We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb choice for tango dancers new to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Maria Tango
Ranked #39 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Reading the earlier reviews it's not easy to add more praise - but I'll try! My wife and I stayed at Maria's Tango Casa for 12 marvelous days in Sept 2007 - on the recomendation of a friend who lives part of the year in BsAs.

During our stay we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary (champagne with Maria and other guests at an afternoon milonga at Confiteria Ideal) and my 60th Birthday (dinner at 10.30 pm the night before, feliz navitas sung by all at midnight, dancing till 4.30 am at Salon Canning, a birthday party that evening with everyone in the house followed by more dancing!)

We are intermediate dancers and both improved greatly from the individual tango and milonga lessons from resident and visiting teachers in the house's dance studio. Maria and her staff helped us choose great milongas from the wide variety, showed us where to buy good value tango clothes, shoes and music, where to go for a bit of sightseeing, how to get around, took us to marvellous concerts and came with us for many very memorable evenings of danncing and dining.

The house is old and charming, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast and facilities were just right. While we were there the expansions into the downstairs area were going on and that's going to add a lot - a second outdoor area to match the floor terrace will be great in the summer.

In September the weather was cold at first (a shock after Europe) but on Primavera (22 Sept the first day of spring) the weather suddenly changed to beautiful warm days, all the ladies were given a red flower and the students enjoyed a day off school - if you are there we reccomend a stroll in the Ecological Reserve that day - made us feel young again.

Maria's place is suitable for couples like us but would also be great for singles - we met up with other dancers in the house and that really added to our enjoyment. Although we are a bit older the casa would suit all ages - the staff ranged in age from early twenties up (Daniella was lovely, Tota so friendly and helpful, Luis a gem - and, although Ute was away her emails and people's comments about her were great). We had no language problem - Maria, Daniella nd Ute speak great English and the fact that Tota and Luis spoke only Spanish was a real bonus - we got a chance to improve our little Spanish.

So - if you're looking for a comfortable, reasonably-priced, well-placed, friendly place to stay where you will get marvellous help to make your stay and your dancing great - then look no further!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2008

My wife and I were told about La Casa de Maria Tango by some of our Tango buddies in Brisbane, Australia and we decided to begin our honeymoon there.
We found Maria and her staff to be very friendly and helpfull.
A wonderful introduction to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ukidinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

My first visit to Buenos Aries was one of the most exciting and memorable trip so far, with only few words in Spanish, Maria and her staffs had help me so much in getting around the tango city.
La Casa de Maria Tango was recommend by my friend Don, the accommodation was booked through internet. I had finally arrived at B.A. airport after a long fight from Toronto, as scheduled she had a driver picked me up and drove me to her apartment, with Carina, her assistance fluent in English, organized the itinerary for the entire week. My room was very clean, bathroom was shared with 2 other nice tango dancers, clean kitchen and fresh cake and bread were brought in daily. In the evening Maria and Carina took us to most of the popular milongas and restaurants.
This March I'm planning to visit Buenos Aries again, I will call and visit Maria again.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OntarioSyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I had the chance to stay at Maria's house and I could just tell you, that's a very good choice!!! I agree 100% with the review that was done before me and I don't want to be boring by repeating the same things! Maria and staff great!!! Housing great, Bs As great! Tango, wowwwwwwwwww

Don't hesitate to stay at her place, you won't regret it!!!!!

Val

  • Stayed: February 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tango50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

This is my third trip to Buenos Aires. I stayed at this "Tango House" with the sole intention of accessing the somewhat underground Buenos Aires Tango Scene. I am a very experienced dancer, and I have known the owner, Maria Teresa, for a long time. I stayed with her once before when she was hosting Tango dancers at a different apartment, before she bought this property and expanded the business.

Anyway, suffice it to say that this is one of the easiest ways to be able to know where to dance in Buenos Aires, be accompanied by people from Maria's staff, and be able to figure out which of the 5-15 milongas, each night, is worth going to. I went to all the Milongas with Maria herself, and was able to dance with the Argentine Milongueros all night, every night. Especially if you are not a very experienced / good dancer, it can be very difficult to navigate the tango scene in Buenos Aires, so I highly recommend this model.

If you are looking for dance lessons, there are 2 studios in the house, where you can arrange private and semi-private instruction. There are several teachers on staff, and can help you learn the basics or intermediate and advanced tango - depending on your level. On a previous trip, I had expressed the desire to learn Milonga con Traspie, and Maria had arranged a specialist in that genre of the tango for me.

The accommodations are not luxury. They are simple, practical. The house is very old, and has a lot of character. Maria Teresa is looking to do more work on the restoration, so chances are, over the next few years, the ambience might change / enhance substantially.

If you have never danced before, Maria Teresa can arrange lessons for you to begin your exploration of the Tango.

Maria's daughter Marcela has just started a cultural center downstairs, and every saturday night, there is going to be a party. I attended the opening of this, and listened to a superb concert by Saxophonist Miguel di Caro and his trio.

In general, if you are into dance, music, nightlife, Buenos Aires is a splendid place to go. Live concerts can be very inexpensive and very good. I have listened to many over the years at great venues such as Notorious and Torquato Tasso. Again, Maria Teresa and her staff can help you arrange where to go and when.

By all means, while you are there, go to Palermo, especially to a restaurant called Lele de Troya. It's set in a beautiful old building that has been restored with a magical touch.

Another of my favorite destinations is Cafe de Los Angelitos, where I often sit and write, while listening to the music of a live Bandoneon player.

At the house, you would often meet fellow dancers, and going to the dances with them is fun, especially if you are traveling alone. But you don't have to. If a specific Milonga captures your fancy, go for it. I went to Milonga de Los Consagrados, Yira Yira, Confiterial Ideal, La Milongita (Maipu 444), and Casa di Galiseta. But on any one night, you would have anywhere between 5 to 15 choices, so it is helpful to know which Milonga is hot or cool, which ones are frequented by the Milongueros, and where is it bustling with tourists.

Personally, I don't like dance floors that get too crowded, so I skipped the ones popular with tourists like El Nino Bien, Salon Canning, Club Gricel, etc. Although, if I had more time, I would have checked more of them out.

My parting advice: before you go, exchange lots of emails with the staff at Maria Teresa's, because they are very helpful, and can really customize your trip to fit your needs, and trust me, it REALLY helps to have this kind of private and personal service.

And by all means, go and dance!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank insearchoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Aucune chambre ne remplit le minimum acceptable en confort.... mais alors aucune!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rummen mot gatan är större, men de längre in är tystare (så tyst det nu kan bli i hus av denna typ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangobythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
#8 of 256 in Buenos Aires
164 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#52 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,448 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#48 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 469 in Buenos Aires
721 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#46 of 443 in Buenos Aires
3,387 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Maria Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Maria Tango

Address: Calle Venezuela 2213 | Balvanera, Buenos Aires C1096ABM, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Maria Tango 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking about coming to dance tango in Buenos Aires I would like you to know that my tango house is always waiting your visitAs some of you already know, I have my tango house in Argentina since 20 years now, it´s almost the first tango house in Buenos AiresMy name is Maria Teresa, I am a Psychologist, I have danced tango for many years, and I receive in my house "tangueros" from our beloved international tango world.It is a beautiful and antique house from l890. You can imagine yourself entering by way of an old marble staircase, dazzled by the light that comes from a lovely window, discovering spacious bedrooms with private baths, warm wood floors, and high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa de Maria Tango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Maria Tango Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing