We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak in San Telmo”

Amici Miei Ristorante
Ranked #49 of 4,739 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Telmo
Description: Classical Italian and Mediterranean food. Very old recipes. Only Italian products. Colonial terrace with smoking area. Managed with the owners. Historical location. Frequented for the local Italian collectivity.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent steak in San Telmo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I arrived just as lunch was closing but they still pulled out all stops. Just off Plaza Dorrego. YOu can watch them make fresh pasta while you eat. I had an excellent steak with chimichurri and salsa criolla. Best of trip. A bit more expensive but was worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    218
    55
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
241 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“San Telmo Italian star.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Great Atmosphere, service, location, and excellent Italian food. We booked a balcony for 2 overlooking Plza Dorrego for Sunday market, great people watching, tango in the square. Homemade pasta, fish, oso bucco, salads all excellent. Gets frantic busy. Also a cool terrace in back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I read all the reviews and saw that it was the 14th here in Buenos Aires... Well I wouldn't say the same! Not a bad restaurant but I didn't keep shivering, just random italian pasta if you ask me. The attention is good, the waiter is quite cool and the location is good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElenaSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Good (for Buenos Aires) Italian place in San Telmo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

First off, prices are rising very fast in BA but never the less, this place is pretty expensive. I know food cost from experience and pasta does not cost much. This place serves pasta and it is expensive. I will say the include high end ingredients (truffles, almonds, etc), have good portion sizes and include a large, seemingly fresh and warm bread basket but coupled with a way to expensive wine list, this place adds up fast.
Would I recommend this place? Yes and no.

Yes, if you are a couple and can grab one of those balcony seats.
Yes, if you like friendly service and fresh food with discernible ingredients.
Yes, if you find yourself in San Telmo, hungry for traditional Italian food. Order the risotto, they cook it al dente perfect. I felt our ravioli's were overpriced and the calabaza one was too sweet. My fellow diner compared it to pumpkin pie served in pasta. It was good, just too sweet, albeit that is par the course for BA cuisine.

No, if you hate paying too much for wine.
No, if you crave an intimate atmosphere. This is a box of a dining room - more of a hall.
No, if you are short on cash. Wait till you return home and go to your favorite Italian place there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comfortoverspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wow! Went last night. We sat outside on a private balcony for two overlooking plaza. Interior was beautiful but we preferred to sit outside, food and service five star! I had the appetizer with cured ham and arugula and cheese shavings. As good if not better then I have had in Italy. My husband had the salad rustica and loved it. He then had pumpkin ravioli and loved them. I chose a ravioli type pasta with buffalo mozzarella, basil and a tomatoe sauce my grandmother would admire. Everything is fresh. Don't miss this restaurant if you know and love fine Italian food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Miei Ristorante also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Amici Miei Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing