We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Atmospheric San Telmo Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Seddon

Bar Seddon
Cuisines: Bar, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Atmospheric San Telmo Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Bar Seddon was located down the street from our accommodation and we regularly stopped by the bar for an afternoon drink or pre-dinner drink. The bar has a nice relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. We also enjoyed a meal here one night - highly recommend the chicken cooked in mushroom sauce which was delicious. You can also get a cheap but tasty steak which goes down nicely with a glass of house malbec.

The best thing about this bar is the large open windows, allowing the beautiful balmy night air to filter in along with the sounds of San Telmo nightlife.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juke8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    56
    14
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a great Bistro we found in a lovely quarter of Buenos Aires
European feel to it and friendly helpful staff
The food was international but with a real flavour of Argentina e.g Empanadas
We had good local wine and enjoyed our lunch here in quiet surroundings and in a beautiful part of the city

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayEmploymentEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cute San Telmo lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here after the Sunday market for lunch. The atmosphere was lovely and the location is ideal - right at the cobblestone streets with vendors selling art, crafts, leather, flea market goods. The interior is wood paneled and cozy, with a sizeable bar and jazz on the radio. The steak with chimmichuri was reported to be excellent, chicken ceasar salad was excellent, but skip the super thick pizza.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarnyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop in San Telmo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Atmospheric bar and restauarant right by El Zanjon (the historic house and tunnels). I popped in for a late lunch and had the charcuterie plate which, at about $45arg was a relative bargain compared to the other prices in the area! I had a nice assortment of meats together with olives, an eggplant and carrot caponata and some fresh bread. The place itself is very cool - straight out of Paris or Barcelona.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonianBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alter do Chao, PA
1 review
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wow, what a place!! Here you really can get a piece of that famous San Telmo vibe. The ambiance is fantastic, you just feel at home immediately. The place invites you literally to stay longer and to linger and observe the people passing by, to chat with the friendly staff or other guests or to enjoy the homey features of the place. The service is great, thank you for making me feel so comfortable! And as well the food is fantastic, my compliments to the chef, the chocolate/passion fruit cake was a dream :) l'm already looking forward to come back to this place, it will be a must for my next visit to Buenos Aires!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lin9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Seddon also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Bar Seddon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing