We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #165 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

I stayed three nights at this terrific boutique hotel and enjoyed everything about it. My room was stylishly and beautifully furnished and kept spotlessly clean throughout my stay. Fresh flowers in the room every day was a nice touch. Also, the staff at the front desk as well as in the breakfast room was courteous and very helpful with my requests and questions.

Location of the hotel is very good too, and I can honesly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to enjoy Buenos Aires in style!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frekventresenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    176
    46
    25
    10
See reviews for
63
317
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

We spent a total of five nights at this delightful hotel. The personnel bent over backwards to help us with maps, taxis, suggestions, and even to bottled water in the dining room. They allowed us to leave our luggage all day even after we had checked out that morning.

The charming Irish owner was present every day and shared wonderful stories about this recently remodeled hotel in a building with a history.

The hotel has been very lovingly and tastefully decorated with careful attention to keeping true to the original decoration of the rooms. Each room has a large bathroom that was added at the time of the remodel. The hotel has been open only part of a year so everything is newly painted, etc. and the linens and towels are all new.

The hotel is convenient to a subway stop and busy Corrientes. There are plenty of restaurants, an ATM, and an Internet cafe all nearby. You can walk to many sites in the city center very easily.

We had a great visit to Buenos Aires and this hotel added to the pleasure of our stay.

  • Liked — Historical setting
  • Disliked — Noise from the streets - daytime
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SoccerMomColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed in BA in July and we stayed in Rooneys Boutique Hotel. We loved the hotel and its great setting. The room we had was really lovely and very different from the hotels that we had previously stayed in. The staff were extremely helpful and really friendly and this really made our stay more enjoyable. Rooneys also offer free tango lessons which take place within the hotel and which are great fun. The breakfast each morning was lovely and the room we stayed in was spotless. We had a fantastic stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — The boutique feel to the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PeruvianGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

What an incredible find!!! This early 1900 building has had the 3rd floor restored to an elegance that shouts Buenos Aires culture. The proprietor and his wife spent a great deal of time in this labor of love and have succeeded in creating a stylish comfortable bed and breakfast type hotel. All of the personnel are friendly and eager to make you stay warm and wonderful. Most speak English and all go the extra mile to meet the guests needs.The rooms on the street are large and elegant and although noisy (after all you are in the bustling BA) they include you in thelife going on all around you at a pace that is uniquely Argentine.If you are looking for peace and quiet ask for one of the rooms on the inside. They are just as uniquely decorated and very quiet. For a special treat request afternoon tea or have a drink in the parlor and take in the original paintings done by a local artist. The location of the hotel couldn't be more perfect. Three blocks either way and you are on the subte (sub-way). You can get anywhere you want to efficiently and cheaply. Or you can just walk several blocks along Corrientes and take in a Tango show. Our stay was truly memorable!
Ruthann Codromac

  • Liked — Location and ambience
  • Disliked — outside rooms noisy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rufusbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

We have just returned home from a wonderful 3 week holiday in Argentina, including a few days in the beautiful Colonia de Sacramento in Uruguay. We spent a total of 13 days in Buenos Aires, and selected Rooney's Boutique Hotel as our base while travelling around the country.
Rooney's is ideal, as it is central to all the recommended tourist attractions. It's air of informality and the comfort of the bedrooms are a haven for all tired and apprehensive visitors. It's owner Kieran Rooney and his wonderful and courteous staff were one of it's main attractions.Their interest in the needs of the guests was most welcome. Their knowledge of tourist locations, restaurants, theatres, and sporting events and their help in booking same is a great service to their guests. The organised Tango classes are an added attraction.
We are really looking forward to staying there again on our next visit to Buenos Aires.

  • Liked — Excellent and helpful staff
  • Disliked — a little noisy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

This small hotel is absolutely charming with its high ceilings, antique furnishings and friendly staff. The staff spoke English and that was a big help to me in dealing with a couple a situations for which I needed translation. Also, the hotel security was good, something that was important to me as a woman travelling by myself. A nice continental breakfast was included with the price. There was no internet available for guests but there were some internet outlets a couple of blocks away at a reasonable price.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2008

We had a really lovely stay at Rooneys. A great location in the micro centre and near the metro. A fantastic room with antique furniture and claw foot bath. The staff were really helpful and couldn´t do enough for us. We loved the free tango lesson and the whole atmosphere of the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return one day.

  • Liked — The quality of the decor made the room special. A real treat.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank younger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
El Centro
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Ai...
#167 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#93 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#77 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#120 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#51 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Property: Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#86 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rooney's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing