto Delta Apart
#8 of 27 in Tigre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhaus Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhaus Gasthaus

Property: Alpenhaus Gasthaus
Address: Arroyo Rama Negra, 500 M. From Capitan River | Tigre Islands (1648), Tigre 1648, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Tigre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tigre
#3 Spa Hotel in Tigre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tigre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhaus Gasthaus 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpenhaus is a synthesis of comfort and service.We offer a restaurant, bar, tea house, hotel with bungalow-suites and German-style cabins, as well as a first class SPA, all surrounded by the exuberant beauty of the Delta. You can take leisurely walks along the shore of the Rama Negra stream, go bird watching and observe the beautiful plant life.Easy access to our location is available through the Interislena public boat line, private boats and taxis, jet skis, rowboats, kayaks, sailboats, etc.Arrival time by private taxi boat is approximately 25 minutes. In Alpenhaus we can attend in the following languages: German, English, and Italian, as well as the locally spoken Castellano (Espanol). We offer alpine-style bungalows and german houses, all with maximum comfort in mind.The bungalows are available for 2-4 people, and have private balconies overlooking the river, while the German cabins are for 4 or 5 people, with 3 rooms and a private balcony with a view of a huge park.In addition, we offer a typical Island House, as well as a Single Room in the German Main House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhaus Gasthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhaus Hosteria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing