We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hostel for grown-ups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #191 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
phila, pa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a hostel for grown-ups”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

my adult daughter and i stayed in this charming hotel for 5 nights in late july 2011
the perfectly polished brass door bell at the entry the first hint ; the lift to the 3rd floor location the next; the fantastic, bi-lingual desk staff seals the deal!
our room small because we needed 2 beds; the other rooms i spied were more spacious. the common rooms beautifully appointed; breakfast made to order and a self-serve breakfast bar
visitors from around the globe staying here, which just added to our experience
a peaceful oasis in a frenetic city
warning - bring ear plugs if you are at all sensitive to noise - the hotel in the midst of a neighborhood that's bursting 24/7

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    176
    46
    25
    13
See reviews for
64
318
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very pleasant staff, always helpful and fluent in English. Room (a double) was a bit
small but the very high ceiling influenced this. Excellent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed in Rooneys for a total of 5 nights either side of a 2 1/2 week hol to Argentina. Over the course of the holiday, we stayed in various hotels and Rooneys was without a doubt the best, with the most helpful staff of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The reception staff provided us with clear information on tours and arranged all our day trips and ensured our holiday went smoothly and was enjoyable. They also booked us an overnight bus to return from a trip to Mendoza back to BA and pointed us in the right direction for internal flights. The free internet access was also great for printing boarding passes and looking at info on the city.

The hand picked antiques and fixtures of the hotel made each room unique and provided a lovely boutique feel to the hotel which also has a relaxed, family run feel to it. The breakfast was lovely and we were again served by pleasant and helpful staff each morning. The 24 hr reception meant that we could return to the hotel at any time of night and check in early in the morning without any complaint.

The location of the hotel is perfect to get around the city with access to all public transport routes and organised tours picking up and leaving off at the door of the hotel. For the first time arriving in South America, the free airport pick up organised by the hotel was invaluable in alleviating any issues with getting taxis and ensuring a safe transfer from the airport to Sarmiento. Also when we arrived, the airline had lost one of our bags and the staff at Rooneys called the airline and the airport, located the bag and got it delivered the next day without us having to lift a finger.

Apologies that I can't remember the names of the two men behind reception but a big thank you to them, Vanesa and Kieran for making our stay very memorable- I hope to be back.

I would highly recommend this hotel and urge anyone who stays there to make use of all the tours, especially a Boca Juniors football game, a day at the Tigre Delta and the Sunday markets at San Telmo.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SH_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is home from home in a large and wonderful city.

The service was efficient and friendly withoiut being intrusive.

The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully appointed.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of Buenos Aires' attractions.

It has all the modern amenities of free internet, tv, strongbox etc. - and free tango lessons as an added extra.

As it was our first visit to Buenos Aires, we were delighted to avail of Rooney's Boutique free airport pick up.-

no hassle trying to find a taxi.

.........and all this comes at very affordable prices!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimoQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I kind of had a feeling I was going to like Rooney's, and when we arrived, my hunch was confirmed. It was as picturesque as it appeared online, and its location and service made it well worth a stay.

We were in Buenos Aires for 4 nights, so we qualified for the 3 nights for the price of 2, which is a great deal, considering you get airport pickup, a lovely breakfast buffet, and free in-hotel tango lessons. You also get 10% off if you pay in cash. The hotel itself has an old-world style, with French furniture, crystal chandeliers, wood floors, and high ceilings. It is very well-maintained, and each room is different and charming. There are not only chandeliers in the bedrooms, but in some of the bathrooms!

The breakfast had all the basics, such as toast, orange juice, fruit, cereal, yogurt, and cold cuts, but it also includes a small menu of freshly prepared hot dishes, such as French toast, eggs, and ham.

The staff was very helpful with planning our schedules, and they reserved spaces for us on a city bus tour, in tango lessons, and on the Buquebus to Uruguay. They also are happy to call taxis and restaurants for you. They have free internet in the lounge too. The tango lesson was fun, and it was right in the lobby. The teacher was helpful, and gave us some recommendations for milongas (tango parties) and a shoe store to get good tango shoes (two blocks away).

I really couldn't find any downsides to our stay (and I do try to mention pros and cons). The location was good because it was within walking distance of some shopping and good restaurants, and central enough where taxis were easy to catch. It has a funky, old-school elevator (where you have to pull the doors shut) so you don't have to hike up the 3 floors. You do have to buzz in and out at the door on the street, but we never had any problems getting in.

We loved Buenos Aires, and staying at Rooney's was just icing on the cake. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good deal with style.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Its locations and price as well as your informations in site are in accordingly to the hotel. We received a very distinctive threatment. We really loved the time we spent in Rooneys Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleonoraCSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Rooneys is in a great location, right in the center of town. The rooms are really pretty with high ceilings, loved the beds and breakfasts are great. The staff was awesome especially Adrian who works in the evening. He was so helpful and really took the time to make suggestions about what to do and was just so nice
The only drawback about rooneys is the street noise, it's pretty loud but otherthen that loved it

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrdofblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
BA Central Hotel
#183 of 447 in Buenos Aires
358 reviews
San Nicolas
Atlas Tower Hotel
Atlas Tower Hotel
#201 of 447 in Buenos Aires
164 reviews
Intersur Suites
#190 of 447 in Buenos Aires
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Centro
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Ai...
#170 of 447 in Buenos Aires
621 reviews
San Nicolas
Duomi Plaza Hotel
Duomi Plaza Hotel
#164 of 447 in Buenos Aires
380 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#83 of 447 in Buenos Aires
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Property: Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#86 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rooney's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing