We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly: above expectations!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #50 of 157 Hotels in Mar del Plata
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprisingly: above expectations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Hotel is located in an awesome spot in Mar del Plata, the room we had was rather large for the average in Argetnina (we had a king size bed, a big sofa, a dressoir and a small side table with two chairs). The view was... breathtaking!
The architecture of the building is astonishing, and they managed to somehow "merge" the new building with the old one (1950).
Breakfast was good and had a nice variety of things: home-made bread, cakes, brownies, yogurt, cereals...
The service was very good, everyone in the hotel were very polite and had the best predisposition.
The only thing I did not like of the room, was the bathroom; it was ok, but I would have expected something a bit more "5 star".
Nothing but good words and congratulations! I totally reccomend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam_Coata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    122
    111
    59
    33
See reviews for
91
170
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Rooms are of good size and clean. Service is friendly, with the exception of beach service (only one person who was waiter and cooker at the same time to serve more tha 80 clients). Breakfast is correct (orange juice wasnt natural). The rest was acceptable

Room Tip: Ocean views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Héctor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel with nearby Provincial were the retreat of wealthy Argentines. Huge ballrooms with French crystal chandeliers are everywhere. Guests are middle aged upper class argentines who've been coming here for years. The hotel faces a popular beach so it is worth to hire a cabana to enjoy the space. Best beaches are further south where the sea is cleaner and there are less crowds.
A grande dame of a hotel that needs more investment to bring it to 21st century standards.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Platense41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Large rooms, excellent service. Dining room/restaurant is very good; bar is intimate. Room service is 24/7. Back entrance to hotel faces the Atlantic. Meeting rooms are large and well-equipped.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2703D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

I can't believe that it is a 5-star! Whoever gave them 5-stars should be demoted!
My 'oceanfront' room had a OK view of the ocean, but had horrible carpet, stains in the bath room, very old furniture, and the TV/phone and wireless didn't work. The desk didn't even have electrical plugs next to the desk to plug in a laptop. Bathroom had mildew, cracked drains, and only two small towels. Also the photos on the website are completely misleading. They make it look like the hotel is on the beach and their pool leads to the beach. This is NOT the case. There is a high-traffic road between the hotel and the beach, with no easy beach access when the road is busy.
The staff was ok, but not 5-star. I travel all around the world and stay at many 5 -star hotels and this hotel is NO MORE than a 3-star hotel... at best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlitog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mar del Plata hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

I stayed four nights at the Hermitage Hotel. After a long 5.5 hour bus ride from BA, I was hoping that the hotel would be nice and accomodating. The staff was friendly and attentive when I checked in and throughout the stay. The hotel itself has this ambiance from the 1920-30s. It first, it seemed a little confusing getting around as there are several wings to the hotel and you can only use a specific set of elevators to get to your room floor. I stayed in a suite which had a king size bed, coach, desk, and a color tv with cable. The view wasn't exciting as I overlooked the inside court of the hotel. The hotel does not have wifi but does have internet hookup (ask the desk to lend you a cable). The hotel also provides an electrical adapter as the plugs only take the 2 pronged European plug. The breakfast was inclusive in my room rate and consisted of mostly coldcuts, breads, cereals, juice, scrambled eggs and coffee. I ate once in the restaurant, and the food was fine but $$. The property is located adjacent to the beach and nearby casino. Since this time of year is offseason for this resort town, the beaches were mostly empty. There are several restaurants, mostly expensive and none which I found to be particularly good. However, there is a decent, reasonably priced restaurant near the hotel on the beach. Standing at the back entrance of the hotel, you will see small landmark which resembles a castle off to the right (opposite from the Quilmes pier restaurant). I found this place to offer good hot sandwiches and beer (iguana beer- similar to Corona) for a very reasonable price. There is also a shopping area/"camino" if you walk north just past the casino and then walk towards the city for about 2 blocks.

  • Liked — The hotel's character
  • Disliked — The room I was given was near the noisy elevator lobby area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mar del Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
#14 of 157 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Galana
Hotel Costa Galana
#5 of 157 in Mar del Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel
Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel
#8 of 157 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Hotel Casino
NH Hotel Casino
#48 of 157 in Mar del Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
#11 of 157 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altos de Guemes Hotel
Altos de Guemes Hotel
#7 of 157 in Mar del Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: Av. Colon 1643 y Blvard. Maritimo, Mar del Plata B7600JVA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 157 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing