We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious classic Italian food, huge portions, first-rate service - worth the splurge!”
Review of Piegari Carnes

Piegari Carnes
Ranked #63 of 4,843 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Retiro
Description: Piegari Ristorante is located in la Recova de Posadas. Is synonymous of tradition and experience, keeping the same quality as always and the best personalized service. Specializes in pasta, risotto and seafood. Piegari Carnes, the new roasted meat specialist, with the best national and international meat cuts. A new concept with the highest quality and a totally renovated environment, but with the same tradition of always.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Delicious classic Italian food, huge portions, first-rate service - worth the splurge!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Who knew that Buenos Aires had such fantastic Italian food? Piegari is a ritzy Italian restaurant in the Recova complex at the edge of the Recoleta neighbourhood. The place was full of wealthy locals, theatregoers, businesspeople, and a smattering of tourists.

Because we were in a bit of a rush, my friend and I skipped antipasto and just ordered half-portion entrees. He had the chicken in a mushroom cream sauce, and I had the risotto with calamari and squid ink. Because risotto takes so long to prepare, the waiter offered to split both dishes between the two of us, since their dishes "are meant for sharing." So I tried the tender chicken in its rich cream sauce filled with a variety of earthy mushrooms. My supposed quarter-portion covered an entire large plate! I barely had any room left for my risotto negro with its perfectly tender calamari and savoury, but light, rice. Our waiter insisted we at least try a few bites of dessert; so we shared a sampler plate which included a flourless chocolate cake and homemade gelato. We just had agua sin gas to drink. The bill came to about 400 pesos.

Service was professional and impeccable throughout. By Buenos Aires standards, this is quite the splurge, but to get the same experience in North America would easily cost 250-300 dollars. So if you're tired to all the wonderful parillas in Buenos Aires, treat yourself to this Italian classic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinceBToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    428
    169
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
“A very very bad BA FoodWeek player...”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were a group of 9 going out for the BA FoodWeek. The concept is a set price of 169 pesos for a full meal, usually in some of the best restaurants of BA. We ended up to Piegari because no other restaurants were available. And suddenly it made sense : the food is just plain uninteresting, clearly below what any cooking-newbie can do at home.
The whole dinner experience felt like a crappy lunch cantina. That type of quality for that kind of price is a crime in Buenos Aires. I have been living here for 3 years, and that is in my top 3 of the worst restaurant i have been.
It might be a decent restaurant outside of the FoodWeek, but absolutely a must-avoid when it is on. They are not playing the game of trying to show to potential future customers how good it is, they are just trying to rip you off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bueno, bueno, bueno”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Probably my favorite restaurant in Buenos Aires. Carla is wonderful and try to get a table with Alberto. Italian, but the parrilla is very good. The rissotto is and bife de champinion are out of this world and usually a half order is more than enough. Great wine selection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank memphiswotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is probably one of my favorite restaurants in Buenos Aires. The location and the service are great. The food is amazing. Please be aware of the huge portions. All the pastas are to share. Otherwise, order a half a portion (which is still a huge portion). Yes, it is a little pricey but you are dining in one of the nicest areas of the city in one of the best restaurants. The ambiance is exceptional. The bruschettas were amazing, I had pasta last time and the risotto the time before both great! My husband had fish an he still raves about it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AVGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent and classy”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Portions are HUGE - seriously, even for a North American, they are huge. Risotto is amazing - so many kinds. They are very accommodating too to food restrictions and allergies.
Reservations are required.
Wine list is great.
Place is pricey but portions are HUGE!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becky_e_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piegari Carnes also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Piegari Carnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing