We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maricopa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The hotel rooms are good (not bad, not great) and service is very good. Room was very clean. Pool is nice and you can definitely spend the day hanging out at the pool bar and be very content. Gaming is good and The Range Steakhouse was wonderful. I would not make this my go to destination if I lived out of state but for those passing through, visiting the area or that live locally I think it worth a try.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurukupaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,614 - 3,620 of 3,652 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

This was the best Harrahs yet. The room was spacious and overlooked the pool area. The room was comped and no fees like you get in Atlantic City. The casino was small but the help was very very friendly and they had coffee available all day and night so you could get a cup for breakfast. Gave me lovely chochlates in room for being a Diamond Player. Lost but that is to be expected. Would go back too bad it so far away from New Jersey.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

If you are wanting a relaxing vacation..this is for you. This is a beautiful hotel. The pool is DIVINE!!! BUT...there is nothing..NOTHING..to do at this hotel besides gamble and relax by the pool. I am a runner, and there is not even a fitness center...It was in the 80's while I was there, they have a foot map around the parking lot where you can run. I can not imagine running this in hotter weather. There is a lounge, but it is in the casino, and open to the casino. It has no dance floor. Drinks are $7 and up...Really, if you want to just chill out, this is for you. Unless you rent a car, you are stuck. The hotel has a grill cafe, a buffet, and The Range steakhouse (which is great, but $$$). We did rent a car and drove to Sedona (2 1/2 hours away) easy drive and SOOOO worth the trip. Maricopa is a quaint town, but you have to go about 30 minutes down the road to find anything to do. I would go back to the area, but would stay at Wildhorse Pass or Phoenix.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We went to the Phoenix area for a week of Spring Training baseball games. The facility was nice, if the weather was better we could have enjoyed the swim up bar. Stop in town on your way in to supply goodies.! The wifi and cell phone coverage is spotty- as a result we used the in room phone. Long distance direct dial calls were a minimum of $ 18.81 !! the charges ranged from $18.81 to $34.57 for short phone calls. The directory noted that long distance charges were $1.00 acess charge and 35% surcharge on operator assisted calls ours were direct dial. BEWARE
Also no fitness/workout center.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We go down often, living just 35 miles north it's very convenient. We have always had great service and a great time. Everyone is nice and eager to help. We have tried all the restaurants and enjoyed them all. We have stayed overnight a few times and found the room to be quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiseys4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Truth be told, we are Harrah's Diamond Club members; our room was comped, and that tends to cover a lot of sins. It's a nice little place, but as is generally the case with Indian casinos, it tends to be a long way from anywhere you want to be. The rooms are modest but serviceable; frankly, you will get a much better value at non-casino hotels for what they charge as a rack rate (as much as $300!). Better to stay down the road in Tucson, or if you must, Phoenix.

On the positive side, the service was consistently fabulous. Harrah's has gone to the dogs in recent years -- they recently went private, and the new owners don't seem to have a clue as to how to run a casino -- but from the valet to the Diamond Lounge to the front desk, the effort was spectacular.

One non-obvious problem is that they can be downwind from an enormous feedlot (~10 miles to the south, and their wet weather tends to come from the south), and if the wind blows the wrong way, your visit will be decidedly unpleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dissenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Ak-Chin is a Harray's property. I am a longstanding loyal Total Rewards Diamond member. I have stayed at numerous Harrah's properties many many times in Las Vegas, Iowa, Atlantic City, and now Airzona. . I have not been disappointed until now - I WILL NEVER go to Ak-Chin again. I had a terrible experience there. I had called to verify they have internet access. I was combining a work/pleasure trip but upon arrival, discovered that the room only has dial-up for a fee which did not stay connected as I was told by the desk. I was told they have wireless in the lobby I might be able to get. The only seating was a bench - hardly conducive to working!. It would not work. I asked for someone to help me and explained that I must have internet for business. The "only" person who could help me was in a meeting and was not available. Funny that he could not come out for a few minutes to assist a customer - the reason the hotel exists. The attitude of the clerk was maddening - clearly she did not care - even when I told her without internet, I would have to leave. So I checked out from what was to be a 3 day stay and went elsewhere. I would have dropped a lot of money in three days between working sessions. But there are lots of casino choices in Arixona who are eager for patrons with money to spend and eager to be helpful - clearly not the attitude of Ak-Chin. They also need to get with the times and provide high speed internet in the rooms or wireless. The hotel I went to had free wireless in the room, which worked great.
he room that I had checked in was nice but the casino was also not much to speak of - the other casino I went to was much bigger and nicer. I'd stay away from Ak-Chin - travel the 30 minutes north to Phoenix/Scottsdale area and you will find numerous very nice hotels/resorts, casino resorts, and casinos without hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattySlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maricopa
Ahwatukee Foothills
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn
#24 of 34 in Chandler
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort

Address: 15406 N Maricopa Rd, Maricopa, AZ 85139-2819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Maricopa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maricopa
Price Range: $63 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrah's Ak-Chin is more than just a casino. It is a place to indulge all your senses. From exciting gaming to fine dining and everything in between, Harrah's Ak-Chin is a resort destination to satisfy every taste.When you're not playing one of your favorite games, you can settle into one of our 300 luxurious guestrooms, which come complete with all the amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. The hotel grounds are a verdant oasis, boasting a lush assortment of greenery, including an idyllic courtyard with an exotic swimming pool and swim-up bar.If you're looking for the excitement of a casino, with the relaxing ambience of a first-class resort, both can be found at the same place: Harrah's Ak-Chin.Please note: You must be 21 years of age or older to book a room in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Ak-Chin Hotel Maricopa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing