We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Staff EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #41 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worst Staff EVER”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

When I entered the hotel at check in, the two guys at the front desk barely acknowledged me. They didn’t smile and were not welcoming. This is how they remained during my stay. They were the worst I have ever encountered during my many years of travel. TERRIBLE! Luckily, I was only there one night. The bed was very comfortable. Sleep could have been peaceful had it not been for the blaring music and construction going on in the building next to the hotel. My room was large but it faced the back so I didn’t have the view of the cemetery. The towels were beyond dingy and needing to be replaced. This is the main reason I travel with my own towels. The water in the shower never really got hot and the outlet in the bathroom didn’t work. At night there was a homeless man sleeping in front of the hotel. In the morning I found the breakfast option to be the usual sweets, ham, cheese and yogurt. Some of the plates were dirty. This hotel is just a mess. Avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadab97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanSuitesRecoleta, Director Comercial at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we are truly grateful for your comments about your recent stay at the hotel.

We deeply regret your thoughts because our aim is to offer a service of excellence in every area.

This is what we highlighted every year and therefore we have obtained the certificate of excellence that provides Trip Advisor.

Regarding your comments about the noise from the construction site, it is important to point out that they have finished and this can clearly be seen as the building is completed.

The only work being held out in the adjoining building is the application of decorative.

All our towels and linen have been renovated recently, whereupon the housekeeping service is within expected quality standards.

Nevertheless we will take your comments into account .

As far as the maintenance of sanitary facilities and showers , we inform you that they are in perfect conditions, and it is surprising to us, since we did not receive any criticism or comment about any damage in rooms during the month of May (which was the month where you stayed).

About our breakfast, we have commented this in a previous response, where we detailed the quality and the quantity of products that we have available for our guests.

Once more, we want to thank you for your comments about your stay and remain at your entire disposal for any further comment.

Kind Regards,


Rodrigo Nalé Roxlo
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    258
    47
    28
    22
See reviews for
165
405
51
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Nice hotel in a very nice location in Buenos Aires. Rooms are spacious and those in the front part of the building, have a superb view, even it is to the famous Recoleta cemetery.

Internet connectivity is excellent in every part of the hotel, and is free.

Cleaning process of the rooms should be improved. I actually found garbage left from the previous guests in my room. Maybe a silly comment, but waste baskets in the rooms are small and difficult to access.

All staff members at the front desk are friendly and always willing to help. Special mention to Diego, who was very helpful to solve a problem I had during my stay. Gracias Diego!

All restaurants around the hotel are very nice and affordable. Also plenty of stores to get bottled water once the hotel does not provide it for free.

Breakfast is included, but is just "eatable". Probably also room of improvement there.

Room Tip: If you are flying! arriving early in the morning to the hotel, you should warn them in advance. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanSuitesRecoleta, Director Comercial at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent experience at Urban Suites Recoleta.

We are glad to know that your stay in Urban Suites Recoleta was comfortable.

I really hope we can receive you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Nalé Roxlo
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The view is really stunning. The hotel is located in front of the Recoleta Cemetery, one of the most beautiful cemetery's in the world. The staff is friendly but the hotel itself is pretty awful. The towels and the sheets were old and broken. The hotel had a sour smell that they tried to cover with cheap cleaning products. Breakfast was average. I would not come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MarPilatesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanSuitesRecoleta, Director Comercial at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent experience at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel.

It is really sad to know we were not able to fulfill your expectations during your stay.

I can only assure you we will make the biggest efforts towards improving those areas that caused such dissatisfaction to you and hope we have the opportunity of serving you again in a much better way.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Nalé Roxlo
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

when we came to the hotel we found out they are doing for weeks renovation all over the area.
lots of noise in the hotel.
also the rooms can not be totally dark - for whom in concern it made up not sleeping well.
after several complains we were moved to anoter room but the problem was not solved.
in breakfast they served no vegetabels at all. I think for the same amount it is better to stay in an hotel next by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eee21189867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanSuitesRecoleta, Director General at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent experience at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel.

We really appreciate all your comments.

I can only assure you we will make the biggest efforts towards improving those areas that caused such dissatisfaction to you and hope we have the opportunity of serving you again in a much better way.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Nalé Roxlo
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Boutique hotel, adequate breakfast, excellent staff and service, staff took care of all our tour bookings, towels are old and need replacing, but hotel and linen clean, bathroom clean and modern, walls are paper and thin, we stayed on the first floor and could hear the beep of the lift on each floor, construction next door but not disruptive as we did not spend too much of time at the hotel. Music can be heard at night so take note if you are a light sleeper. All in all we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a good view choose a higher floor (view of the cemetry) and choose a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanSuitesRecoleta, Director Comercial at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent experience at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel.

We really appreciate all your comments.

I can only assure you we will make the biggest efforts towards improving those areas that caused such dissatisfaction to you and hope we have the opportunity of serving you again in a much better way.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Nalé Roxlo
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location can't be beat - you can walk just about anywhere in Recoleta quickly. The front desk is staff is very friendly and helpful. As noted in other reviews, the rooms are surprisingly large as are the bathrooms (complete with bidets!).

The construction is continuing next door (as of early March, 2014). Our first 2 days at the property were over a holiday and we didn't hear any construction. On day 3 it started early in the morning and was so loud we thought it was in the room next door. The noise insulation is not very good overall (we could hear the next door neighbor's TV on occasion).

Given the room rates and all of the other positives about the hotel the noise was not an issue. The workout room is small but nicely equipped. While we were there the treadmill was not working and the hot tub was being repaired. The latter was disappointing because it was working on we first saw it but not when we had the time. The view of the Recoleta Cemetery from the rooftop deck (where the hot tub is located) is beautiful.

Even given the noise I would highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from the construction side of the building as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willdief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanSuitesRecoleta, Director Comercial at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent experience at Urban Suites Recoleta.

We appreciate all your comments and we are glad to know that your stay in Urban Suites Recoleta was comfortable.

I really hope we can receive you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Nalé Roxlo
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

From the outside, you'd have no idea that this little hotel is as great as it is inside. Right across Junin Ave from the Recoleta Cemetery in that beautiful part of town, Urban Suites has large comfortable rooms, great bedding, free wifi, big clean bathrooms, an elevator, excellent free breakfast with delicious coffee and a smart, welcoming and efficient staff that speaks English and is eager to help solve any problem. You could spend three, four or five times as much for a fancy name hotel in Buenos Aires but you likely wouldn't do much better (and you'd have less to spend on the city's great restaurants). They arrange transportation to the airport if you want and will help line you up on all kinds of excursions. There are some excellent restaurants very nearby, including the fabulous Fervor, a walk of about six blocks. Our balcony overlooked the cemetery, which was a lovely view. Some reviewers have mentioned construction next door and that's still going on. But it didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrounstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanSuitesRecoleta, Director Comercial at Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at Urban Suites Recoleta.

We are glad to know that your stay in Urban Suites Recoleta was comfortable.

I really hope we can receive you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Nalé Roxlo
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#60 of 445 in Buenos Aires
394 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#52 of 445 in Buenos Aires
317 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#16 of 445 in Buenos Aires
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#40 of 445 in Buenos Aires
786 reviews
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#35 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel

Property: Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Junin 1727, Buenos Aires C1113AAS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#34 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#58 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Suites is a boutique hotel with a modern and minimalist style. Located in the heart of the exclusive and famous Recoleta neighborhood, a few steps away from the Alvear Avenue and surrounded by a wide variety of cultural spots, such as museums, art galleries, theaters, live shows and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Urban Recoleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing