We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst trip ever, real-life nightmare”
Review of Hotel Guerrero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Guerrero
Ranked #20 of 156 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I was visiting Buenos Aires with my family. We decided to get out of the big city and go to Mar Del Plata on New Year's Eve. We were browsing online, and this was the only hotel that was available at the time. When we first arrived, the hotel looked slightly like a motel 6. The reception was very disappointing and rude. We obtained our room key an hour after checking in. We all had to walk around with our luggage to the other entrance of the hotel, which was located on a dark and filthy side street. On the side street, just as we were about to enter the building, a strange young man approached us. He pulled out a weapon and demanded for our money. After we handed around 600$ US cash, he vanished into the darkness. Already having been shocked, we entered our room, where we felt like we were robbed a second time...On one side, there was a closet full of the maid's supplies. To the back right, there was a full size bed. To the back left, there were three twin prison-looking cots. We were astonished. We were traveling with 5 people in total; 4 adults and one teenager. A member of my family is kind of a clean freak. She was checking the entire room to make sure it was spotless. Suddenly, she saw a brownish-greenish substance located near the television. She tried to identify what is was by touching and smelling it. She concluded that it was poop. As she was inspecting, another member from my family spotted an insect. All of a sudden she shouted "una cucaracha!" We approached her and spotted the most repulsive filthy large cocaroach that we have ever seen. We gathered our belongings and immediately went back down to the lobby. We demanded our money back, which was not a part of their policy. We vigorously gave them the keys and stormed out. Fortunately, a cab driver was handy and we found a very nice hotel located somewhere nearby; across the street from the casino.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fatchupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Guerrero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 331 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2010

We spent two nights there and really enjoyed it. The beds were a bit too small but the rooms were clean and with a beautiful ocean view. The buffet breakfast, included in the rate, was really REALLY good!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kg_ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed in this hotel June 2009. Recommended.

There are *many* places to stay in Mar del Plata, mostly small hotels, and mostly away from the beach. This is a very good choice for its category, and I'm sure it is booked solid in high season. It's nothing special, so don't expect luxury. But do expect a great location just across from the beach and the Atlantic ocean.

It's on the inland side of the main coastal avenue, a two-minute walk from one of the main beaches. Rooms on the front of the hotel are sunny and have pleasing views of a huge fountain set within a traffic circle (not everyone's thing, but I liked it) and also of the Atlantic beyond. You definitely feel like you're at the beach! Rented a two-room "suite" with two bedrooms, one bath--and no living room. Not what I'd call a suite. But we were three adults and one child, and it suited us fine. Off-peak room rate was good value considering the excellent location and the general quality of the hotel.

Rooms are definitely small, but cramped rooms are the norm in Argentina. Not spotless by any stretch, but clean enough and probably correct for its category.

Staff was pleasant and accommodating, welcoming of children.

This is not a luxury hotel, nor does it pretend to be, so go with realistic expectations and you will be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winebluesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Nice people. Very helpful. Good Location right next the beach. The first room that they were going to give us was way too small. However, when we asked, they give us a large room with a kitchen for the same price. If you are used to five star hotels, and expect this quality, this is not the hotel for you. It is a little "funky" by high-end US standards.

Stayed: January 2008
5  Thank gurleylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

I was suppose to stay at this hotel in January for 7 nights, but I left after 4. The room was ok ( kitchen apartment ) but you had to pay extra if you wanted the Maid to clean any of the kitchen utensils or kitchen equipment. The hotel advertised beach equipment, but this ammounted to a beach towel....Actually it was a room towel really. The choice at breakfast was ok, but there was no milk for the cerials, so you had to use yoghurt.on your cerial.
On the plus side there was free internet service for guests & the snack bar next to the lobby was actually quite good.
My main problem with this hotel though, was I was robbed at the entrance to my apartment on my first day, where my wallet & room keys was snatched. To me this shouldnt be able to happen at the door of the hotel & showed a big lack in security. I later found out the hotel has CCTV fixed onto one entrance, but not onto the entrance to my apartment. I never really felt safe here afterwards, so I left early. Personally I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank flixflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank sergio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank matidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mar del Plata hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neptuno
Hotel Neptuno
#40 of 156 in Mar del Plata
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Panamericano
Gran Hotel Panamericano
#19 of 156 in Mar del Plata
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Facon del Mar Hotel
Facon del Mar Hotel
#3 of 156 in Mar del Plata
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Mar Del Plata Hotel
Sheraton Mar Del Plata Hotel
#9 of 156 in Mar del Plata
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Continental
Gran Hotel Continental
#18 of 156 in Mar del Plata
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
#11 of 156 in Mar del Plata
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guerrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guerrero

Address: Diagonal Alberdi b 2288, Mar del Plata B7600GYB, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 156 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Price Range: $49 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guerrero 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Guerrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing