We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic pizzeria”
Review of El Cuartito

El Cuartito
Ranked #67 of 4,847 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Retiro
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Authentic pizzeria”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This family run pizzeria is mostly a favourite place of local people, they have very good Napoli type pizza and a very quick service at a very favourable price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMO_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    1,369
    317
    64
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best pizza places in Buenos Aires!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My travel buddy and I were up for something quick and easy. We really didn't want to stray too far from the apartment in Recoleta. I had been to El Cuartito on my last trip to BA and it was amazing. The location is kind of off the beaten path, but there is a huge "theater marque" type neon sign in front.

We walked in and were greeted by a smiling waiter in a crisp white uniform. He motioned us to take any seat we wished. He promptly returned to the table with a hearty greeting and two menus.

We ordered a grande pizza (because I knew I wanted to take some back to the apartment) with 1/2 Fugazetta and 1/2 Primavera. The pizza came out looking great, but the Primavera 1/2 had pineapple. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing for that 1/2? In any case, both 1/2's were great with the Fugazetta being the best. We had two Pepsi colas with our meal. They have beer, but no liquor.

The total came out to ARS$180 (which at the time of this writing was equivalent to a little over US$16 at an 11/1 dolarblue exchange rate).

FYI, at night, this place packs out so you better be ready to wait. It's worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The true Argentine pizza”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Pizza is from Italy. However there are many ways to cook it according with the country. American pizza it is not like in Rome, neither in Buenos Aires.
Argentina is the LatinAmerican country with more families from Italy, as my own.
El Cuartito cooks the typical Argentine pizza, with a generous mozzarella chesse and delicious taste. They have also an exquisite fugazzeta -onions and chesse- my favorite is the mozzarella chesse and pepperoni. They have 20 different kind of pizza to offer from the simple one to the "gourmet" which is a sort of festival.
If you like Argentine empanadas you will find here a very good one, the best in a restaurant.
Desserts are to share because they are huge and sweet. Try flan with dulce de leche.
They have a big selection of beers from Guiness to the locals, and the tab.
Waiters know their work very well and you can hear more than lenguage among the costumers.
The place, very cozy, is full of photos with idols from sports Argentine and America, so is Maradona and Michael Jordan and probably 100 more.
You will not regret to go to this Buenos Aires pizzería.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quiquedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Authentic flavour - a must!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We were walking nearby and fancied something simple yet typical. Well, you have it here. A no-frills place populated by locals devouring huge thick pizzas and fugazzetas, they also do takeaway and serve at the bar. The place is covered with old football and boxing posters making it very picturesque. They don't take credit cards so be sure to take about 50-80 pesos apiece and walk out reeling full!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious "pizza" with local character”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Peru for almost two years, I know I have struggled to come by good pizza. This little restaurant may not have the most traditional of pizzas but it is oh so tasty!

I came here with my family in November 2012 and brought my friend here during another stay in Buenos Aires in April 2013. The crowded front and back rooms were filled with locals on their lunch break. It was nice to sit at small table and take in the hustle and bustle of a work day in the busy BA.

We ordered a pizza with blue cheese and caramelized onions and they delivered. The crust was fluffy and thick and the toppings were piled on high. It was quick, cheap, and very filling. The perfect stop for some pizza while in Buenos Aires.

Helpful?
Thank PeaceLoveTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cuartito also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Cuartito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing