We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Buenos Aires City(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mine Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$689
$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
$279
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$465
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$134
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
281
175
48
25
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
175
48
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh ceilingsantique furniturecage liftold world styleheart of buenos airesbring earplugscentral baspent two nightsthree nightsfacing the streetwithin easy walking distanceyogurtthe location is perfectrooneyskieranargentinaelevator
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 541 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

If you are price driven this might be a good pick. The property is old and in need of work but still charming. The rooms are small and the bathrooms in serious need of updating. The staff is friendly. The free breakfast was very nice. They have wifi but you must have a computer as they do not. The location is a bit seedy and the hotel is located on the 3rd floor of a building, The old fashion elevator was cool, There is no lobby just an iron gate that you enter after being buzzed in.

Room Tip: request room with a balcony
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonPam673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The staff ( Nico and Juan ) lovely, super nice..... the look outside is not very appealing but dont let this discourage you, the area is very safe, lots of restaurants and cafes.

The hotel is very neat and clean, they even had cereal,toast,coffee,tea for us at 3 am... definitely worth it.... we'll definitely be back.... thank you for a great night....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golg892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I am an American business traveler and I wanted to be in the heart of Buenos Aires on my first visit. I chose Rooney's and had a wonderful experience. The staff is incredibly helpful and always available. Although they were kind enough to allow me to practice my Spanish, their English was superb!

The complimentary Tango lesson was superb and I looked forward to the hearty breakfast in a quaint salon. In fact, the well-appointed and historical feel of the property from the charming 1920s elevator, to the period furniture and delightful photos of tango revelers all came together to transport you to a quiet and warm space while the energy of Buenos Aires awaited you at your option.

I must warn you that this is not your standard "big box" Marriott. If you want your hotel experience to complement and enrich your Argentine experience, Rooney's is a great choice. But if you want a typical American hotel, perhaps you will not enjoy all the richness that Rooney's offers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngozi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Located in the central district 10mins walks from shopping area or 10 mins in a taxi to the palermo area.

Rooms are decorated beautifully in the charming manner showed on the internet pictures although they are small. Breakfast is lovely and includes fresh cakes, bread, fruit, cereals and an option for cooked breakfast.
The staff are helpful, speak english and will assist with bookings.

The best thing about this hotel which makes it stand out fm others is the free tango lesson which we expected to last 20 minutes but instead lasted an hour. We had virtually one to one tuition as there were 2 instructors to 3 in the class.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsoniahelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I went out to visit my daughter, studying Spanish in BA. Initially booked for 2 nights but plans changed and stayed 10 - the staff were exceptionally helpful, fitting me in where they could so I had 3 different rooms, all lovely, during my stay. Quirky and charming as other reviewers say. Staff went out of their way to advise, to make bookings, get taxis etc. My daughter described the breakfast as "super nice". Terrific steak restaurant 2 blocks away (the hotel will give you an intro card which gets you a free glass of champagne each!). Agree not for everyone, and definitely not if you want a chain hotel clone room. But I'm sure you get a lot closer to BA staying at Rooney's. Convenient - I walked most places, but taxis are cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms 9-13, on the interior, are quieter - but BA is a noisy city!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews