We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place for Non Foodies...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Osaka

Osaka
Ranked #84 of 4,739 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Palermo
NYC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun Place for Non Foodies...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The waitstaff were friendly and helpful. The food was so-so. It felt like the chef was trying too hard. The scallops with parmesan would have tasted better with less gobs of Parmesan (seemed like an exaggerated version of Chilean machas). The mixed seafood appetizer, however, was done well albeit, a little too rich on the sauce. The octopus was drenched in sweet sauce which was a pity because the octopus was very fresh and leaving it less flavored would have been better. Same thing with their mushroom dish - sauce overpowered the natural flavor. The place was packed with people who were enjoying themselves so that's a good thing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nonfancyfoodperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    348
    148
    68
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peruvian and japanese fusion with style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are thinking on save money, this is not the place.
If you want to impress to somebody, this is one of the option to take into account in Buenos Aires.

Once of my favorites places to eat a non traditional sushi.

I strongly recommend the "tiraditos" with maracuya sauce and the warm sushi with salmon, avocado and philadelphia.

The pisco´s drinks are incredible good also.

It is important to make reservation in advance. Try to ask for the window.

They have valet parking also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best Cevices ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We are foodies and travel to eat - just back from a 2 week trip to Argentina, Uruguay and Rio. Osaka was the best restaurant this trip by far. The quality of the ceviches were fantastic, the quantity enormous. The service was impeccable too and despite our hotel not managing to make our booking they found us a table. We had a two year old with us and they were very accommodating to him too. Overall I would def go back to this restaurant on any visit back to BA. We have eaten at several good restaurants in London, Paris, Tokyo, New York and this one in BA would happily compare.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kuki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
330 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“There were better times,perhaps the other location?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

It is difficult to maintain quality for years, but Osaka has veen able to do it. I would come to this place every time we were in Buenos Aires. A reservation was needed, or the wait was over an hour if you were lucky. A lot of locals would gather there. We went on a friday night , and perhaps only 50 percent was occupied. That to me was the first sign of decadence. Then the food, while the sushi and algae salad were good, the beef balsamic teriyaki (lomo is like filet ) was a dissapointment, the meat was overcooked and hard to chew, just not what we had before. In a nut shell i guess if there is hope for this restaurant is in Puerto Madero. The waiters were very friendly. It is worth mentioning too, that this was always a pricey place, however when the food is good it doesnt matter much. Last but not least there were mainly tourists there

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcanavan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent experience in Peruvian fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were visiting BA with my family and booked a table for 2 on Wednesday night. I have heard that the place was always super busy but finding a table was easy. We got to Palermo around 9.30pm and it was half packed. My wife had never tried Peruvian fusion so we tried as many different dishes as possible. All were very good, I like Peruvian food a lot and I was impressed by the variety. Some small things were missing in the ceviche like the white corn kernels that are a staple of it in Peru, but it was only a small detail. Total bill was quite reasonable for international standards. Service was also very good with at least two staff members serving us. Will recommend although it is not for those who frequently visit Lima and enjoy the real thing. For Buenos Aires is a great place to go and enjoy something different.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niushork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing