We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was wonderful”
Review of Livian Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livian Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hi all, I enjoyed my stay in Livian. The stuff is lovely, very private, helpful and you feel like at home. I stayed alone because my son was studying there for half a year. Metro station is about a 10 minute walk, the buses are leaving in front of the house going downtown to Micro etc.Every room has a different style and colour.the cheaper rooms do not have a window going outside but the beautiful garden area makes up for it or you book a room with an outgoing window.No TV is disturbing the rest. Very often I was just sitting outside reading, on a couch, lying down. An ideal place to spend between seeing the city and the area around. I met very nice people from everywhere.

Room Tip: Just choose a indoor room (cheaper) , or a room with an outdoor window.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Vielen Dank für dein Kommentar! We were thrilled to know you liked your stay with us! We have a TV in the common area but we encourage our guests to embrace the moment and the vacation, like you did! That's why we are so glad you enjoyed our garden. It´s not so normal to find places like this in the city! It was a pleasure to have you staying here! Hoffentlich sehen wir dich bald wieder, jetzt sprechen wir auch deutsch! Viele Grüße

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Livian Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 380 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We absolutely loved our time at Livian. Each room of the converted house was so full of charm and style (especially The Kiss!), common areas were beautiful with many sweet touches (piano in lounge, soft classical music playing in the kitchen, etc.) breakfast simple but lovely. Staff always around and helpful. We will recommend Livian Guesthouse to anyone we know going to Buenos Aires- It was simply wonderful!

Room Tip: The Kiss room is very romantic!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rissyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for the comment! At the end of your stay we don't want you to go either! Every guest become for us like a part of the family. Here in Livian, we put all our effort in the details because we want you to feel like home. Our goal is to make your vacation memorable. We are happy we achieved that with you, guys! Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated close to downtown Palermo AND to an metro (subte) station but still in a rather quiet area, the Livian Guesthouse presetns itself as an ideal starting point for a Buenos Aires discovery tour. The building is clean, breakfast is great (fresh fruits) and the staff is awesome. They help you out (in English, Spanish or even German) if there's anything you need.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1203Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about us! It was for me a pleasure to be there for you and help you in everything you needed. We were glad with your comment, our hard work its worth it when we see that you have enjoyed your vacation in Buenos Aires staying in Livian Guest House. We would love to have you back. Bis zum nächten Mal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Old house in Palermo, great choice for those looking for a piece of antiquity in the trendy suburb of Palermo. All staff are very incredibly nice and helpful. The location is not the best in palermo, but Livian is definitely one of your best options in Buenos Aires

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josemgj2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about us! Livian Guest House offers the best of both things: nearness to the center of Palermo Soho to enjoy, buy, eat and discover Buenos Aires, but when you come back to the hotel you'll find the tranquility you need to rest, away from the crowd and the noise. Our house is a hidden spot with original style. We are glad you consider Livian Guest House as one of the best options in Buenos Aires! It was a pleasure to help you and we would love to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a townhouse in the suburb of Palermo, in a fairly quiet street. Inside it is like a family home (where the family had visited India extensively, from the artefacts displayed around the rooms). The rooms have names rather than numbers - we were in the Blue Room on the first floor. Along the corridor were doors to a terrace with sofas, tables and chairs, where fairy lights are lit around the walls in the evenings. A spiral staircase leads down to the walled garden, with another ground level terrace, and sofas and chairs at the bottom of the garden as well. From the lower garden, where there is a built-in barbecue, you enter through French doors to a kitchen and a dining room/lounge, which is for the guests' use. Drinks are stored in the fridge, and you will find your name on the top of a sheet of paper so you can sign for any you take. This fridge has space for small amounts of food and drink you have bought from the supermarket round the corner. There is another kitchen on the first floor, serving the main dining room which is where they serve the excellent buffet breakfast. This fridge also has drinks you can sign for, but the rest of the shelves are full of the food they use for breakfast. There is a TV in the lounge part of the main room, with two sofas. On the landing is a desk with a computer with internet access for guests' (and off-duty staff) use. When you come back to the hotel after going out, you have to press the entry phone and either say your name or the name of your room. The receptionist then comes and lets you in, and if they are on the ball, they will also bring your room key. The noticeboard in the lobby on the way through to the reception desk has all sorts of activities listed which they will book for you, and a list where you can write places you recommend. The staff are really helpful and friendly, and make you feel that you are a guest in a private house rather than a customer. Our room was very small, with just a short rail to hang our clothes on. There was an ensuite shower room, and a little window looking out at another bedroom window. The bed was very comfortable. We were slightly bothered by mosquitos at night, so we kept the bedroom window shut - I then realised that we had opened the bathroom window to let out the steam, and they got in that way. So we shut both windows, and realised it was all pointless because there was a ventilation gap at the top of the bedroom window. They were able to lend me a hairdryer when I needed it, until a group of American girls arrived, borrowed the hairdryer and locked it in their room while they went out for the day. Most of the time they were able to help us with everything we needed. The area is lovely, and it is not very far to what they now call Soho, where all the bars and trendy loft conversions are. We had lunch there, and I could see that for younger people it would be a good place to go. We found it to be about 40 minutes walk from the nearest Subte station. In Argentina people always tell you it will be about 10 minutes, or 4 blocks. It hardly ever is. We had to walk all the way to the Recoleta cemetery where Evita's grave is, and it was worth the walk. The metro system doesn't connect like the London underground, and you tend to go into the centre and then out again from one of the connecting stations around the central hub, where confusingly, they change their names. If we hadn't felt we could walk everywhere, I think that we would have spent a lot on taxis. As it is a quiet area, there is nowhere just around the corner where you can just pop out for a meal. However, I think that the garden and the safety of the neighbourhood makes up for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, as the ground floor rooms might experience a bit of traffic as people wa...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Wow, quite a description! Thank you for taking so much time writing about Livian. We are glad that we could help you and that you felt good being in our House. That's our priority!

What a pitty about the hairdryer, we are so sorry! And we are sorry too about the mosquitos, we have a product against them that you can borrow too. We are glad you liked the breakfast! And the indian art you noticed is only a part of our original decor style. We hope you liked it!

We would be happy to wellcome you again in Livian Guest House. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lots of places claim to be a 'home from home', but Livian really delivers. From the first hello till we said goodbye, no effort was spared in looking after us and helping us enjoy Argentina. We stayed at Livian for about a week in total at the beginning and end of a month-long trip round Argentina. They helped us find some great restaurants in Palermo and recommended hotels in other parts of the country; they helped care for my girlfriend when she was ill; they taught us how to tango; they looked after some of our things while we were travelling and welcomed us back like family when we returned. It's well-located, comfortable, clean with a laid-back atmosphere and a lovely garden. But above all, the it's the friendly, attentive, delightful people that make this place so exceptional. We can't thank them enough for their kindness.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a little extra, the room called 'Kiss' is a cut above.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Chris & Liv!! I was touched by your kindly words about us. It was a pleasure to be here for you! We try that our guest don't feel alone far away from their home. Thank you for writing a comment about Livian Guest House. You already know that you have a second House in Buenos Aires! We would be glad to have you back anytime! We hope you are alright! Best wishes, Steph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was here with my spouse in Dec 2012- Jan 2013 for 4 nights. Really nice location near the corner of Palestina/Cordoba in Palermo town part. House is former private town house and really charming. Small breakfast is served in the old living room. Rooms are all individual and most of them has private bathroom. Staff is nice and owner couple really super nice. If we ever come back to Buenos Aires, sure would live here again. House offers nice garden with sun bathing chairs and self service bar in the kitchen. Subway stations are a bit far, 20 mins walk, but busses are close, since one of the main streets, Cordoba, is just there. Exellent cheap and cosy restaurants and bars are all around in walking distance area.

Room Tip: Tell your hopes before, all rooms have different bedding and bathroom features.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heljake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience in Livian Guest House. We are so glad that you liked it. The best reward of our daily work is see that our guest feel home and happy with us. Livian Guest House would be thrilled to have you back! Our House is your house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#64 of 443 in Buenos Aires
548 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,867 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#3 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,005 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,660 reviews
Palermo
Abode Buenos Aires
Abode Buenos Aires
#1 of 256 in Buenos Aires
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livian Guesthouse

Address: Palestina 1184 | Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Livian Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a travel experience shared in a lounge, a dining room offering buffet breakfast and a tranquil garden. Take a breath.Feel relax in private suites, with facilities and services designed specially for you. Livian Guest House is your choice in Buenos Aires to feel “local” in and out of a 1920’s classic French house with artsy and mystic spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Livian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livian Guesthouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing