We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great style - lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #188 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Maputo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great style - lovely people”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this beautiful hotel, wonderfully decorated - so much charm and ambiance. Smallish but such welcoming and cozy room. All the staff, especially the reception staff was really nice and friendly, very helpful.

While I had initially thought of staying in other areas of town, like Palermo, this turned out to be a great choice, and I will probably go back in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    176
    46
    25
    12
See reviews for
64
317
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Staying in one of the studio rooms heading into an ugly backyard, may be very interesting to smell and see real inhabitants in daily life and rather noisy at night dew to obviously young male-people 8 meters opposite our window having a very odd taste of loud, vulgar, popular us-teeny-music, celebrating all night long. Bed´s were fine but breakfast is rather poor for european standards. Its more like bed and breakfast 1* than a Boutique Hotel - i do not know how they classify a boutique hotel. Staff is friendly and prices do not include tax - so expect to pay 21% more than to your booking price.

Room Tip: Take Number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o_groo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

All of the staff at Rooney's both spoke fluent English and humoured us in our us of Spanish. The rooms were brilliant and the finishing was world class-in quality and style. We stayed at 3 very good addresses in BA but Rooney's was the best by a wide margin.

Room Tip: You can ask for huevos fritos in addition to omelettes at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank default_12505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is not the best and it is not the worst; it is just a great place to stay. Very clean at all times, quiet, the personnel outstanding, polite and helpful, without exception. Loved the oh so high ceilings from the late 1800's early 1900's that make the rooms feel airy and large. Beds are supportive and comfortable. Linen 1st class.There is a very nice corner room with open view to Callao Ave. where you can use their computer or read the daily newspaper, or organize reunions. Breakfast is made by a young female chef who will accomodate to any thing you would like to have, and that is on top of the delicious all you can eat breakfast that includes plenty of variety, and it changes daily! All the delicious offerings, including the bread, are made in-house in the hotel's kitchen. Remarkable!
The hotel's location is just great, within a block of a metro station that can, connecting, bring you to most anywhere in the city. You are also within 1/2 block from many bus stops, and buses there are not like in the US, they haul, they fly!
Rooms have double pane windows but some of the traffic noise filters, not really bothersome.
Again, not the perfect place, but I'd recommend it to anyone, and I most likely will stay there again on my next trip to Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Our room faced Sarmiento St.. In reality we would leave in the morning and come back after midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Charming hotel, very central , extremely clean, very helpful staff. I extended my stay there
as a was more than happy with everything, being a solo traveller I felt extremely safe.
I would recommend this place to anybody- its perfect

Anduf UK

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love how crappy old hotels with a coat of paint are trying to claim boutique. This place is borderline at best. It's next to a strip club, in one of the dirtier areas of the central/ palermo border. Bathrooms are small, beds are passed their best and it's very noisy from the two roads that intersect below. We messed up by booking here and found better in BA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roaming1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful period features in comfortable rooms and beds. Very appreciated little touches. Excellent breakfasts- I did not get bored of them even after a week and woke up early especially for them! Good location near 3 tube lines and most of the buses you need. Very friendly informative staff. Felt very private and luxurious but accessible in price. It is in a busy area but hotel has done well for insulation. Make sure you ask about local milongas like el beso and la catedral within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DXSlims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
BA Central Hotel
#180 of 446 in Buenos Aires
359 reviews
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#144 of 446 in Buenos Aires
500 reviews
San Nicolas
Atlas Tower Hotel
Atlas Tower Hotel
#196 of 446 in Buenos Aires
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Centro
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Ai...
#173 of 446 in Buenos Aires
622 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#44 of 446 in Buenos Aires
748 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#83 of 446 in Buenos Aires
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Property: Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#85 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rooney's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing