We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pastas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiquilin

Chiquilin
Ranked #124 of 4,663 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Nicolas
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great pastas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Came across Chiquillin for lunch. Four of us shared two pasta dishes. Food was exceptional; apparently a place for the locals to dine, service for tourists were okay but food made it worth it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rbluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    543
    169
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
429 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Very nice place to dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Every time I go to buenos aires always go to this great restaurant. The steaks are always very good and the atmosphere is very pleasant. It's a classic from the city center and a must visit for anyone who likes a bit of history and good food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly waiters and very good steaks and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed nearby for our first visit and enjoyed the experience that we returned even though our apartment was in Recoleta. It was just as good the second visit, so we will repeat again next week. We have tried four of the beef entrees and all have been great and properly cooked as requested. They have an extensive wine list at very good prices making this meal a very good value. An English menu is available, but the one in Spanish is a bit more comprehensive and no problem to understand.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_in_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This restaurant provides lovely food and good service at a reasonable price. I had an excellent, perfectly cooked steak - as good or better than more expensive restaurants in BA - and my partner had a beautifully-filleted, large piece of sole, which was delicious. Wine was sensibly priced and of a good standard. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a good steak in a welcoming atmosphere, without the bill presented by some of the more expensive and over-hyped BA steak restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good place to try Argentina's great steaks, local ambiance staff are helpful, wine is good. Recommended by our Hotel on our first night , set the bar high for the rest of the trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank IKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquilin also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Chiquilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing