We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #188 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at Rooneys Hotel. The hotel lived up to our expectations, Nice quiet room and friendly staff. The hotel was nicely furnished and spotless and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I hope to return again soon.Allistair and Anita Leask. Dorset U.K.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allistairleask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Rooney's Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 540 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Rooney’s Boutique Hotel
Buenos Aires
Stay – March, 2012
This hotel was completely out of the box for us. I normally organize every step of our travels
( transfers, etc ) and will only use places where we can get points/specials/etc.

When we knew we were going to visit BA I had asked a friend, who had lived in BA for 20 years, where did he normally stay when he visited and when we found his pick a bit basic, I looked for hotels nearby. This is how I stumbled upon Rooney’s Boutique Hotel. Their internet site looked amazing and from day one they replied to all my queries and we ended up booking one of their packages plus a couple of extra nights.

Nothing was too much trouble – all pickups went without a hitch and the planned tours were set out to do at a leisurely pace. Our room was amazing and had plenty of storage for all of our luggage, the bathroom had a huge, clawfoot bath and a spacious cupboard, the toiletries were top class and the breakfasts varied and tasty.

From the moment you step off the street, through the huge iron gates and into the wonderfully cute antique lift you realize that this place is really something special. The staff are efficient without being officious and any request was promptly serviced.

I would give Rooney’s a 9.5 out of 10. It would have been 10 out of 10 but I found it hard to shower without wetting the floor in the bathroom – a minor concern.

I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants a classy, safe place to stay in BA.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is old school beautiful, the rooms are clean, quiet and the staff extremely friendly. The hotel is situated where you have easy access to each of the areas and tourist sites. The breakfast was lovely and a bigger selection which we were pleasantly surprised as we have stayed in other hotels and not much more than fruit is offered. We would definitely stay at Rooneys again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

the hotel is beautiful, it really gives you the feel of old buenos aires. the rooms are clean and comfortable. the hotel is roomy and nicely decorated. the staff is really helpful, especially juan.the breakfast is wonderful. the only negative things are the tv's don't work properly and some of the air conditioning units leak on the floor. hans

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our first stay was Feb 21 to 25, 2012 and we so were so impressed we returned on Mar 4, 2012. Location is as advertised, close to most things we wanted to do and see. The room was clean, well decorated and a good value. The staff was spectacular in their willingness to help, I don't think no is in their vocabulary in either Spanish or English. The breakfast was more food and better quality than we expected. Most impressive: as we were leaving the first time, I left my wife with our luggage and went to retrieve the rental car. A young man noticed her and insisted on helping her and making certain she was safe. After the he loaded the luggage in the car, i tried to give him a tip. He responded, "No need, I'm the owner."

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickPalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed here for two days and found this hotel great value. The rooms were clean and although a bit old fashion very comfortable. The included breakfast was better than I expected and the free tango lessons great fun. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesmoran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Rooney's Boutique Hotel. As always, it was top quality. Our room (#8) did not have adequate air conditioning and was a bit noisy due to partying on the street.

Room Tip: Street noise can sometimes be a problem in the early hours of the morning, especially on the weekend...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentandClarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#153 of 443 in Buenos Aires
507 reviews
Intersur Suites
#186 of 443 in Buenos Aires
141 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#81 of 443 in Buenos Aires
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Atlas Tower Hotel
Atlas Tower Hotel
#202 of 443 in Buenos Aires
167 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#47 of 443 in Buenos Aires
768 reviews
San Nicolas
Globales Republica
Globales Republica
#182 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#85 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $100 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rooney's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing