We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Pecanes
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tigre
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Sonada(Tigre)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jacaranda(San Fernando)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kumen Apart de Playa(San Bernardo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paraje de Almas(San Isidro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
112
42
5
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
42
5
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 162 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We enjoyed Los Pecanes. We went there during Argeninas winter in June 2012. I travelled there with my wife who needs a wheelchair, and low and behold, Los Pecanes delivered. We were welcomed at the pier and my wife, wheelchair, luggage, and myself were helped off the boat.
Our room was excellent with two large window with screens, so at night you can open them without fear of bugs and listen to the sounds of the night , the river, and occasional night sounds.
Breakfast is limited to toast and jams, but lunch and dinner are plentiful and includes a bottle of wine. The hosts Richard and Ana are helpful, kind, and fun to be with and if you don't speak Spanish, you can speak English or French with them.
Los Pecanes is not for people who look for a lot of activity or nightlife, it is a place of peace and quiet, for reading and relaxing and SILENCE. Mind you, we were there during Argentinas winter, so we shared the place only with a few other visitors.
Yes, my wife and I would go back to Los Pecanes.

Room Tip: Ask Richard or Ana. They tell you what is right for you.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bufilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Los Pecanes are a great place to stay for a few days if you want to relax, watch birds or go for a canoo tour. It is so quiet - a real contrast to Buenos Aires. It's 90 mins by public boat with only 3 boats per day, so it's necessary to plan ahead.
The rooms are nicely decorated with ensuite bathrooms, but quite basic compared to city-hotels (e.g. without TV, WiFi, Phone). The food is homemade - the desserts are the best.
We stayed for 3 nights in January and were the only non-argentinians. The owners speak English very well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lili73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Fuimos con mi mujer y una pareja amiga a pasar fin de año en el hospedaje. Se encuentra en una isla a casi 1hora y media de la estación fluvial de Tigre. La atención es muy familiar, distendida y esmerada. Las cabañas son sencillas, sin sofisticaciones, más bien para dormir y nada más. No hay agua potable, por lo que suministran agua mineral para cepillarse los dientes y demás. Se come ahí mismo, parrilla, horno de barro. Muy bueno todo. tiene un espacio verde muy lindo para tomar sol, no hay pileta, pero está el río. Excelente deck para sentarse a tomar algo, sobre el río. Existen canoas libres para salir de a dos o tres a remar por canales y arroyos. Muy divertido todo. Recomendable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emperadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

1. Los Pecanes sells itself as a cosy, genteel guesthouse amid unblemished nature, but it also serves as a ‘recreo’, a daytime playground for noisy daytrippers from the city. Soon after breakfast, overnight guests’ peace is shattered by groups of up to 80 who dominate the property until late afternoon, scattering the birdlife and obliterating the area’s serenity. Does the website mention daytrippers? No. Are guests warned before booking? No. Perhaps some level of tranquillity is attained on days when no daytrippers are scheduled to arrive, but the existence of an over-sized dining area seating several dozen—neither mentioned nor pictured on the website—suggests that catering to day-time mass tourism plays a pivotal role in Los Pecanes’ business model.

2. The food. It’s understandable that every hotel should seek to talk up the services it offers, yet the website’s description of meals as “exquisite,” “delicious,” and “incredible” outstrips credence. For sure, the lunchtime asado barbecued at weekends is adequate. The problem lies with the kitchen-cooked dinners: The soggy onion tart, indifferently prepared mashed potato-and-milanesa, and indecipherable pudding we were served—no alternatives; no vegetarian options, despite prior request—were roughly on a par with state-school dinners. At breakfast, there are no hams, cheeses, fruit, muesli, yoghurts, medialunas, fresh loaves, cakes, bacon or scrambled eggs; just toast and jam. There is nowhere else to eat nearby.

3. Getting away. Contact with owners and hosts Richard and Ana is unavoidable and constant. If the relationship with a guest breaks down—as it did in most spectacular fashion during our stay—be aware that it can be tough to make an unplanned early departure. Just a handful of lancha colectivos pass each day, usually with several hours between services. It’s possible to call a lancha remis, but that’s a very expensive way to salvage a pleasant stay in the delta.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

After much research into options (in English!) of different Tigre Delta getaways, we were delighted with our successful trip to Los Pecanes. The hosts, Richard and Ana and their son Matias (via email) were terrific. Sometimes there was a delay on email as they don't have email access at the site and Matias handles it all from B.A. during the week. Yet he was helpful figuring out the boat transport, flexibilty in timing of our itinerary and even helping me find a bookstore in B.A. that had the birding field guide I wanted. They can also be reached by phone and easy to communicate with because they are bilingual.

We took the 90 minute public boat ride which is long yet great experience and it got us truly away from the congested Tigre water neighborhoods as hoped. It's set off from the main channel of boat traffic so welcome quiet after busy B.A. We were there during a slow time, with only one other couple there the first night and all to ourselves the second night. This suited us fine and preferable to crowds which they host on weekends - which is when Richard does a big asado and day trippers come out for food & wine to hang in open area with hammocks on the outside and large dining room on the inside.

We stayed in a cabana for 4 - bedroom with queen bed and outer room with two twins. Lovely, clean, airy with screened windows, nice sheets. The bed was a bit soft for us but likely great for most (we use very hard beds/futons).

The food was great. Light Argentinian style breakfast with toast and tea/coffee - saving stomach room for the lunch and dinners which were fabulous and more food than we could possibly eat. e.g. delicious vegetable puree soup, beef ghoulash stew with spaetzel. We soon learned Ana's desserts were both amazingly broad for a remote place (5?6? choices) a draw for devotees on weekends (for day visitors - be warned that you really have to reserve as they have to turn people away when they peak out at 90+.) Great wine and generally delightful hospitality with Richard's care at our meals. They were really super with the kids and their need to snack.

They had a wooden play house kids loved when they weren't poking around the house and grounds, picking up pecans or making swords out of bamboo. We took a canoe ride up a side river during a late afternoon and we went on an excursion guided by Richard and Ana in the late afternoon that is a must and was nothing less than marvelous. The water was like glass with delightful waterbirds, sounds and the beauty of the delta. Richard knows the waters since he was a boy so could tell us about some of the ecology, the transformation over time and he timed our weaving in and out of channels to be out in more open water to watch a truly stunning sunset, complete with a soda and alfajores.

Great birds - while it's the 'quiet' season (winter is best), there were resident wood rails, parakeets, various raptors, tanagers, southern screamers, kingfishers, flycatchers, and more. Ana is a devoted bird feeder/rescuer and they keep copious amounts of hummingbirds happy (3 resident species).

Overall the cost was significantly less than other Tigre options we looked at which ratcheted up price calculated per person (with a family of 4). Two nights was great and we could have done three, to have time to read in hammock and explore more by water, maybe to get closer into the core of the biosphere reserve. The timing of our return was tricky and while I think it would be hard for them to accommodate most of their guests when full and busy, Ana was incredibly gracious and generous in working with a friend to get us back to Tigre when we needed to.

Room Tip: All cabanas great. Room for 2 only one just okay.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sechristia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews