We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salads great, staff not friendly but ok”
Review of Janio

Janio
Ranked #1,872 of 4,984 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Salads great, staff not friendly but ok”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Today we we walked around and sat here for lunch. Staff isn't really friendly, food was great.

Prices are pretty high: 240 for two salads and a bottle of wine and water. Then again, this is the first day in BA after traveling through Argentina.

Helpful?
1 Thank tripjes2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    103
    67
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great good and ambiance!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Super good location on Plaza Viejo. Cute outdoor seating on the sidewalk, and a nice terrace, but make sure to wear bug spray! Portion sizes are decent and prices are fair for the area (AR$50-70/dish). Great salads and veggies with rice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianQJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice cafe in a great location”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stopped at Janios on a number of occassions for a coffee and a milkshake for our 4yr old son. Service was great to just ok and I think this was due to our lack of Spanish. Janio was often packed especially with the live music and a had a good feel about it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TLocantro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“plaza armenia food”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

a bit expensive and the staff could stand to be nicer, but the food I've tried was GOOD. the goulash is my fav, pumpkin/spinach ravioli second.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LvnInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, average food.”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Situated on the corner of a busy junction (but not on a massive road) is this busy restaurant serving mixture of Italian and Spanish food. I can't tell you how big the interior was as we ate outside. Bread plus the usual side dip came quickly. The main course came 20-25 mins later. (it was Saturday and very busy). The dishes were generous in size, the wife unable to finish her veal escalope and mashed potato. We had still water. The bill was 180 reals including tip. They charge 10 reals each for cover charge. Good atmosphere and good for people watching.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Janio also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Province of Buenos Aires, Central Argentina
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Janio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing