We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Suites Obelisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Suites Obelisco
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well located, safe, with a lot of sugestions what to do at BAs. The satff is fantastic! One of the girls from the travel agency, Fernanda, made all the reservations for my trip, hostels, tickets, tours, from Argentina to Bolivia, and everything was perfect!!! I really recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah_Cavalieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    176
    82
    17
    7
See reviews for
20
77
120
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in this hostel for 5 nights in September. BA is a fantastic city but the location of this hostel keeps you a bit away from the atmosphere as micro centro is largely commercial.
The hostel is fine, we had a double room with shared bathroom. The place is arranged like apartments with 3 rooms sharing a bathroom. We had a couple of nights when there was no one in either of the other rooms which was lovely and quiet, but also a couple of nights when there were people in the next room- when we discovered that the walls are paper thin! So maybe earplugs...?
The downstairs, common area is really good, tables and chairs as well as couches and a quiet room. There's a mezzanine with computers if you need them, but also wifi available in common areas.
The staff were generally good with a couple of weak links, but when we needed help organising onward travel they were really informative and helpful. We went to a football match on a tour the hostel was promoting which was really professional, and stacks of fun- definitely worth it if you get the chance.
This 'hostel suites' hostel is good, but we went on to stay in their Mendoza version, which was bad, so definitely a patchy chain!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Really nice hostel, with great people on the front desk, a lot of events to get the guests together. Price good, amazing localization. We went out at the night for an event organized by the Hostel. It was the best party night of Buenos Aires. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Choose first floor apartments and with top 4 beds. The rooms with this set are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato_L_Monteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very nice hostel and well located. I paid for the single room and it was nice, clean and very quiet. Breakfast was very good with cereals, milk, yogurt, some bread with jelly, butter and ''dulce de leche''. Try to go on weekend if you are interested on going out for some party.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Great location and friendly staff, had double room with shared bathroom on top floor (5). Even though they claim to have hot water 24/7 we had persistent problems with it (hardly ever worked) and the hostel lift would often be out of service. Not what you want to come back to after a freezing winters day out exploring the city. The noise level in the rooms very much depends on who your neighbours are. The polished floorboards amplify every sound, and our room had a locked ajoining door which didnt help with the noisy neighbours. Overall a good hostel, but if reliability is important, think twice. The tourist bus which has a ticket booth on Florida is a good option to get around, but dont rely on the map which designates the bus stops. The map is really just a guide, walk around in the general area until you see the yellow sign. The bus will only stop here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Good Hostel, excelent atmosphere. One of the best locations in Buenos Aires, just in the heart of the city, with lots of banks, restaurants, shops, supermarkets near.

I was in a double room with shared bathroom (a litle bit dirty in the first day). It was a big room, with a Good bed, clean sheets and towels. The room wasn´t warm, we need to use all covers available.

The breakfast is great (two types of bread, marmalades, coffee, milk, yogurt, cereal, fruits..). It was the best breakfast I had in Argentina.

I really recomend the Suites Obelisco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here for a week by myself and had a private room with a balcony and shared bathroom. My room was lovely and the bed comfy. It was hard to sleep at times because i was on the avenida corrientes side but i didnt mind that so much. The staff were helpful and they have a great tourist program with 5 or 6 things to do everyday. I found the bathrooms and kitchen especially kind of gross but I guess thats a hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Garden House Hostel
#48 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Montserrat
Portal del Sur Hostel
Portal del Sur Hostel
#22 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#7 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Recoleta
Petit Recoleta Hostel
Petit Recoleta Hostel
#61 of 484 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Retiro
Recoleta Hostel
Recoleta Hostel
#54 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suites Obelisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites Obelisco

Property: Hostel Suites Obelisco
Address: Av. Corrientes 830, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Suites Obelisco 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostel Suites Obelisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing