We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Bar Danzon

Gran Bar Danzon
Ranked #43 of 4,736 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar, Sushi, Wine Bar, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Retiro
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average food, very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is really overpriced. Also, they give you a sort of tablet to browse and order the wine, but you can't actually order it using the device, you have to show your selection to the waiter. Exactly like a wine list, but more annoying and unnecessarily complicated! The food itself was OK, I had the rib eye steak but it was over 100 pesos which is a lot for this cut. We went on Saturday night and the whole place has a kind of cougar / cruise ship style vibe going on. It's definitely not for the young and trendy IMO

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomanticBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    286
    77
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We didn't eat here but the cocktails were great and there is a lovely atmosphere. The bar staff are top class and very friendly! worth checking out!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirkally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The premises are very attractive as well as its bar, full of tiny light on, looking as small stars reflecting light from below. The ambiance is nice, with good looking people, not young, beyond 35 in average. It has a restaurant also, but dishes are not extraordinary. My rating is for the bar only

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Food and Service amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved this place. Maybe a tad more trendy than I normally like but the food and service are incredible. Portion size was perfect. Get there on the early side while you can still hear your dinner partner in conversation because, at least the night we were there, a band set up in the corner and the playing drowned out all attempts at communication. The restaurant is on the 2nd floor and you have to go up a bunch of steps so if you have problems with stairs, not for you.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cajun in Southwest Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a late night snake and glass of Vino.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went here late after a tour of BA and took the tour guides recommendations. We passed it by several time because its entrance is just a open doorway that leads to a candle lite stairway. Once we got up the stairs we were greeted by music and a doorman that spoke excellent English who directed us to the bar. We decided to just sit at the bar and eat and drink instead of trying to wait on a table. We enjoyed the atmosphere and wished we had something similar in our home town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cajunwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Bar Danzon also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Gran Bar Danzon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing