We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a bad experience for us!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apart Hotel La Galeria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apart Hotel La Galeria
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Carilo
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite a bad experience for us!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I'm sure it could have been great but we were not lucky.
The guy at the reception, Gustavo, received us with indifference, and seemed really annoyed by our questions. The room was very cold, someone had to come in to fix the radiators.
They told us before we went there that we would pay a certain amount of money and would be allowed to enjoy another room with jacuzzi on the next day, that was the deal! In the end, we were not allowed to enjoy this room and we had to pay more than the price set.
We're from Argentina and France, so it was not because of misunderstanding...
Last but not least, we forgot a shirt in the cupboard, and when we called to have it back they said there wasn't anything...
But Carilo es really nice and fortunately plenty of places are available!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElenaSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director Comercial at Apart Hotel La Galeria, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped,
Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo para hacernos llegar sus comentarios.
Estamos evaluando en detalle cada aspecto por Ud. mencionado. Valoramos sus observaciones sobre el Apart, dado que nos permiten alcanzar la excelencia en nuestro servicio.
Nos interesa contactarla a la brevedad para que nos amplíe sus observaciones y brindarle una respuesta.
Saludos cordiales.

Javier Teti
Commercial Manager
La Galería Apart Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed again at La Galeria Carilo, in the 2nd week of March 2011. Please see review from 2010 for main points. Had another excellent experience.

This time we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, which cost 900peso/night in cash (an increase on the previous year). Internet speed still 3Mbps down. We did get our free massage this time!

Pool still heated to 33deg and lovely. Sea too cold to swim in, but lovely to walk around the beach.

Next time we'll come in February when hopefully it's a bit warmer and less windy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burgundywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartGaleria, Gerente at Apart Hotel La Galeria, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Google Translation
Es un gusto recibir sus comentarios y esperamos tenerlos nuevamente como huéspedes en La Galeria.
Cordialmente.
Javier Teti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

If you happen to be in Carilo, don't look anywhere else! La Galeria is the perfect spot. I was looking for the perfect relax ambience, calm, cozy place together with a great and kind service. Alejandro, the owner, proved so inmensenly. When people call you by your first name in every interaction that means a lot to start with! From booking to advising on what to do in Carilo, the experience has been a pleasant surprise. The rooms with rustic and artistic charm will definetely add a Carilo flavour to your stay. Close to the beach and with a short ride from the small-village center, we found LA GALERIA conveniently located. Breakfast at your door every morning, WI-FI and a great heated outside-pool provide all what you need as a modern traveller. Alejandro has built a great hotel in a lovely summer village called Carilo. Totally worth to visit if you happen to have from 4 to 7 days and want a relaxed place outside Buenos Aires. You should ask Alejandro about the private shuttle service that takes you from your hotel in Buenos Aires City to La Galeria hotel in Carilo. This door-to-door shuttle service is hassle free, a safe 5-hour ride with one stop mid-way for food and drinks. I would recommend to arrange so if you are not driving to Carilo. In sum, I would definetely have La Galeria in my "place to go" list without a doubt!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartGaleria, Gerente at Apart Hotel La Galeria, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, gracias por su opinión, la cual es muy valiosa para mejorarnos día a día y brindar un mejor servicio.
Quedo a sus órdenes.
Saludos.
Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We had a wonderful experience in L a Galeria Carilo. We went in low season (Wed-Fri, end of March 2010) and the resort was largely empty, which suited us.

Good points about the hotel
• We were made to feel very welcome
• For what we paid, we felt we got a bargain (300 pesos/night, about USD 75 or GBP 55), including continental breakfast in apartment
• Lovely warm (36deg C) heated outdoor pool
• Sauna and jaccuzi while not the newest were available and appreciated
• Apartments had kitchenette with full facilities and crockery, pots and pans etc.
• Wifi internet signal in our apartment was free and excellent (3 Mbps down, 0.25 Mbps up)
• There was an internet room with two desktops for the use of residents
• They came round and turned on the gas fires in the evening (quite useful as it was getting quite cold at night)
• 100m from the beach, easily walkable
• They were happy for us to check out late on the final day (3pm vs 10am) as no one had been booked after us

Could be improved
• We were told on booking that price included a half hour massage for both of us. However masseur was away and we did not get the massage (we got it from another hotel, 100pesos for 1 hour). We are not unhappy as we still feel it was good value.
• Hotel infrastructure is a few years old. I mention this because I prefer brand new. Everything was functional however and at the price I cannot really fault it.
• View – can’t really be improved of course, but the view is not of the beach or trees, but of other hotels
We would stay again!

These are the specifics on the hotel. The following comments are about Carilo for the benefit of English speakers.

Carilo is a lovely resort about 4.5 hours’ drive on motorways from Buenos Aires city. It is frequented mainly I think by the BA elite (not many people speak English). This is a town set in the woods by the sea with a lovely pristine beach. We went in low season, when the hotels were maybe at 25% capacity, but judging by the vast expanse of the beach and the number of deckchairs, it will never get very crowded. When we went, midday temperature was 28C and evenings 15C. From 11am to 16am it was warm enough to lie in the sun in swimwear. In the evenings you needed to put on a top. The sea was about 18C with many large waves and we didn’t spot many people swimming, though we did see a para-surfer in a wetsuit all afternoon. The sand is very fine and nice to walk on. You can hire a quad-bike for 220 pesos/hour and go biking on the beach, away from the water, in sandy dunes almost designed for the purpose.

Most of the hotels are by the beach, though not many actually on the beach. The commercial centre, with brand name shops and restaurants, is inland in the woods. Most of Carilo appear to be vacation homes for the rich in BA (we went to an estate agent and looked at some homes for sale, the average price seemed to be about USD 2,200 per sq metre).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgundywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartGaleria, Gerente at Apart Hotel La Galeria, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus cometarios y nos alegra mucho que hayan disfrutado de su estadía.
Saludos.
Javier Teti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carilo hotels
0.3 mi away
Posada del Bosque
Posada del Bosque
#5 of 20 in Carilo
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costa Carilo Apart Hotel & Spa de Mar
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel & Convention Center Madariaga Carilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ville Saint Germain Apart Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Inn Carilo
Inn Carilo
#6 of 20 in Carilo
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Remo Villa Corral Aparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apart Hotel La Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart Hotel La Galeria

Property: Apart Hotel La Galeria
Address: Albatros y Jacaranda, Carilo 7167, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Carilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Carilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apart Hotel La Galeria 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Apart Hotel La Galeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing