We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, so-so accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merit Mar del Plata
Ranked #73 of 157 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Jan2014 as a vacation from our Buenos Aires vacation. We wanted something close to the beach and near shopping, and the Merit met both of these requirements.

The good:

Staff:
The staff was very helpful and friendly. We don't speak Spanish, and they were extremely pleasant and patient with us. From helping us find the shopping areas, to giving us extra towels for the beach, to helping us figure out cabs... they were excellent.

Location:
We had an ocean view from the room and there was plenty of shopping within walking distance. I never felt unsafe. A+ for location

Hotel:
I liked the breakfast buffet and the option to sit out on the balcony and have an ocean view with morning coffee. Very relaxing.

The not-so-good:

The room:
We were not big fans of the room. It was very bare, and the shower had half a door. Not sure if this was by design, but it resulted in everything getting pretty wet when we showered. There also seemed to be some condensation coming from the toilet and onto the floor. To summarize - the bathroom always seemed damp. The safe didn't work and the air conditioner was loud next to the bed.

The hallways and elevator felt claustrophobic to me.

Bottom Line:
Not a horrible experience at all. This is perfect if you just want a room with a bed and don't care about the rest I mentioned in the review. Personally, I wouldn't book here again. If I returned to Mar del Plata, I would look at condo rentals as those seem to be the better option.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 371 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

I found this room and bathroom spacious, clean and well maintained. I stayed in a Sea View room and I believe a little higher rate was worth it I speak little Spanish and the front desk personal spoke a little English...but we managed to communicate all that was necessary. Drawing images always helps. Complimentary continental breakfast was filled with a variety of choices and housed in a pleasant area with an ocean view. I drove and a very reasonable $10 parking fee was well worth it as street parking was difficult to find at high season. Just to the right of the front door was a shop that sold all sorts of snacks and drinks at a very reasonable price...assuming you exchanged your dollars at the street rate. I was able to get 9.7 pesos to 1 dollar. The neighborhood is safe and the hotel is directly across from a park that had 24 hour police presence. And of course the hotel is across the street from the famous beach

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Taking into consideration the average standards Argentinian hotels hold, this hotel is pretty good.

The room - not the bathroom or the alleys - is spacious and up-to-date. The bed and the pillows guarantee a good night sleep. The sheets are ok, new, thick and cleaned enough not to have that sensation of sleeping with the last guest who stayed there. The restaurant is also spacious and has got a nice view to the beach. Cold water to drink in the main lobby. Desk attendants, in general, are helpful. A handful of restaurants, ice cream parlors, convenience stores, supermarket and the Havanna Alfajor Store up to a 10 min walk from the hotel. Delicious croissants and yogurt served in the breakfast. Cleaning above average comparing to hotels in this category.

Lows: they do not set touristic activities for guests and seem to be a bit lost about that when asked. Watch out the mosquitoes flying over the square in front of the hotel. The main lobby entrance door is heavy and is always closed. I missed fruits in breakfast. Tiny refrigerator inside the room. My room had a safety box opened by key, whereas the best ones with a sea view have electronic safety boxes. A 20 minute walk distance to downtown, one may find it far.

Room Tip: All the back apartments have a confined view to other buildings. If you like and can, make a reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadpolewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Merit Mar del Plata, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for visiting Amerian Hotels, we hope again in Mar del Plata to provide quality service as we do every day.

greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The public contact staff of youngsters working here is great. Energetic and positive.
The location is good...only a few blocks from the tourist center.

The hotel, however, is a plain jane without any exceptional attributes.
Furnishings are spartan. The rooms feel empty and cold. Views of
the ocean are limited (but nice). The rooms have the feel of a college dormitory
between semesters. It's all relatively new.....not worn or dirty......but
very plastic, dark and uninviting. Some issues with older bedding and
towels.

Limited tv channel selection. Wifi unreliable....didn't work most of the time I was there.

For the price, you can usually do better.

Room Tip: higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Merit Mar del Plata, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thanks a lot for your comment! We look forward to renew furniture and decoration to assure that our passengers feel comfortable and happy during their stay at our hotel.
Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My visit to Gorgeous World Class Mar Del Plata City
Hotel Review

Pros:
Free WIFI
Free Breakfast
Nice Location
Nice ocean views from room
Close to downtown
Plenty close by ocean front and bars

Cons:
Room need TLC
High season rate over-priced

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastianmiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times, but hadn't been for two years. Its charm has always been its staff and its location, but this year it felt very unloved and threadbare, the linens were old and stained, the bathrooms past it, and the prices too high for what shouldn't be ranked above two stars. The 'breakfast' is where the penny pinching was most obvious, poor choice, low quality food, and you have to pay extra for proper coffee. I'm sorry its slipped so far as I liked it before despite its faults, but couldn't recommend it any more. We stayed in similarly priced places in Buenos Aires which were incomparably better. Like Mar Del Plata itself, this place has seen better days and needs a bit of love and attention.

Room Tip: The sea view is better than the rear view. But the rooms are equally shabby both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good hotel, in need of some decoration work , but the location is great. Complimentary Breakfast was excellent and service people were kind and helpful.
Rooms are OK, bed and pillows need a refreshment, but the overall service and quality is more than acceptable for a 3-Star in Mar Del Plata.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mar del Plata hotels
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Panamericano
Gran Hotel Panamericano
#19 of 157 in Mar del Plata
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ribera Sur Hotel Mar del Plata
Ribera Sur Hotel Mar del Plata
#1 of 157 in Mar del Plata
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Skorpios
Gran Hotel Skorpios
#30 of 157 in Mar del Plata
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Versailles Hotel
Versailles Hotel
#50 of 157 in Mar del Plata
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Ostende
Hotel Nuevo Ostende
#26 of 157 in Mar del Plata
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Facon del Mar Hotel
Facon del Mar Hotel
#3 of 157 in Mar del Plata
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Mar del Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Mar del Plata

Address: Avenida Libertad 2936, Mar del Plata B7600HJN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 157 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Price Range: $72 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merit Mar del Plata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of La Perla beach, Mérit Mar del Plata offers to its guests 58 city and sea view rooms. They are equipped with air conditioning, minibar, safe, cable LCD TV and free WiFi. This 3-star superior hotel is strategically located within walking distance of major attractions such as San Martin pedestrian and the City Casino. The hotel offers a full breakfast buffet, meeting room and all the services needed to make your stay an unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merit Mar del Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing