We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High points and low points”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marble Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Dwellers Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marble Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed at the Cliff Dwellers Lodge on a southwestern vacation. We chose this lodging because of its proximity to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon - 1.5 hours.

This lodge is in the middle of nowhere, literally and it does get very dark at night, which the kids thought was neat. It was very quiet, especially since they had closed the road to the Grand Canyon because of out of control forest fires.

The restaurant on the property is excellent. The dinner meal we had was tasty and semi gourmet. The ingredients were fresh and obviously prepared by someone who knew what he or she was doing. The meal that evening with the misters going off to cool things down was the highlight of our Cliff Dwellers Experience.

The motel itself is old, outdated and worn. It appeared clean, but there were stains on the carpet and things were just run down - very spartan accomodations. There was a room air conditioner that made a lot of noise, but did keep the room cool.

The people who worked there were very friendly, but don't expect red carpet service, because this is primarily a fishing, rafting lodge. Fortunately, it was pretty much priced accordingly.

If you choose to stay here come for the rustic atmosphere and to view the Vermillion Cliffs. Your expectations will determine your experience.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelsimply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Cliff Dwellers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 308 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2007

This place is in the middle of nowhere, situated right at the base of the Vermillion Cliffs.

Dinner at the on-site restaurant was great, I had the Angler steak and cheese sandwich and my husband had a turkey sandwich, both on ciabatta bread.

The room was large and clean, but showed clear signs of wear and tear. The setting was nearly pitch-black at night and very quiet. Surprisingly, we were even able to get a code for free wireless internet.

Unfortunately, breakfast was a let-down. Service took a while and the food was barely worth eating when it arrived, very disappointing. Other folks seemed to be having trouble with service (i.e. cold coffee) as well.

Have dinner and sleep here but skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tlkativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

I recently spend 5 days at Cliff Dwellers and found it to be a real jewel. The accomodations, while spare and simple, were sufficient and clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was fantastic - a solid breakfast and excellent dinners giving the option of sandwich or gourmet dining. That said, the best thing was the location - quiet and peaceful, allowing one to simply soak up the experience of the Vermillion Cliffs and the Marble Canyon. We used it as a base for exploring the North Rim of the Gr Canyon, Antelope Canyon, and a day of trout fishing with a terrific guide. I strongly recommend this location for anyone who likes to have the comforts of home, good food, and a beautiful location without the interruptions of phones and televisions or too many people. I'll be back there again!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crackerintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Cliff Dwellers Lodge is a great place to stay. It was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in one of the older rooms that had pine walls and ceiling and the character just seemed right for the whole area.
The restaurant for our dinner was one of the best on our holiday and the staff very friendly. We did not stay for breakfast as we were up for sunrise to watch the colour change on the cliffs then on the road and we were still full from the previous nights dinner!
If I had to make one criticism then it would be the shower, in such a big bathroom the cubicle was very small and could just do with an upgrade, but this was minor problem.
This lodge has the most amazing views I would stay again tomorrow if I could and if I am ever back in Arizona it will certainly be a place I would stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ploutarchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

We (3 couples) stayed at the house which had a lot of room and was ideal for us. The restaurant had great food although was short of service staff in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Motorcylcler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2005

Just got back from three days and two nights at the Cliff Dwellers Lodge. Although the rooms are a little worn around the edges, the staff is fantastic and the food at the restaurant is the best in Northern Arizona (and they have Bass on tap). Hiked the Paria Plateau and Saddle Mountain and didn't see a soul. This place is definitely "heaven on earth" I'll be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArizonaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

For access to GC north rim having done south rim, it is in quite a convenient location. Rooms are somewhat basic (wooden shacks), but clean and tidy.

Food was fine with friendly staff for dinner and breakfast available on restaurant veranda. Restaurant is used by locals which is always a good sign!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marble Canyon
8.2 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
256 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
18.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Dwellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Dwellers Lodge

Address: Box 30 HC 67, Mile Post 547 N Hwy 89A, Marble Canyon, AZ 86036-9705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Marble Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marble Canyon
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Dwellers Lodge sits at the base of the Vermilion Cliffs and is adjacent to Vermilion Cliffs National Monument. Cliff Dwellers Restaurant was voted one of the "10 Best" 2013 by Arizona Highways Magazine. We are in the center of all the National Parks in the region and an easy drive to the North and South Rim of the Grand Canyon as well as Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. Lees Ferry, the put-in for all the Grand Canyon rafting trips and a world famous trout fishing destination, is a 15-min drive from the lodge. Electric car charging station, Tesla destination charging station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Dwellers Hotel Marble Canyon
Cliff Dwellers Marble Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing