We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy in presentation but great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Preferido de Palermo

El Preferido de Palermo
Ranked #385 of 4,663 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Spanish, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Palermo
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not fancy in presentation but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a great wxperience and great value. First time i ever tried a Stella Noire. We all enjoyed our meals. I had the steak and fries, my fiance had the house specialty of chicken in rice and vegetables. Was 200 pesos for the meals and beer. Staff was friendly and the place was packed with locals. I would recommend to anyone staying in this area.

Helpful?
Thank Alistair E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    160
    75
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“traditional lunch place in palermo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I really like the look of el preferido, and I have had a few lunches here that were quite good, basic chicken and rice type meals, nothing fancy, but properly cooked and tasty. However I think the sandwiches are very expensive for what you get, and I would never order one. Frankly I am surprised they can charge what they do here, for a place that is frequented by budget conscious locals and tourists. I like it overall, and service is pretty good, but there are a lot better places for lunch in palermo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesinBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Simple but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate here for dinner and again for lunch. The meals are simple Argentine dishes (milanesa, etc) and we enjoyed it very much. The cost for dinner was about US$35 for 2 people (no alcohol). They also give a discount if you pay cash. If you are in Palermo and want a simple meal, this is a great place to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's a very cute authentic oldish looking restaurant where you can feel and taste Argentinian food and enjoy it !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I got this restaurant from our book guide we bought from USA !its was very nice we went. It was closed to our hotel and the food was very nice
Presentation simple but was ok because it went well with the interior
Service was good ... Manu was in English too do that helped
Also they had photos so even Better
What you see on the photo that's it what you get
We both ate grilled fish ... We saw from the table next to us .... Looked so good and healthy . Salad was good too
The roll with the egg in the middle was tasty and different
Was very good over all
If you want dance looking place do not go there!!!
Few blocks away is bistro called Las Pizarra ..... It's very good as well.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delyan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Eat out on the pavement and watch the world go by.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our guide recommended this place for lunch, it was so good we went twice. Try the Empanadas and salads.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caf92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Preferido de Palermo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Preferido de Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing