We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The friendliest place in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Livian Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Livian Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 274 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The friendliest place in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lots of places claim to be a 'home from home', but Livian really delivers. From the first hello till we said goodbye, no effort was spared in looking after us and helping us enjoy Argentina. We stayed at Livian for about a week in total at the beginning and end of a month-long trip round Argentina. They helped us find some great restaurants in Palermo and recommended hotels in other parts of the country; they helped care for my girlfriend when she was ill; they taught us how to tango; they looked after some of our things while we were travelling and welcomed us back like family when we returned. It's well-located, comfortable, clean with a laid-back atmosphere and a lovely garden. But above all, the it's the friendly, attentive, delightful people that make this place so exceptional. We can't thank them enough for their kindness.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a little extra, the room called 'Kiss' is a cut above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Chris & Liv!! I was touched by your kindly words about us. It was a pleasure to be here for you! We try that our guest don't feel alone far away from their home. Thank you for writing a comment about Livian Guest House. You already know that you have a second House in Buenos Aires! We would be glad to have you back anytime! We hope you are alright! Best wishes, Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    123
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
172
69
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was here with my spouse in Dec 2012- Jan 2013 for 4 nights. Really nice location near the corner of Palestina/Cordoba in Palermo town part. House is former private town house and really charming. Small breakfast is served in the old living room. Rooms are all individual and most of them has private bathroom. Staff is nice and owner couple really super nice. If we ever come back to Buenos Aires, sure would live here again. House offers nice garden with sun bathing chairs and self service bar in the kitchen. Subway stations are a bit far, 20 mins walk, but busses are close, since one of the main streets, Cordoba, is just there. Exellent cheap and cosy restaurants and bars are all around in walking distance area.

Room Tip: Tell your hopes before, all rooms have different bedding and bathroom features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heljake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience in Livian Guest House. We are so glad that you liked it. The best reward of our daily work is see that our guest feel home and happy with us. Livian Guest House would be thrilled to have you back! Our House is your house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I felt immediately at home in Livian Guesthouse. Quiet location, but near to lively Palermo. Colorful, tasteful and originally decorated, cosy, the garden is like an oasis in the middle of a busy city, nice to relax when you come 'home'. The staff is super friendly, very helpful and gives you always a warm welcome. Good breakfast in living room atmosphere where you can meet with other visitors.

Room Tip: My room (ground flour, 1st room which gives into the entrance room) was a bit dark and gloomy, not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about Livian. We are glad you felt like home in Livian and that you enjoyed your stay. We put a lot of effort in creating a friendly atmosphere where everybody can relax after a long day walking around the city. It's our pleasure to be here for you and make your stay easier and more comfortable. We would love to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, not far from bustling Palermo. It has moderate cozy rooms and a garden as a little oasis. The staff is very friendly and helpfull, and the old mansion has a good atmosphere. And you can play piano, if you want to!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Hans,

Thanks you so much for your comment, you´ve captured what LIVIAN GUEST HOUSE is all about, making you feel " At Home", so you won´t miss yours so much

you will be welcome again at any time

King regards,

All the Staff of Livian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

we really loved the stay. The area was calm and safe. The house is run by the owner and you can tell the difference.. It felt like being home.The apartments were clean and well appointed: The staff was very friendly, sweet and alway helpful. it is even possible to get a cup of tea in the afternoon and homemade muffins- what an extra service.. 2 thumbs up!! I will ALWAYS come back for another stay, when I am nearby ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephKorthals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear friends!
Thank you so much for your nice comment!
We’re happy that you’ve enjoyed Livian! Remember that now, you have a place to stay in Buenos Aires :)

See you next time!

Livian Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Some nice, spacious rooms. Pleasant garden and terraces where you can sit, good breakfasts, access to kitchen facilities. Very helpful and pleasant staff make this a home from home feel. Bit of a walk to the metro.

Room Tip: Booked thru Agent so cannot comment on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Richard!!!!

We really appreciate your comment.
Making you feel comfortable is our number one goal, and we are glad you were part of Livian for a while.

Thank you for choose our hotel. You will be welcome again at any time.-

Kind Regards,
All the Livian Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at the Livian Guesthouse while we were in Buenos Aires in December. We loved it! According to a native of Buenos Aires, the area that it is in is quite safe and quiet (and it always felt that way), and the hotel itself is charming. We stayed in the Kiss Suite and had easy access to the two-storied courtyard, where we enjoyed the beautiful weather. The girls who work at the front desk were incredibly sweet and helpful with any questions that we had. It was nice to have breakfast available as well as access to the kitchen and the honor bar. The walk to get to the busier parts of Palermo was about 15-20 minutes, so make sure that this isn't a problem. We loved staying there and would be happy to return!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meghann42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Meghan!!!!

we really appreciate your comment, than you so much!!!
You´ve captured what Livian Guest House is all about, making you feel " At Home" so you won´t miss yours, every time as you need it, we will be here for you.

You´ll be welcome again at any time.

See you soon!!
Kind Regards,

All the Livian Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#70 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
#23 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
ChillHouse
#5 of 274 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Palermo
Vain Boutique Hotel
Vain Boutique Hotel
#16 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livian Guesthouse

Property: Livian Guesthouse
Address: Palestina 1184 | Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Livian Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a travel experience shared in a lounge, a dining room offering buffet breakfast and a tranquil garden. Take a breath.Feel relax in private suites, with facilities and services designed specially for you. Livian Guest House is your choice in Buenos Aires to feel “local” in and out of a 1920’s classic French house with artsy and mystic spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Livian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livian Guesthouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing